Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant pirate romance
Connie Mason has got almost everything right in this fast-paced adventure on the high seas! It starts at the hangman's noose, with Diablo, the famous pirate, about to be hanged. Avoiding death & escaping with a noblewoman as his hostage, Diablo takes to the seas again, promising to return his captive to her family. What follows is an excellent romance/adventure, with lots...
Published on 21 Sep 2006 by RomanceReader

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!!
The basic story of this book was ok, but the plot was so contrived and the characters were nothing more than cringeworthy cliches. For example our hero, the pirate Diablo, wears tight black trousers, baggy white shirt, red sash, brandishes a cutlass and with his braced legs apart throws his head back and roars with laughter at some spirited remark made by the dim-witted...
Published on 17 Mar 2011 by Jooleey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!!, 17 Mar 2011
The basic story of this book was ok, but the plot was so contrived and the characters were nothing more than cringeworthy cliches. For example our hero, the pirate Diablo, wears tight black trousers, baggy white shirt, red sash, brandishes a cutlass and with his braced legs apart throws his head back and roars with laughter at some spirited remark made by the dim-witted heroine, Devon (strange name). All he needed was an earring and to be singing yo ho ho and a bottle of rum and we'd have had the works.

I am giving the book two stars because I did manage to finish it, but I shan't be reading it again. Oh and while I'm having a moan, I do wish American writers, when writing about British people in Britain, would stop using words like 'cent', we have pennies, 'drapes' instead of curtains and my particular (makes me want to shred the book to bits) hate is 'Fall' instead of AUTUMN. Enough said I'm off to soothe my ruffled feathers with my much loved and much read Judith McNaught's Kingdom of Heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant pirate romance, 21 Sep 2006
This review is from: Tempt the Devil (Leisure historical romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Connie Mason has got almost everything right in this fast-paced adventure on the high seas! It starts at the hangman's noose, with Diablo, the famous pirate, about to be hanged. Avoiding death & escaping with a noblewoman as his hostage, Diablo takes to the seas again, promising to return his captive to her family. What follows is an excellent romance/adventure, with lots of drama, passion & a really good plot. The middle does drag slightly, & the constant to-ing and fro-ing between the distrustful protagonists can be a bit wearing, but on the whole this is an excellent book! The twists and turns make sure you stay interested and the ending is pure romance! I'd definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars O.k.but not the best, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tempt the Devil (Kindle Edition)
This is a reasonable read but not her best.It won't be 1 I will save to read again.She has written much better so don't be put off with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice!!!!, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Tempt the Devil (Kindle Edition)
not a bad read but if your looking for a male that's like a dog on heat throughout the book then this definitely the book for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read..., 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tempt the Devil (Leisure historical romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this book to be rather enjoyable with an interesting storyline and well defined characters, though I got to admit I found the love scenes rather tame!

I did find it rather frustrating that Diablo, being the pirate he was, did not realise how vindictive Scarlett could be and how far she would go to get him back. He should have remembered 'hell hath no fury like a woman scorned'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Great Read. xD, 16 Dec 2011
Love This Story. It Really Has Got Everything. Its Sexy. Has Action. Fast Paced Romance. Its Brilliant. I Would Reccomend This To Everyone. It Took A While To Read And Just When You Think it Will End Pow. Something Else Happens. Worth The Time. Great To Lye In Bed Reading. xD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tempt the Devil (Leisure historical romance)
Tempt the Devil (Leisure historical romance) by Connie Mason (Mass Market Paperback - 10 Dec 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews