Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hate spawns out of Hatred's Kingdom
After having read so many books on Islamic theology, history and politics (and continually seeing Bat Ye'or's Eurabia mentioned) I was amazed on receiving Eurabia reading the contents page; almost every chapter has spawned a complete book in itself by different authors, such is the richness of Bat Ye'or's writing. I wanted almost every sentence and every line to written...
Published on 21 May 2009 by Caped Crusader

versus
46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eurabia will be defeated
"Eurabia" is a monumental scholarly work, thoroughly researched and referenced. Unfortunately, this quality makes it very difficult and often tedious reading. The book would benefit from a thorough compendium enabling impatient readers as I to quickly grasp the contents and the message without having to wrestle through the full body.

The messages in the book...
Published on 9 Nov 2006 by Jan P. van Dooren


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hate spawns out of Hatred's Kingdom, 21 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis (Paperback)
After having read so many books on Islamic theology, history and politics (and continually seeing Bat Ye'or's Eurabia mentioned) I was amazed on receiving Eurabia reading the contents page; almost every chapter has spawned a complete book in itself by different authors, such is the richness of Bat Ye'or's writing. I wanted almost every sentence and every line to written IN BOLD so that people would get it.

Open this book on almost any page, and the way Ye'or ties history together will make you understand different historical events with a revelatory clarity.

Eurabia deals with France's desire, in being left out of the agreements between Britain, America and Russia post WWII, to create a separate empire consisting mostly of former Islamic French colonies in order to challenge America economically. This later turned into the Euro-Arab dialogue and now encompasses all major European countries.

But far from being a cultural exchange in order to better relations with the Middle East, it has become just a lobby for Arab Islamist countries to forward their covert jihad agenda (as fully revealed in Koranic texts), the centre piece of this manipulation of public opinion is conveying Islam as victims of the "demonic" America and Israel.

It is quite obvious that both parties of the Euro-Arab dialogue are using each other to their own ends, and the European politicians ignorant of history and with a disregard of antisemitism, allowing a devastating fate to befall on us all.

Reading Eurabia right after Dore Gold's "Hatred's Kingdom: How Saudi Arabia Supports the New Global Terrorism" (which highlights Saudi Arabia's unique version of Islam (Wahabism) and its central role in creating, financing and nurturing terror world wide) everything made sense to me. Eurabia is simply another front, another part of 'the calling' to Islamise the world. With Saudi Arabian petro-dollars and European politicians devoid of any backbone, this mad proposition is becoming a reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Courageous. Essential reading., 14 July 2005
By 
M. D Roberts (Gwent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis (Paperback)
The reader is provided with an excellent, well written, presentation which investigates how the European Union has allegedly become overtly anti-American and anti-Israel.
Particular emphasis being placed on what is described in this work as the "subversion" of the European Union towards what is cited herein as the "Islamization" of the continent.
Attention being drawn to the EU's perceived "need" of the Arab bloc of nations in order that the EU can "establish itself as a strategic rival to America".
The reader is presented with a succession of international agreements revealing an inferred European agreement to support the Arab/Islamic world's political aims - particularly its alleged anti-Israel stance - in exchange for "favoured" treatment in Arab/Islamic world markets.

The book discusses how the EU has allegedly made Israel the "cornerstone" of it's relations with the Arab world and the US.
Indeed, whilst a plethora of related subjects are dealt with, perhaps the core issues dealt with revolve around policies, attitudes, politics & even religion, pertaining to the Arab/Palestinian - Israeli issue.
Many questions are asked from the outset, that investigate such issues as the decision of the European Union to propose a constitution that renounces and denies it's Judeo-Christian roots.
Undoubtedly numerous readers will disagree with the views of the writer and find many of these issues to be extremely contentious indeed. However, to each question asked, an analysis is provided, with due reference to evidence which demands a verdict in itself.
Despite it's controversial nature, this is an absolute "must read".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timely warning, 24 May 2006
By 
G. J. Weeks (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis (Paperback)
Bat Ye'or, Daughter of the Nile, is the pseudonym of a Jewish woman born in Egypt, who was deprived of her citizenship and is now a British citizen living in Switzerland. Her speciality is dhimmitude, how Christians and Jews are tolerated as minorities by Muslims provided they accept the burdens Islam places upon them, paying a special tax, no church bells or processions, no evangelism, church buildings restricted, the testimony of a non-Muslim not accepted against the word of a Muslim etc, etc. By this tolerant Islam historically allowed monotheistic minority communities to live in Muslim lands. It is an attitude of resigned inferiority and subservience to Islam. She contends that Europe today is developing such an attitude to the Arab world. Europe is becoming Eurabia. Islam and its history are seen through rose tinted Muslim made spectacles. Anti-Americanism, anti-semitism and Anti-Zionism are rife. Even liberal Muslims aim to make Europe Muslim, ruled by the inequitable shari'a.

The leader of this compromise with Islam is France. Thanks to her, the E.U. is now hell bent on denying its Christian heritage pretending it owes as much to Islam as Christianity for the origins of European culture. She even manages to develop some vocabulary of her own and I do think the word Islamikaze deserves wide circulation, though it will not get it because we live in Eurabia. The cartoon controversy came after this book was published but the refusal to publish and offend Muslims is a prime example of the dhimmitude she portrays.

A detailed history of France and the E.U.'s alignment with the Arab world is given. Muslim minorities in Europe res not to be assimilated. Their demands are met in the name of multi-culturalism but it is really dhimmitude. Perhaps she does not make enough of the exception to this rule, France's ban on religious dress in school. but the one sided capitulation of West to East is well evidenced in this work.

She shows how Arab Christians have compromised and become advocates of Muslim views. One begins to understand why Middle eastern churches have such a poor record on evangelism. She criticises replacement theology which teaches that the church has replaced the Jews in God's purposes for mankind. I think her thesis is well proved and gives a timely warning which is going unheeded in Europe. My one criticism is that she equates a denial of the God given right of the state of Israel to exist according to biblical prophecy as anti-semitic as well as anti-Zionist. She should realise that one can defend the right of Israel to exist as a state without being a Zionist or anti-semitic. After all the Lubavich are non-Zionist Jews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental analysis of recent history, 17 Sep 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis (Paperback)
In this awe-inspiring work, Bat Ye'or chronicles the origins and course of the insidious cultural and economic Jihad of the past 30+ years against the West. She identifies the historical and spiritual dimensions of the current struggle against our civilization by detailing how the enemy has been weakening our culture in the aftermath of the 1973 Yom Kippur War.

Oil wealth has been harnessed to wage psychological and diplomatic warfare in order to subvert the Judeo-Christian and Enlightenment roots of Europe and turn it into a limp-wristed post-modernist culture as a prelude to subduing it completely. The most disturbing revelations concern the European intellectual and political elites that have colluded in this process of undermining our heritage.

The clearest signs of the extent to which they have succeeded are the Anti-American, Anti-Zionist and Pro-Palestinian attitudes of much of Europe nowadays, demonstrating the effects of the intelligentsia on ordinary people via the media. By playing on European resentment of American dominance, the enemy is succeeding in breaking up the Western Alliance.

There is also the gruesome convergence of a resurgent fascist Anti-Semitism with the Islamist resentment of the existence of Israel. One of its manifestations is Palestinianism, where the Western cultural pathology of guilt is being exploited to turn the West against Israel. Other forces are at work too, like French envy of Anglo-Saxon pre-eminence and the material benefits of close economic co-operation with the oil-rich countries of the Middle East and North Africa.

After the Yom Kippur War and the subsequent raising of oil prices, France threw itself into the arms of the oil-producers and influenced the European bureaucracy to follow suit, by means of the EAD (Euro Arab Dialogue) and the Parliamentary Association for Euro-Arab Co-operation (PAEAC).

Shamelessly abusing the western value of tolerance and leftist fads like relativist multiculturalism, the enemy has been gaining ground whilst giving nothing in return. Thus Israel has been turned into an international scapegoat while atrocities and genocide in places like Sudan, Chechnya and Rwanda plus human rights abuses in Islamic countries have been ignored.

The various strands of this European policy of dhimmitude encompass appeasement, bribery, and the encouragement of Anti-Americanism and Anti-Semitism in the guise of The Anti-Zionism. Thus decades of Leftist undermining of Western values and multiculturalist indoctrination in academia are bearing their poisonous fruit. It is of the utmost importance for those who cherish the West to understand that the war against Israel is a war against all of us.

By denying its roots, Europe has destroyed its defences. For example, the socialist welfare state has contributed greatly to a declining birth rate on the continent. Now it must cope with millions of immigrants, many of whom are hostile to the host culture and refuse to integrate. What a horrible historical exchange took place: Six million Jews murdered and barely five decades later there are up to twenty million immigrants with a significant alienated component in their midst.

The Ottomans were halted at Vienna in 1683 but Europe now finds itself in a very vulnerable situation. Sold out by their elites, the ignorant taxpayers of Europe are subsidising the slow destruction of their civilization. Unless there is a spiritual re-awakening and a rediscovery of the European heritage, the future looks bleak.

Eurabia is a magnificent book, thoroughly researched and well written. Additional information on the current situation may be found in the books The Force Of Reason by Oriana Fallaci, While Europe Slept: How Radical Islam Is Destroying the West from Within by Bruce Bawer, The Dragons Of Expectation by Robert Conquest, The Unlearned Lessons of the Twentieth Century by Chantal Delsol and Our Culture, What's Left Of It by Theodore Dalrymple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A groundbreaking work, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis (Paperback)
This is a groundbreaking work whose importance cannot be overstated. It accurately describes the systematic transformation of Europe into a dependency of the Arab/Muslim world.

The book leaves no room for doubt that this is a conscious and deliberate process, driven by the Euro-Arab Dialogue set in motion in 1973 by French President Georges Pompidou and German Chancellor Willy Brandt.

My only objection would be to the author's contention that it was the French leadership's intention to build a community with all the Mediterranean countries in contradistinction with American economic designs. In no way does it follow that unofficial American interests and their European collaborators have played no role in the project.

As Ioan Ratiu has shown in The Milner-Fabian Conspiracy, Pompidou was the manager of the French Rothschilds' business empire which had interests in recovering nationalized oil holdings in North Africa. On his part, Brandt had close links to Rockefeller interests who, again, aimed to revive their oil operations in the region that had been affected by nationalization.

In addition, the Rothschild-Rockefeller groups operated in close collaboration with each other through organizations set up for that very purpose like the Bilderberg Group and the Trilateral Commission, whose members included leading elements from Europe's economic, financial and political sectors.

It must be the task of future historical study to investigate the exact nature and degree of influence exerted by these interests on the Islamization process, a task to which capable researchers like Bat Ye'or can make a decisive contribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eurabia will be defeated, 9 Nov 2006
By 
Jan P. van Dooren "TaxOdium" (Leuven, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis (Paperback)
"Eurabia" is a monumental scholarly work, thoroughly researched and referenced. Unfortunately, this quality makes it very difficult and often tedious reading. The book would benefit from a thorough compendium enabling impatient readers as I to quickly grasp the contents and the message without having to wrestle through the full body.

The messages in the book are (too) often repeated.

Bat Ye'Or believes that there exists a complot within the European Union (EU) to lead Europe into "dhimmitude" (subservience) to Islam. She proves this with references to numerous EU texts and the European-Arab Dialog (EAD) organisation. This complot has also opened the European gates wide to Muslim immigrants which now number about 20 million in Europe, from practically zero in 1960.

I believe that there probably exists such a complot and that there certainly is a strong pro-Arab lobby in the EU and European governments, France being in the lead, for whatever shortsighted political and economic reasons. It is a major cause of the prevailing anti-American and anti-Israeli sentiments in EU political circles. But I doubt very much about the eventual success of such a plot. You cannot fool all Europeans all the time! We are getting fed up with secretive undemocratic ways of decision making in the EU bureaucracy. The EU constitution project was rejected in Holland and even in France itself. Muslim immigrants refuse to adapt and accept European ways and are increasingly rejected themselves. Multiculturalism has failed and is disintegrating. Since the immigrants have homelands, Morocco and Turkey, to which they return each summer for vacation, they can be encouraged to remain there where their allegiance is. Christian Europe is not lost yet, it's just asleep, still living in the post-war 60-year dreamstate of almost general peace in Europe. We will realise that we owe this happy peace, the longest in history since the Pax Romana, to America. Not to France nor Germany, who always were the among the worst warmongers in Europe. We will understand again that the Jews were at the cradle of Christianity, not Islam. We will again recognise which enormous contributions Jewish scientists, artists and politicians have made to European civilisation, not the Arabs nor the Turks, our traditional archenemies. Where is the Arab Rembrandt? Where is the Turkish Einstein? Where is the Muslim Father Damien? We did not need the Arabs to teach us Greek science or Roman history. Latin civilisation never died in Italy, and the Latin and Greek traditions were kept alive in the Church through the Dark Ages in Western Europe, and up to the Fall of Constantinople in Greece. We did not need the Arabs to build our cathedrals or to teach us painting like Giotto and Rubens.

I am much more optimistic than Bat Ye'or that Europe will come to its senses before it is too late. A dhimmi status will never be acceptable. The alternative is a general European civil war which will make the Yugoslavian split-up look like kindergarten play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A warning to us all, 19 Sep 2007
By 
T. Hall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis (Paperback)
I thought that the book was well researched and should be read by anyone interested in the effect that globalisation is having on neighbouring counties that do not embrace democracy. Despite years of trying Europe has tried and failed to to integrate immigrants into our societies because it has tried to construct a multicultural society in which immigrants embrace western values. It has allowed large sections of immigrants to hold onto values and concepts that the west would see as undesirable in a civilised democracy. The American model of integration has been far more successful in achieving this. The book is a timely warning that European leaders must look at new ways to integrate immigrants into our societies so that whey work for the common good and that they should be ever watchful to hold onto and not be fooled into giving away our hard won freedoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and provocative but highly questionable., 29 April 2012
Ye'or's thesis is that an oganization, known as the Euro-Arab Dialogue -first set up by the EU in the early 70's- has become an engine of Islamic and sometimes even Islamist propaganda, as well as of various philo-Islamic initiatives and projects throughout the continent. Little by little, the Muslim countries have gained increasing influence and power throughout Europe. The result of all of this, we're told, is that the populations of Europe are being brainwashed into undue sympathy with the Islamic faith, as well as hatred of Jews; it's claimed that this process of Islamization accounts for such phenomena as the popular opposition to the war in Iraq and the consistent media bias against Israel. According to Ye'or, we Europeans are unwittingly wandering into Dhimmitude (second-class citizenship, below the superior Muslims).

Let's start with the good stuff. The book contains much that is interesting, with the author managing to unearth a lot of obscure information that is worth taking note of. She also puts forward an undeniably eye-catching argument that kept my attention throughout. From an academic standpoint, the book is fully referenced and includes an extensive Appendix. For these reasons alone, I would recommend this unique book.

On to the bad. The most significant problem is that the whole manages to be less than the sum of its parts. For all the intriguing points that the author raises, has she really shown that the continent is especially philo-Islamic? That hasn't been my experience. What I see in the media are a few well-meaning liberals bending over backwards to help the "underdog". This involves a certain amount of bad faith on their part. They may claim to respect Islam, but we all know that we won't be seeing any of them convert any time soon. In opposition to these lefty voices one can also easily detect a counter-current of populist, right-wing antagonism against Muslims and immigrants in general. Just read the Daily mail. If I had to choose, then I would say that the latter brand of rhetoric is probably the most common and widely-believed. But that's just my own impression, living in Britain.

The author intends for us to draw the inference that any number of incidents are the result of the EAD (Euro-Arab Dialogue), but this simply doesn't stand up to close scrutiny. For example, take the protests against the war in Iraq. Are we so sure that these people were hot for Islam, or that they were in any way influenced by the EAD and its affiliates? More likely the protesters were influenced by Michael Moore, Naomi Klein or Noam Chomsky. Aside from the numerous other potential sources of inspiration in the media, Ye'or fails to grapple with the numerous legitimate reasons for a person to oppose the war. It wasn't only left-leaning thinkers who were galvanized by the war in Iraq either. A great many conservative thinkers saw the intervention as folly. Also, please note that there weren't any comparable protests against the earlier war in Afghanistan, which at least tells us that the protesters weren't acting entirely out of uncritical hatred of America and sympathy with Middle-Eastern groups. This is but one example of a trend that we see running throughout the book; time and time again Ye'or commits the post hoc ergo propter hoc fallacy, leaving the reader to infer connections that might not be there at all. Likewise, when she attacks people who are strongly critical of Israel (for instance, in the left-leaning media) she never gives us any quoted justifications from these individuals. Instead, we are just supposed to assume that they are victims or stooges of the EAD. Deeply, deeply, implausible. Moreover, in her obsessive focus on the EAD, Ye'or neglects the possible influence of any number of other groups. For instance, in his expose "Flat Earth News" journalist Nick Davies turns his attention to the influence of pro-Israel pressure groups:

"There is now a network of pro-Israeli pressure groups who specialise in orchestrating complaints against the media. HonestReporting has offices in London, New York and Toronto and claims to have 140,000 members on whom it can call to drench media organisations in letters and emails. [...] Camera, the Committee for Accuracy in Middle East Reporting in America, uses street demos, pressure on advertisers, formal complaints and email showers. Giyus, Give Israel Your Support, supplies its members with a browser button which they can hit to send them any article which they deem offensive, and software called Megaphone to assist them in launching mass complaints. Memri (the Middle East Media Research Institute), Palestine Media Watch, Bicom (the Britain Israel Communications and Research Centre) and Israeli Embassy staff all supply energy for the fence. They share aims and/or funding sources with the immensely powerful network of organisations which lobby governments and political parties on behalf of Israel" (uncorrected proof copy, P123)

Clearly, then, the EAD isn't the only game in town. So why should we assume that it is any more powerful or influential than these other opposing lobbies and organizations that affect our media and culture?

Another thing about Ye'or's work that set off warning alarms for me was her obvious bias (admittedly though, she's no worse than some apologists for Islam like John Esposito). Ye'or's agenda shines through in her choice of primary sources, preferring as she does the most incendiary and extreme authors possible, regardless of how representative they might be (for instance, I look in vain for a single reference to the most famous and revered of all Islamic thinkers - Al-Ghazali). The information that she uses to bolster her argument is just as selective and is usually given little to no contextualization.

None of this is to say that the claims made in this book should be dismissed altogether though; I only want to suggest that the reader should approach the claims with a sensible amount of scepticism, and they should be willing to do plenty of follow-up reading in order to get a still clearer view of the issues afterwards. Ye'or's work might fall short of being the final, authoritative work on the subject, but as a modest CONTRIBUTION to a much larger debate, this book is invaluable.

So in conclusion, there are aspects of the book that are admirable, but the overall thesis is far too large to be justified by the limited and biased information we are provided with. How much influence does the EAD actually have? I personally suspect that it's a lot less than Ye'or claims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eurabia ...Bat Ye'or, 7 Jan 2008
By 
F. Matthews "Yochanan" (Yochanan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis (Paperback)
Recommended. Thorough, weighty and relevent. Refreshing in the midst of much fearful secularist and religious bullying about tolerance. I do think this book encourages dialogue of a more assertive nature. Enough appeasement or do we want what is offered? For what it covers it is very good. Scriptural Prophecy is left un-touched but this is done well by others with feet of iron and clay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What about Saudi America?, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis" is a book by controversial writer Bat Ye'or, an Egyptian-born British national of Jewish descent. Her pen name means "Daughter of the Nile". While the author's political tendency is very right-wing (the present reviewer is not), her book was nevertheless less extreme than I expected. The somewhat awkward term Eurabia refers to a real or perceived Euro-Arab political axis, not a new political entity. "Eurabia" details the partnership between the Arab world and the European Union (including its predecessor, the European Economic Community).

Bat Ye'or traces the partnership to Charles De Gaulle's France and its ambitious plans to become a great power competitor to both the United States and the Soviet Union. Cultivating friendship with the Arab world, while isolating Israel, was part of this French plan. Bat Ye'or makes the interesting point that France is really trying to rebuild its old colonial empire in North Africa and the Middle East. For reasons of Realpolitik, France has to make the Arabs equal partners in the modern version of the Francophone sphere of influence. This French great power agenda has gradually spread to most of the EEC/EU. As a Jew, Bat Ye'or also suspects more sinister agendas at work, including a "sanitized" version of age-old European anti-Semitism, now in cosy alliance with Arab-Muslim versions.

"Eurabia" meticulously documents various Euro-Arab partnership projects. The author believes that the Euro-Arab axis is the ultimate reason behind the positive views of (supposedly) tolerant Muslim culture, the strong European support for the Palestinians, the "Islamization" of Christianity and (more controversially) Muslim immigration. An important part of the Eurabian agenda is to create a rift between Europe and the United States. The long term goal from the Arab side is to make Europeans subservient to Muslim goals of world conquest and domination, in effect turning Europeans into a kind of ersatz "dhimmis". Throughout the book, the author uses the neologism "dhimmitude" in the sense of "servitude" or "subservience".

Bat Ye'or's book is interesting, but extremely tedious and repetitive. Despite being a Number One controversialist, "Eurabia" also gives a naïve impression. Gisèle Littman (the author's real name) talks a lot about Eurabia, but fails a mention another Muslim-Western axis which is arguably an even more important factor in world politics. Coining another awkward neologism, we could perhaps call it "Amerabia". I'm referring, of course, to the strategic partnership between the United States of America and various "conservative" Muslim nations both in the Arab world and beyond...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis
Eurabia: The Euro-Arab Axis by Bat Ye'or (Paperback - 31 Jan 2005)
Used & New from: £10.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews