Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Number 11 - nearly there!
Having read this book I felt compelled to write about it.
I found the book extremely good - building on the previous 10 books and developing the characters found there. I had wondered if, at this late stage in the series, things would be skimped.
I suppose I cannot honestly say whether it is a 'good' book in its own rights or whether it is just that I have...
Published on 30 April 2003 by Miss LM Mantle

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Final Countdown Has Begun
The final year of the tribulation has begun. Chang is hoping to use the oppressive darkness that has fallen on New Babylon to set up remote surveillance and then escape to Petra. The contingent in San Diego finds itself in danger when Global Community forces start nosing around their compound, compromising Chloe. But that's just the beginning. Carpathia is planning the...
Published on 21 Aug. 2003 by Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Final Battle, 20 Jan. 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind) (Hardcover)
The eleventh book in the "Left Behind" series finds Rayford, Buck, and Chloe in constant danger as they travel from San Diego to New Babylon and Jerusalem to battle Nicolae Carpathia, who is now executing all those who do not have his loyalty mark on their foreheads. Many new friends join the Tribulation Force in the ancient city of Petra and help them prepare for the second coming of Christ - which takes place at the end of the book.

This is an action-packed thriller that will keep you turning the pages despite the poor writing that plagues all the Left Behind books. On the down side, Jenkins' consistent use of awkward words and phrases makes his dialogue ring false, and the Trib Force members are still to be too good to be true, while Carpathia and his comic sidekick Leon Fortunato are bumbling and helpless villains. Even with these flaws, "Armageddon" is a fun read if you are a fan of the series because it has much more action and suspense than any of the books since the original "Left Behind."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 May 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (Cochrane, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind) (Hardcover)
Great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Armageddon tired of this!, 18 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind) (Hardcover)
Never can it be said that Jerry B. Jenkins is a good writer. As this series rolls on to its climax - or possibly a whimper; everything just seems to be getting more and more ridiculous.
I'm not saying that the subject matter is. I've read a fair bit about the Apocalypse prophecies from the Old and New Testaments; it's more the writer's total lack of knowledge about how the real world really works that bothers and annoys me. There appears to have been little or no research done during the writing of this series. The political landscape and infrastructures of various countries in the early stages were ignorant to say the least; but with the one world government they could pretty much get rid of the things they didn't know about early on - how convenient. Even so, they seem to make gaffs throughout about various nationalities and customs etc.
Most of the people who've read this book and the previous ten(!) have said they've gotten more and more critical as the books became more and more like comic books.
The Antichrist has gotten less powerful than he was before Satan entered him. The Tribulation Force have 747's and other extremely expensive, high-tech equipment, and fly around the world as they like. Ridiculous!
And the British do NOT wear tweed! What time period was Mr. Jenkins writing about? The 1800's or 1940's? We don't wear bowler hats either - just in case you were thinking... This aint Mary Poppins you know!
Two final things for the authors to note: The end times will not be fought using high-tech equipment and the U.S. will not be a superpower. In fact, many students of the bible think the U.S. will play no part in these events. Unfortunately, Messrs Jenkins and LaHaye seem to think the globe is just an extension of America.
I suggest that Jenkins read a few decent authors like: Clancy, Wilbur Smith, Grisham, rather than trying to pretend they're on the same level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not for the astute, 15 May 2003
By 
"hklivingston" (New York / London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind) (Hardcover)
Admittedly, the action is breathtakingly-good--rather like Damien in the set of Star Wars. Indeed, if it were in the form of a comic book (as in "Dragonslayer"), or in a movie shown at Disneyworld, where everyone is in suspended animation, it would more than sufficiently explain why the series has hitherto sold more than 50 million copies.
But to anyone who, while gripped by each scene as it unfolds, still keeps track of the rest of the story, questions abound:
[1] Nicholae Jetty Carpathia, the Anti-Christ,
has a secretary who gladly chooses eternal damnation,
but at the same time feeds information to the Christian and Jewish rebels?
[2] Nicky--he is too shallow to be scary, so I shall be familiar with him--
is too preoccupied with preparations for battle, that he lets her be?
[3] Nicky's army, the biggest ever assembled, has the most advanced weaponry
to battle God's army, but its commanders choose to ride horses?
[4] the rebels search the internet for Bible battle tips?
[5] the popular underground Christian website is hacker-proof?
[6] a "Christian writing school" breeding clones to "spread the Word"?
If this were a song, Weird Al Yankovich would have a field day parodying it; Eminem was infinitely less vulnerable. We now know what the next in the Scary Movie series will be about.
For those not past their teens.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind)
Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind) by Tim F. LaHaye (Hardcover - 1 May 2003)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews