Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good value for the price
I was quite surprised at the quality of this Bible for the price. The cover and binding is really good (stitched not glued) and will look really good on your bookshelf. It's a good quality hardcover, not paperback.

The page edging is red, which you can't see from the Amazon photo. Words of Jesus also printed in red.

The paper is quite thick (not...
Published 24 months ago by Steve W

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No indication of font type and size.
I was looking for a Bible with a clear print to be used by a clever 6-year old. The print in this Bible is small and very compact. The problem with ordering a Bible online is that you cannot "look inside" to judge the print. So, why not allow "look inside" to at least be able to judge the font?
Published 9 months ago by MARTIN DE GROOT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really recommended!, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
nice edition, not too big and very cheap. it's written not too big and not too small and often you have a complete chapter in just one or two pages, and that's useful for praying. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good value for the price, 25 April 2012
By 
Steve W (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
I was quite surprised at the quality of this Bible for the price. The cover and binding is really good (stitched not glued) and will look really good on your bookshelf. It's a good quality hardcover, not paperback.

The page edging is red, which you can't see from the Amazon photo. Words of Jesus also printed in red.

The paper is quite thick (not the extremely thin paper some bibles have), but the print is on the small side.

Words in the bible that have been added from the original King James Version, in order to make sense in modern English, are in italics.

On the whole, very good value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the holy bible, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
very informative i have used it as i was doing as course that this book was helpful with. i was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Bible NIV, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
This is a good translation of the Bible although the font size is rather small. It is easily understood yet is not too simplistic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No indication of font type and size., 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
I was looking for a Bible with a clear print to be used by a clever 6-year old. The print in this Bible is small and very compact. The problem with ordering a Bible online is that you cannot "look inside" to judge the print. So, why not allow "look inside" to at least be able to judge the font?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thou Shalt Not Steal, 23 Aug 2007
By 
J. Brooke "Simply J" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
I commented on this Bible in my Listmania list of "BIBLES- Which is suitable for what purpose?" but it would help to add some information here:
From the outside, this book is very recognisable as a Bible - it looks official, boring, and the sort of book that is designed to look best on the shelf rather than in your hand. (Bibles don't actually HAVE too look like that!)
If you want a Bible to look the part you could buy this one - or just pop into church next Sunday and walk out with it (no -don't!)
If you did look inside this Bible you may be surprised that it isn't the old King James "Thou Shalt Not Steal" text but a more modern translation called New King James Version. The Thees and Thous are replaxced by modern English. The language is a reasonable balance between readability and being accurate to the original Greek/Hebrew. It tries to be in fitting with the olde King James (Authorized) version. Note "AuthoriZed" with a Zee - The King James and the New King James are more highly regarded and used in America than the UK.
If you want this book to decorate your bookshelf, you hardly need a review!
If you're an American, you probably know what you want and reading that this is a NKJV version will be enough to help you decide.
If you're in the UK I would suggest looking at different versions - and my listmania list might help?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 169 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A ripping tale of good, evil, betrayal , redemption, etc., 15 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
This book is shrouded in mystery and controversy. It centres around a jewish man called Jesus, perhaps the Son of God, apparently born about 2,000 years ago of a virgin called Mary. Jesus grows up - the story recounts very little of his childhood days - and becomes well versed in Jewish religion. He claims special powers, preaches about universal love and forgiveness of one's enemies, is recognised by his followers as the Son of God come to fulfil his father's law, but eventually winds up Jewish elders after a heated episode in the Temple who not long after hand him over to the Roman's for crucifixion. The Roman's crucify him, he dies, is put in a cave, but three days later, so the story goes, he comes back to life and gets out. He goes back and sees his friends and followers, hanging around for a while before going back home to his father who lives in heaven.
Thats the gist of it, but the problems start with the fundamental question of who wrote it. Some people called Christians who rather like this story say that God wrote it about his Son Jesus. But that is difficult to believe as there are clearly four versions of the story, all a bit different, written by four men called Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. At times the story gets a bit repetitious, and one suspects that Matthew, Mark and Luke copied their stories from one earlier unnamed source. The version by John is a bit more mystical and fanciful and departs from the narrative of the other three authors a little too much for my liking.
Another problem has to do with whether this book is God's final word as the Christian's who love this book would have it. They believe it is part two of a two volume set (the first part of which is known as the Torah and which is also dictated by God to a man called Moses - those who prefer the first book over the second call themselves Jews). Many others believe this is just part two of a trilogy which ends with another book dictated by God to a man called Mohamed and which is known as the Quran. Indeed, its more complicated than that, as people called Mormon's believe there is a fourth installment, dictated to an American called Joseph Smith (by God), and they call that book the Book of Mormon.
When I was young and this book was given to me to read it all seemed rather simple. There was one book - this was it - and God wrote it. But as I've gotten older I've realised that whatever the truth behind this book is, its been rather confused and convoluted over the years of telling and retelling. But I do like the central message of this man Jesus - love others as you would love yourself, and forgive people for doing bad things to you. Thus, despite all the confusion and controversy, I recommend this book as a good read whether or not you think its all true, partly true, or a work of utter fiction. Happy Reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 74 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK but unrealistic ending..., 3 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
Starts off brilliantly. The first half of the book is filled with lots of exciting and dramatic incident- hell fire, murder, treachery, demons and angels. Deuteronomy is my favourite chapter- wouldnt the world be mental if this was how we lived! Fantastic!

The 2nd half isnt nearly as much fun. Becomes a little preachy and very inconsistent. Seems to contradict a lot from the first half which was so much fun! Stories arent quite as much fun, and all in all fizzles out without much explanation, and though the main character seems to be a decent enough guy people seem to get rather carried away with his shows. Raed the first half for the craic and give the 2nd half a miss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can you Adam and Eve it?! Beards, hippies, and a superbully., 20 Nov 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
The book is split into two distinct sections - The Old Testament being quite an entertaining fantasy tale involving flooding, the parting of the sea, evil snakes and the creation of the world itself. The New Testament picks the story up some years later, and like most sequels, it lacks something.

God was a bit truculent in the first book, to be honest he behaves more like a like a jealous child, even going as far to say that "I the Lord your God am a jealous God, punishing children for the iniquity of parents, to the third and the fourth generation of those who reject me" - so if you don't worship him then his punishment extends to your kids, and their kids, and so on. Sounds like a bully to me, this is essentially an very old gangster story. He's the Don (with an aptitude for magic), the world is his patch - and he's got the power to make your family pay. Still, it's a good yarn!

The second part - The New Testament - is nowhere near as entertaining. The plot is not as epic, it actually comes across as quite preachy and you can't help but feel that it's trying to mean all things to all people, this results in it contradicting itself and seeming a bit clumsy at times. It's guilty of trying to sound authoritative by using 'olde-worlde' language, the First Testament pulled it off but it just seems contrived here. This New Testament could really have been called "Bible 2: Son of God - this time it's personal". There's a huge plot hole in the story though - this Jesus fella is a likeable hippy and ends up getting nailed to a cross only to actually appear again later on in the story. I also felt that this was a blatant rip off of Monty Python's Life of Brian.

Interpret it how you like - no matter what your beliefs are you'll find justification for them in here. Whether you like the philosophy of hate or love, you can follow either and quote passages from this book to support your actions. You can even get different versions of this book with the bits you might not want to follow cut out, genius - pick 'n' mix religion! This version does actually drop some of the old-speak and replaces it with Americanisations (I refuse to use a Z).

The book also misses out God's final message to the universe, thankfully this was included in Douglas Adams' Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy: "Sorry for the inconvenience".

In a nutshell: Fantasy fiction fans might be a bit disappointed, 3 stars from me as it's pretty average. The first bit props it up, otherwise it would have been a 2 starrer for me. It has its uses though, if you sit reading this on a train, nobody will sit near you. Just stash your Harry Potter (or whatever) inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FULL OF....MIRACLES AND STUFF., 16 April 2008
This review is from: Holy Bible [NKJV] (Hardcover)
For me, the greatest miracle in the bible is when joshua told his son to stand still and he obeyed him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2f31cc0)

This product

Holy Bible [NKJV]
Holy Bible [NKJV] by Thomas Nelson Publishers (Hardcover - 1 Mar 1983)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews