Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Christian book
...Firstly I think it is excellent and would Highly reccomend it.One of the reasons is the simple to understand language. I started reading in the book of Romans and found it extremely beneficial. In an easy to understand manner the author brings to life the meaning of the scriptures. He does not neglect to give various view points aswell as His own. Reading Romans I...
Published on 11 Jan. 2003 by mr hankinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
it was a gift. very good
Published 2 months ago by Joycelyn D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Christian book, 11 Jan. 2003
By 
mr hankinson (merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Believer's Bible Commentary (Hardcover)
...Firstly I think it is excellent and would Highly reccomend it.One of the reasons is the simple to understand language. I started reading in the book of Romans and found it extremely beneficial. In an easy to understand manner the author brings to life the meaning of the scriptures. He does not neglect to give various view points aswell as His own. Reading Romans I found myself being Drawn to God and am excited at what God will show me through this book. The author in His commentary advocates devotion and obedience to God from a position of total security for the true believer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best single Bible Commentry there is, 5 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believer's Bible Commentary (Hardcover)
If I could have only one commentary on the Bible, this would be it!

Normally commentaries that cover the whole bible jump over the questions you really want answerd. McDonald deals with them head on, giving the different points of view that pertain to the problem and then which one he would hold and why.

Clearly in a book that covers the whole bible it will not give in-depth discussion but great to give a good overview of each book and, as aready stated, written in clear English. There is a little more depth in the New Testament than the Old, but the book is to highly recommended to anyone who wants to have a foundational knowledge as to what the bible is about and how it all works together. The commentary is best read in conjunction with the bible and not on its own.

McDonald spent a lifetime of study in the Scriptures and his stance is what would be called "Conservative Evangelical". It is soundly scriptural and one would be hard pressed to challenge it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bible Commentary, 24 April 2011
It's a great Bible commentary, very easy language that turns complicated theology into practical understanding. I strong recomend this book to any believe that want to grow in faith and acknowlegde more about the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best Bible commentary out there!, 15 Nov. 2010
By 
Charlie (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Believer's Bible Commentary (Hardcover)
This Bible commentary is a must have in the library of anyone wanting to better understand Gods' word. It is written in straight forward language, referring to sound translations and confronts issues to answer many a question that a bible study student might have. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believer's Bible Commentary, 14 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believer's Bible Commentary (Hardcover)
Believer's Bible Commentary
A very helpful book indeed, it helped me enormously when I was getting a little stale with my bible study, heartily recommended.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 6 May 2010
By 
Samuel Leslie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Found the commentary very helpful when reading difficult passsages from the bible especially the books of Revelations !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bible study, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Believer's Bible Commentary (Hardcover)
Brought during a time of searching. An excellent book to be read over and over again. Also great for sharing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Word made easy!!, 9 Nov. 2010
I have been reading this bible since I came back to the Lord after 35 years backslidden. The Message content makes understanding the Lord's Word so much easier and is superb for new christians particularly. I not only read it myself but have bought it for friends and recommended to many people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a gift for a new believer. Very good, clear helps. Well presented and good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is by far my favourite commentary. It is a complete commentary of the bible. Written in a language that is easy to understand and comprehend. Makes the bible a lot clearer. Great for anyone who wants to study deeper and understand more fully the truths of His word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Believer's Bible Commentary
Believer's Bible Commentary by William MacDonald (Hardcover - 1 Mar. 1995)
£23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews