Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for reference or improving your Greek
Text: UBS4 Greek text (same text as Nestle-Aland 27th ... the very latest) with interlinear translation by Brown and Comfort, placed parallel with New RSV. Since the NRSV is based on this version of the Greek text the Greek and English translation match up very well. The interlinear wording does not follow the NRSV wording, which is either good or bad depending on...
Published on 13 Oct. 1998

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Itnterlinear NT
This book is ok.
You will find it well bound by any standard. And the boards are solid, good for any use.
My personal dislike is the way the translation has been 'plonked' next to the main interlinear
text. As such it is very small, and does not optimize the space available there.
The interlinear aspect functions well - but again the rather slim upper...
Published 18 months ago by Dr J Smalhouse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for reference or improving your Greek, 13 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
Text: UBS4 Greek text (same text as Nestle-Aland 27th ... the very latest) with interlinear translation by Brown and Comfort, placed parallel with New RSV. Since the NRSV is based on this version of the Greek text the Greek and English translation match up very well. The interlinear wording does not follow the NRSV wording, which is either good or bad depending on your point of view.
Layout: Greek interlinear occupies about 3/4 of the page ... NRSV appears in smaller type in a narrow column at the outer edge. The English text runs a little short so there is always a couple of square inches at the bottom for notes.
Type: Greek interlinear is large and readable ... Greek is a bolder face than interlinear so that you can read the Greek without being too distracted by the English until you get stuck. NRSV is in fairly small type.
Size: big and heavy. You won't be reading this lying down. There's also personal size version which I have not seen. (amazon cleverly lists that one under Brown & Comfort ... Douglas is the editor)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book! Most readable Greek font, 18 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This is a great interlinear version.
I especially like the readable Greek font. It's also larger than the font in other Greek/English interlinears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Jun. 2004
This review is from: The New Greek-English Interlinear New Testament: A New Interlinear Translation of the Greek New Testament, United Bible Societies' Fourth, Corrected ... Standard Version, Testament (Personal Size) (Hardcover)
It is difficult to find fault with this book. The Greek text is extremely well set, and is crystal clear throughout. The present of the NRSV in the margin helps compare with a good dynamic translation, and the interlinear literal translation is sensible with decent emphasis. And the price!
I've never used an interlinear before, but I bought this because I didn't want to spend 3 times the amount on a pure greek version of the text (its the Nestle-Aland NA27 text, by the way, but that doesn't seem to be mentioned elsewhere on this page).
Personally I've found difficulty with the temptation to read the inter-linear and have it bias my reading of the greek. Particularly with Greek words that have many translations. A reviewer below seems to have had the same problem, and mentions the ambiguity between greek ajectives and nouns - you have to remind yourself its still only an interpretation of the greek. But I'd guess that is a problem with all interlinears, and I just need to deal with it!
My only criticism is that the literal interlinear translation is presented all in capitals. I suspect this is done to contrast it with the greek text, and make picking out each line easier. Unfortunately it does funnny things to the eyes in such a small edition, and I didn't find it so easy to read. This was why I gave it 4 stars rather than 5. Maybe in a larger format, it would be better, but if your eyes aren't what they used to be, it may be a little difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for students., 17 Mar. 2001
This review is from: The New Greek-English Interlinear New Testament: A New Interlinear Translation of the Greek New Testament, United Bible Societies' Fourth, Corrected ... Standard Version, Testament (Personal Size) (Hardcover)
In Mark 1:42, 'he lepra' is translated 'the leper' instead of 'the leprosy', which alters the meaning somewhat. Apart from that, as a student of Theology and New Testament Greek, this is my essential text. It is never off my desk. As an aid to parsing practice, I have found none better. The Greek type is easily readable, and the literal translation is better than any other I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent volume, stacks of information, 27 Dec. 2010
By 
C. G. Ozanne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Greek-English Interlinear New Testament: A New Interlinear Translation of the Greek New Testament, United Bible Societies' Fourth, Corrected ... Standard Version, Testament (Personal Size) (Hardcover)
An indispensable utility for all students of the New Testament. The most up-to-date Greek text with an interlinear translation is an essential companion to all those who aspire to understand the Bible. The present volume supplies that need in a compact and handy shape. Easy to use and easy to carry around on one's travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a labour of love, 30 Mar. 2008
This review is from: The New Greek-English Interlinear New Testament: A New Interlinear Translation of the Greek New Testament, United Bible Societies' Fourth, Corrected ... Standard Version, Testament (Personal Size) (Hardcover)
if you are interested in learning Greek in the middle of a busy life, then this book is really good. It has each Greek word with its corresponding English one underneath. Many people may be familiar with many of the passages from school assemblies, or elsewhere. If you are, this can make it easier for you to acquire Greek vocabulary.

Classical and New Testament Greek has a much smaller vocabulary than English and Greek people, therefore, had to use individual words in many different ways, which is the source of many arguments and discussions over the interpretations of different words in the Bible and elsewhere.
Christ could have been born in a cellar, a room or a stable, for example.

However, New Testament Greek is relatively simple compared to, say, the prose of Plato. However, if you can read New Testament Greek and would like to read something that is not religious, then Xenophon's Anabasis would be for you. He uses a simple soldierly style, and vocabulary similar to that of the New Testament, to describe his military operations against the Persians and the escape of his army from hostile territory when the mission fails. There is an interlinear translation of Anabasis which is out of print, but can be obtained easily through many internet booksellers, mainly in the United States.

Even if you have no religious inclination, this book is a good introduction to Greek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tool For Devotional and Translation Purposes!, 2 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Greek-English Interlinear New Testament: A New Interlinear Translation of the Greek New Testament, United Bible Societies' Fourth, Corrected ... Standard Version, Testament (Personal Size) (Hardcover)
This is the smallest parallel/interlinear I have ever seen. It is exactly the same page for page (913 pages) as the regular version. Very high quality type fonts (3 different fonts NRSV/USB/INTERLINEAR). Beautiful embossed alpha and omega on the front of the Hard Cover Version! Dimensions are as follows: Regular: 9.50 x 6.75 x 1.75 Pocket: 8.29 x 5.80 x .96
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good first Greek bible, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Greek-English Interlinear New Testament: A New Interlinear Translation of the Greek New Testament, United Bible Societies' Fourth, Corrected ... Standard Version, Testament (Personal Size) (Hardcover)
This new testament is nicely set out, and very compact.

You get the Greek words, with a word for word English translation,
and the full biblical text as well

Nice New Testament very good price worth thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent support for Scholars and all who love learning, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Greek-English Interlinear New Testament: A New Interlinear Translation of the Greek New Testament, United Bible Societies' Fourth, Corrected ... Standard Version, Testament (Personal Size) (Hardcover)
All that I expected it to be and more. Recommended as good support to those learning old testament Greek as I am attempting to do. Find the print a little small though which means the breathings are difficult to pick up easily. I have to use a magnifing glass. Very irritated by the stickly label price tag glued on the front which completely ruined the dust cover and left an unpleasant round sticky circle when I removed it and it seems that sticky patch will remain forever to set my nerves on edge. I wish they wouldn't do that because I so like the tactile pleasure of books and the wretched label has ruined it for this book. If you are of a scholarly mind you should appreciate the great care that has been taken to put this useful volume together. A good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All Greek to me, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Greek-English Interlinear New Testament: A New Interlinear Translation of the Greek New Testament, United Bible Societies' Fourth, Corrected ... Standard Version, Testament (Personal Size) (Hardcover)
Having 'lost' my trusty Greek NT, bought 42 years ago, in a house move, I was keen to obtain either an identical copy or a well reviewed newer interlinear translation. What a complex web of reviews, from a snarling, vindictive writer with a fundamentalist axe to grind, to a number of well written, soberly considered articles. Personally, I was pleased with the New Interlinear with its familiar introductory sections and lay-out. The one criticism I have is the unnecessarily capitalised version of the translation, with looks awkward. It was nonetheless good to have the RSV alongside, which I think is the best modern translation. Overall, a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews