Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prey
The idea of a rat-like creature called "Brown Jenkin", and a comment from James Herbert served to whet my appetite. Having started to read I was quickly absorbed in the strange goings on at Fortyfoot House. In "Prey" Masterton intermingles horror and time travel in a skilful blend which sends shivers up your spine but also begs the question of alternative realities and...
Published on 22 Aug 2002 by Phil Smith

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better...
...if it weren't for the protagonist being the most amzingly stupid character that has ever been created in a horror novel and if it weren't for the ridiculous way that the characters develop.

WARNING - SPOILERS AHEAD

The story was well paced in true MAsterton style. He's always an entertining writer but there were times I wanted to throw the book...
Published on 13 Sep 2008 by Nigel Waspfinger


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prey, 22 Aug 2002
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
The idea of a rat-like creature called "Brown Jenkin", and a comment from James Herbert served to whet my appetite. Having started to read I was quickly absorbed in the strange goings on at Fortyfoot House. In "Prey" Masterton intermingles horror and time travel in a skilful blend which sends shivers up your spine but also begs the question of alternative realities and how one small change in events can ripple outwards and change the future entirely. Faultlessly written and thoroughly readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Horror Book Ever Read, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
Prey was the first book I read by Graham Masterton
and since then have continued to read and enjoy all his books, although Prey stands out as one of the best, It is a page turner right from beginning to end and will make you want to sleep with the light on. He is different from most other horror authors as he takes ideas for stories from real myths and legends and doesn't just dwell on creating a gore fest the story is always fantastic and endings brilliant,(Preys' is brilliant). If you have never read Graham Masterton before start with this and you'll be hooked....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 24 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book along with some other books by Graham masterton and i found it so interesting that i read the others straight afterwards. It isn't full of blood, gits and gore but plays games with the reader and takes so many twists and turns it will leave you exausted!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars masterton on top form, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Paperback)
One of the author's best, it shows his great skill at evoking a sinister and disturbing old house. The story juggles several strands successfully and Brown Jenkin is a wonderfully hideous invention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 1 Feb 2005
By 
Ms. A. R. Prophett "amandarose65" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book about a year ago and didn't write a review at the time, but now going through Graham's list of novels, I feel I must just say that it is one of the best horror books I have ever had the pleasure of reading. It is really creepy how the characters go up into the attic and can go back in time - made me think about it for ages after. If you only ever buy one book from Amazon, make sure it is this one. But you can't have mine, because it is put away safely for my next read !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better..., 13 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
...if it weren't for the protagonist being the most amzingly stupid character that has ever been created in a horror novel and if it weren't for the ridiculous way that the characters develop.

WARNING - SPOILERS AHEAD

The story was well paced in true MAsterton style. He's always an entertining writer but there were times I wanted to throw the book across the aeroplane I was reading it in. People do not suddenly form relationships over a couple of hours with people they just met. David finds Liz trying to squat in the house, he taks her down to the cafe for a drink then out of the blue he's holding hands with her. This can be no more than an hour after meeting her. He then allows her to go off shopping with his 7 year old son. After a day or two they are talking like an old married couple, with Liz complaining that David can never make a decision and he needs to buck up his ideas if their relationship is to survive.

This guy makes such stupid decisions. Even when he knows for sure that Liz has been possessed and become dangerous, he leaves his son unsupervised with her!!!!!!!!

There is also the small matter of a number of Deus Ex Machina incidents. A young girl rescued from the past is seen to be very vulnerable as you would expect, then with no warning she reveals herself to be a white witch with magic powers that allow her to overpower the villains that so far have had no trouble at all handling her. If only she hadn't waited until young Danny had been kidnaped before revealing this secret power...

The ending is another classic Deus Ex Machina. The old "simply go back in time and do things differently" routine.

Having said that. It is an entertaining novel if you can put up with these flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of terror to chill you to the bone!, 1 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
"Prey" must surely rate as one of the greatest horror stories of all time. It grips the reader from page 1 and does not let up until the end. This story, like most of Graham Masterson's tales, is based on an old legend (an evil creature called "Brown Jenkin" which haunts an old house, which in turn is able to travel in time!). The reader is whisked from past to present to future; the pages are filled with the blood-curdling, spine-chilling prose which make this author's works a must for all horror fans. Why is Mr. Masterson not more popular? He is the undisputed master of the horror genre and deserves to be up there alonside Stephen King and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunted house to end all haunted houses, 26 Jan 2000
By 
Anthony B. Thomas "Wendigoman" (Louisville, KY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
When a recently widowed man and his young son purchase a dilapidated home with the intent of refurbishing it and starting over the horror begins. The home is a time warp monstrosity that houses the BROWN JENKIN a lovecraftian type monster that preys on children. If you've read Masterton then you know his power with words to instill fear and dread. If your not familiar with his marvelous writings do yourself a literary favor and buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's fabulous!, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoy Graham Masterton's writing style. He's one of the very few horror writers who manages to combine wit with a real ability to scare your socks off. Prey is a fantastic book. I first read it years back, and Brown Jenkin has stuck in my mind ever since as one of the tricksiest nasties I've ever encountered in the genre. He's a thoroughly bad hat, and no mistake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best., 13 Nov 2008
By 
A. Smith (Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prey (Mass Market Paperback)
The idea for this novel is a good one, if a little fantastical, but the way it unravels through the eyes of Masterton's ludicrously dumb protagonist might have you giving up on the story before its conclusion. His actions read as if to fulfill the purpose of a plot summery and I couldn't help but wonder if that is all they were. Similarly, the characters actions and reactions to each other and the events around them, didn't seem real at all. People neglect to ask important questions or convey important information simply for the sake of plot development. People fall in love over a day, and have their hearts broken just as quickly. Talents and skills come and go as required. Even with all of these contrivances, there remain an incredible amount of holes gaping.

So, why the three stars? Well, between all its cracks and holes a cracking horror yarn struggles to unnerve, chill, and more often than not, nauseate you with a gruesome confidence that many horror writers can't match.

Inspired but cripplingly flawed, ultimately just very very frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prey
Prey by Graham Masterton (Mass Market Paperback - Feb 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews