Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts You In The Picture
A Lineage of Grace As always Ms Rivers takes you there to those days, times, places and reality of each of these five women. Be warned this is not a "woman's book." This book is for serious readers of the Bible who want to understand and have insight into specific situations. If you want a read that "puts you in the picture" then do not wait to get your hands on this one...
Published on 23 July 2009 by Kathleen C. Langridge

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
I purchased this book for the purpose of doing a bible study with two of my church friends. I couldn't get on with it at all. I realise the stories are fiction based on fact, but the problem is the line between the two is too blurred. As an example in the story of Tamar, there were too many assumptions made about the characters. For instance the character of Bathshua,...
Published on 13 Mar 2011 by Penny


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts You In The Picture, 23 July 2009
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace (Paperback)
A Lineage of Grace As always Ms Rivers takes you there to those days, times, places and reality of each of these five women. Be warned this is not a "woman's book." This book is for serious readers of the Bible who want to understand and have insight into specific situations. If you want a read that "puts you in the picture" then do not wait to get your hands on this one. Why did Tamar "play the harlot?" Do I love God that much and seek Him to that extent? Why was Rahab, a known harlot, chosen to be in the blood line of the Messiah? Could you like Ruth, give up your entire existence to know God? What longing do you harbour that will end in a sin so devastating a child will die and yet God can heal and restore you and all you have effected? (Bathsheba) The final story of these women is Mary's story, a woman who bore Jesus knowing he was the Messiah. What did she know about him, what did he know about himself? This is a credibly researched book with a series of stories that will challenge, comfort and reveal your own heart while drawing you to a God of purpose, power, love and provision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming and Challenging, 25 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace (Paperback)
I have yet to find a Francine Rivers' book that has disappointed me - the thorough research of the times in which the characters lived is obvious and the imagination of how these women of faith would have acted and felt is incredible! The book also contains thought provoking Bible study questions which would work well in a study group and for personal challenge. I loved particularly the touches of historical information which give us insight into what life would have been like for the people then!
An excellent collection - well worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book very much especially the story of Tamar. I liked the biblical stories coming to life. I would definately recommend this to anyone interested in the biblical stories, a very good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read with caution, 26 Jun 2004
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace (Paperback)
This was my first experience of Francine Rivers' writing. My initial response was that of excitement at seeing Bible characters come to life. This was especially so for the first three books ( Tamar, Rahab, and Ruth) - which really brought home how God graciously intervenes in undeserving people's lives.
My biggest concern for the book as a whole is about the way it approaches the Bible. In the first three, Francine's perceptive insights and comments are thought-provoking and encouraging. However especially with the one on Mary, details about Jesus' life are expanded in ways in danger of obscuring the truth and which I felt goes too far beyond what the Bible even implies.
I would recommend this series with the reservation that it is read for exactly what it is - novels *based on* Bible characters. It would be great if the excitement at seeing such characters come to life would encourage many to read the Bible (more) for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity (Paperback)
This is such a fantastic book - if you haven't alredy read any francine rivers, you should! This is a wonderful mix of stories and studies. I'm really enjoying the stories - mini novels, very well written and easy to read, works of fiction from the facts we find in the Bible and I'm working through the studies with a friend. Perfect for a womens study group or a 121 setting, or even just with a cup of tea on the sofa for a change! Highly reccommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book but not as much as some of Francine Rivers others. It was very informative learning about the different women in the bible and how they might have felt, but it wasn't quite the page turner that some of her others have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellant book, 8 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace (Paperback)
Francine Rivers has taken 5 womens stories from the bible and really got behind their biblical characters. The stories are informative and written in such a way that the women's lives were on my mind even when I was not reading. A captivating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a linage of grace, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity (Paperback)
Wonderful book! couldnt put down. really helps give a good understanding of the characters in the bible. You really empathize with these wonderful women of faith. We have an amazing God.
A def book to read, dont miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian reading, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity (Paperback)
Francine Rivers is a fantastic authoress, she has made these Bible stories come to life in the most fasinating way. I have been able to learn more about the stories in this book and will definately recommend Rivers to all my friends. I have been left wanting to learn more about the Bible and its contents, I have found new enjoyment in my Christian reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 5 Aug 2009
By 
R. E. Henry (NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Lineage of Grace (Paperback)
I loved this book and the individual stories within it. I didn't want to put it down. The stories provided greater understanding of the characters, what they may have lived through and the life and times they lived in. Brings a very human side to the characters in the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity
9.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews