Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling defense of Gnosticism for our era
Far from being a mere overview of the history of the heterogeneous ancient Gnostic movement, Gnostic polemist Stephan Hoeller puts forward a compelling case for the relevance of Gnosticism today.

A skillful blend of history, esotericism and spiritual insight, Stephan Hoeller reveals the limitation of the orthodox Christian and Jewish world view and proposes the...
Published on 28 Aug 2010 by Oscar Del Santo

versus
25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre and Dull
Perhaps I have been spoilt by having read many far better books on Gnosticism, because I found myself nodding off frequently over this lacklustre volume. The author's heavy Jungian slant is speculative at best, and struck me as anachronistic. I also found the book somewhat slanted in favour of the religious sect its author leads - it is important to bear in mind that...
Published on 8 Jan 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling defense of Gnosticism for our era, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
Far from being a mere overview of the history of the heterogeneous ancient Gnostic movement, Gnostic polemist Stephan Hoeller puts forward a compelling case for the relevance of Gnosticism today.

A skillful blend of history, esotericism and spiritual insight, Stephan Hoeller reveals the limitation of the orthodox Christian and Jewish world view and proposes the Gnostic alternative with simplicity and poise. Emphasizing the need for each and every one of us to transcend our limitations and those of our imperfect world with the aid of the great spiritual advanced beings of all cultures (especially Jesus), Hoeller proves the relevance of the myths, sacraments, depth psychology as espoused by the Jungian school and an enlightened spirituality in our secularized world.

A brilliant introduction to a cherished spiritual tradition that deserves to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Book that falls between two stools, 6 Jan 2005
By 
S. Timmis "stevetimmis" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
This book was written, I believe, to be a general introduction to Gnosticism for people with no prior understanding. It is very good in that it does give a brief overview of the major concepts that Gnosticism entails as well as similarly brief overviews of the major Gnostic sects that have appeared through out history.
On the negative side, the book is brief, after all it is only an introduction, and will need to be supplemented by other reading before a modern reader can get a true idea of what Gnosticism was in history, and is today. I would reccomend supplementary readings of "The Allure of Gnosticism" Ed Robert Segal, for an overview of Gnosticism from a genererally psychoanalytic, Jungian perspective, and Elaine Pagels "The Gnostic Gospels" for a scholarly, but very readable treatment of the ancient gnostic literature. I would genuinely suggest a modern beginner should read this supplementary work before launching into a reading of the Nag Hammadi Books because they are confusing and off-putting until you can approach them with a good idea of the "Inner language" or jargon of the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rediscovery of ancient wisdom, 27 Dec 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
Side by side with Christianity, the Gnostic tradition had its origins 2000 years ago in the Middle East. The main difference between the two is that Christianity focuses on faith whilst Gnosticism seeks a state of consciousness in which the divine can be directly experienced. Hoeller’s excellent book investigates the history of the Gnostic worldview as an indigenous Western mystical tradition. It is also a concise and sympathetic look at the teachings and spiritual lineage of Gnosticism.
According to the author, Gnosticism straddles the divide between psychology and religion – the place where soul and spirit meet, where dream and vision are transformed into an experience of liberation. Gnostic myths, metaphors and symbols partake of both psychological and metaphysical meaning. It this sense they are like endless loops in which psychological meaning points to metaphysical meaning that leads one back to the individual psyche again. It is the place where cosmology and psychology fuse, where archetypes and deities merge and separate in an endless dance. In both the intrapsychic and external sense, Gnostic myths belong in depth psychology and religion at the same time.
The author discusses the Gnostic view of the soul and of the divine and manifest worlds, considers the Gnostic Christ as a guide to the sacred mysteries and as Liberator more than Saviour and looks at the concept of Sophia (wisdom) in the Gnostic tradition. Various groups like the Mandaeans, Manicheans and Cathars are investigated.
One of the most interesting sections deals with three great Gnostic thinkers: Valentinus (famous for the poetic beauty of his words), Basilides (renowned for his mystical profundity) and Marcion (noted for his informed criticism of the Bible.) Finally Hoeller considers the influence of Gnostic ideas on writers and artists like Blake, Jung, Hesse, Melville and others.
Another very gripping section looks at Gnosticism in the light of Chaos Theory, Modernism, Post-Modernism and Nihilism. Here, Hoeller very convincingly refutes the claims of certain critics that Gnosticism is similar to nihilism and proves that it is, on the contrary, a very positive and life-affirming worldview that offers hope to the individual in the 21st century.
The text is enhanced by black and white illustrations of ancient and modern Gnostic art, and the book includes a glossary of terms, a general reading list, a bibliography of modern books and an index. I also recommend this same author’s earlier masterpiece, The Gnostic Jung And The Seven Sermons To The Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gnosticism at its best, 23 Jun 2003
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
This is the BEST book a Gnostic wannabe might want to start from. It covers a little bit of everything. This is definetily THE book to own about Gnosticism.
From the myths of the early Christian Gnostics to the modern Gnostic thoughts that are spread through the world(although some hidden) this books has it all. The Gnostic views on Jesus, the various Gnostic "groups" that existed and some still exist. Their works, beliefs, sacraments.
really, REALLY GOOD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre and Dull, 8 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
Perhaps I have been spoilt by having read many far better books on Gnosticism, because I found myself nodding off frequently over this lacklustre volume. The author's heavy Jungian slant is speculative at best, and struck me as anachronistic. I also found the book somewhat slanted in favour of the religious sect its author leads - it is important to bear in mind that millennial revivalism is unlikely to bear much resemblance to the persecuted groups of early centuries.
As an introductory 'dummies' (albeit short on entertainment) text, the book is dull but usable, but it has little to offer those with some prior knowledge.
If you were going to read only one book on Gnosticism, you could do far worse than snap up Elaine Pagels' superb introduction "The Gnostic Gospels", (also available from Amazon), which offers highly readable yet scholarly coverage which could leave no reader disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars revealing ancient wisdom, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
a reference book and source book ,to help my study of dream analysis.Expislains this complex subject well.It is a book I'll keep and dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A liberating spirituality?, 24 May 2013
By 
Geoff Crocker (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
This is a very readable, interesting and comprehensive account of the content and history of Gnosticism. It is also very relevant to the contemporary renewed focus on human spirituality. As Stephan Hoeller eloquently points out, our current understanding is materialist and mental. Physicalism and rationality are taken to explain all phenomena, including humanity itself. This is a reductionist view and in any case is not conclusive, as physicalism so far has no account of metaphysical realities, for example of consciousness, and rationality does not determine virtue, value, or what we consider reasonable. It does not explain how rationality originates. Religion itself has become a mental assertion to creed and doctrine. Gnosticism's attention to spirituality, its pursuit of the transcendental, its focus on a gnosis which generates self enlightenment and inner transformation, is therefore a welcome, holistic, and potentially liberating view. The attempt to eliminate Gnosticism through a long history of persecution highlights the inadequacy of the orthodox doctrinal Christian position.

The complaint of Irenaeus is that Gnosticism denies incarnation. This may originate as a theological complaint, but does have wider significance since it renders Gnosticism other-worldly, specifically disinterested in political engagement. Gnosticism critiques the world, and then disengages, rather than campaigning for reform. It opts out of human social responsibility.

Stephan Hoeller does point out that there is much gnostic material in orthodox Christianity. The apostle Paul's conversion encounter on the Damascus road is a clear case. John's gospel is gnostic in tone. Christ's resurrection is only temporarily corporeal, and is as a body which defies physical reality, rendering the resurrection more of a spiritual than a physical event. Moreover, the creedal doctrinal version of Christianity which became evangelical orthodoxy is itself highly gnostic in its insistence on special salvific knowledge revealed to a chosen elite. The modern charismatic phenomenon includes much gnostic experience - it is a `baptism in the Holy Spirit'.

Hoeller portrays Gnosticism as liberating. If it represents a free spiritual journey then this may be so, but in attempting to define Gnosticism, he then ties it down. A spiritual gnosis is now required, rather than being permissive. On pages 187-189 he sets out 14 points which define Gnosticism, and then claims that `At least the first ten of the fourteen points may be considered wholly authoritative... the absence of any of them from a person's worldview might disqualify him or her as a Gnostic'. Along with the view that Gnosticism is knowledge revealed to an elite, we now have a constraining, strictly limiting spiritual religion. We are back to where we started.

Far better is the emphasis on Gnosticism as myth. Myth as an interpretation of religion offers meaning which is powerfully relevant to the human condition. But it is best as an open narrative, not one which insists on anything, but offers everything. Herein lies a renewed spirituality for our materialist mentalist age.

Geoff Crocker
Author `An Enlightened Philosophy - Can an Atheist Believe Anything?'
Editor web forum `Atheist Spirituality'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best introductory texts on the gnostic tradition., 4 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
How good this book "is" will depend on what you are looking to get out of it. Anyone who has listened to one or more of Dr Stephan Hoeller's many lectures will know him as a man who is a well grounded & articulate teacher of comparative religion & the gnostic tradition, as well as the work of Carl Jung in relation to these.

If you are looking for a meaningful introduction to gnosticism, written by someone who has a solid academic background in the field, but who is also a PRACTICING gnostic, I highly recommend this book. I would also recommend that you purchase some of his lectures that are available at BC Recordings, as his passion & sense of humour also come through strongly.

The writer has been deeply influenced by Carl Jung, but given that Jung is arguably one of the most influential gnostics of the last 100 years, this can hardly be seen as negative. He seeks to clarify the common themes of the gnostic worldview in a manner that is both meaningful & mindful of the variety of gnostic thought & experience.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, but its agenda is too obvious for it to be unbiased, 8 Feb 2009
By 
S. Gardiner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
This was the first book on gnosticism that I read several years ago, and found it at the time to be very useful to providing a base from which to explore further.

That said, some points need to be made: first, the book's author, Mr Hoeller, is more interested in gnosticism as a potentially-revivable religious tradition, rather than as an intriguing ancient religious movement. Early gnosticism mixed platonic and neo-platonic philosophy, Jewish tradition and emergent Christian traditions into several variant forms; this book ignores the complexities of the gnostic movement in favour of offering a simplified overview based, as one other reviewer has noted, upon a Jungian understanding of the religion. Certainly, this is far from being a poor line of enquiry - Jung himself was very interested in gnosticism, and wrote his own gnostic 'sermon', Septem Sermones ad Mortuos ("The Seven Sermons to the Dead"). But it is, however, reductive, and only lighly touches upon the subtle differences between the different strands of the religion, which range all the way from radical dualistic views, such as are found in Sethian gnosticism, through to the monistic, philosophical visions of Valentinus and his school.

All in all, a good introductory volume, but the reader may well come away with a perspective upon gnosticism more derived from Mr Hoeller's own feelings towards it, rather than might be gleaned from reading a more neutral study, or from a personal a study of the religious texts themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious - moi?, 26 Mar 2008
By 
A. J. Bradbury "Andy B." (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing (Paperback)
One has to feel some sympathy for this author since he is trying to describe something that doesn't really exist - that is, Gnosticism as a clearly definable entity.

Thus we get contradictory statements such as:

"Another important question is whether the elements of the Gnostic worldview are to be understood literally or symbolically. Literalism and dogmatism ... are distinctly unGnostic views. Gnosticism has a worldview, but it has no theology and no doctrines to believe in." (page 24)

Which appears to leave the door pretty wide open. Unless you are reading the book from front to back, in which case you will already have seen the claim that:

"We live in an eclectic age ... When encounterring Gnosticism at the psychospiritual supermarket, we might be tempted to accept some parts of its worldview and to discard others. ... The Gnostic worldview, however, is an internally consistent whole; when we remove parts of the whole, its integrity suffers." (page 24)

In other words, you CANNOT take the bits you like and discard the rest without loosing the sense of the whole. We aren't really being offered freedom from dogma at all - "it" MUST be taken as a whole, or it isn't really worth taking "it" at all.

Later on, referring to the Nag Hammadi texts, the author digs himself even deeper in when he states that:

"... there are six major and several minor treatises containing primarily liturgical and ceremonial material."

What kind of "worldview" has "liturgical and ceremonial" materials?

And what exactly is "it"?

Since this is supposed to be an introduction to Gnosticism one might reasonably have expected at least a brief summary of the Gnostic myth at the start of the book. But we don't. It comes in dribs and drabs so that it is unlikely that any genuine novice could make much sense of large portions of the book without going forwards and backwards, forwards and backwards over and over again.

As regards Gnosticism itself the author gives descriptions one might almosrt believe are designed to undermine any respect for Gnosticism as a field for serious study.

For example, at the very start of the book (first page of the Preface), the author jumps on the "new revelations" bandwagon when he writes:

"Only fifty years ago, the majority of those presently involved in Gnostic studies would have shied away from serious consideration of Gnosticism." (page vii)

Which may or may not be true. What this implies, however, is that we are witnessing a new dawning of overt Gnosticism after a hiatus of nearly 2000 years (excepting the Cathars of the 1100's). And that certainly is NOT true. On the contrary, if we went back 100 years, or even 150 years, we would find that Gnosticism was widely studied, Gnostic texts were widely available, and Gnosticism was widely discussed by those interested in such subjects. In fact the subject was so far out in the open that there was even an SPCK edition of the "Pistis Sophia". The SPCK was and is, of course, the "Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge," and they were quite happy to ensure that their customers were kept fully informed as to what the fuss over gnosticism was all about.

Unfortunately this oversight is hardly surprising if we check Appendix A, "A Gnostic Reading List," and the "Bibliography of Modern Books Cited Other than Those in Appendix A."

Whilst the author makes it clear that this is not intended as a scholarly work it seems quite incredible that he mentions not a single recent study of Gnosticism from a Christian perspective.

But then again, why should he - unless he wanted to present a realistic and accurate picture of events?

Because this book seems to be entirely based on the belief that Gnosticism was an offshhot of Christianity, yet the book shows a remarkably poor understanding of orthodox Christian teaching.
For example, we are (erroneously) told that:

"Another Gnosticizing (that is, akin to Gnostic) apostle was St. John, who frequently wrote of knowing (gignoskein) God or Christ. Anyone who reads the beautiful Gospel of John is struck by its similarity to the poetic and visionary style of the writing of the Gnostics."

So is the author really trying to imply that if the FORM of different writings is similar then the CONTENTS are somehow related?

In practice, as this author himself makes clear, whilst the vocabularies of Christianity and Gnosticism overlapped at many points, the actual *meaning* of the individual terms were seldom alike. In practice, even the absolute basics - "Jesus" and "Christ" - didn't mean the same thing to Christians and Gnostics.

Which raises another very important question about this book:

"If Gnosticism pre-dated Christianity, as seems very likely, why try to harmonise the two? Why insist on talking about 'Christian Gnostics' if no such animal ever existed?"

By having such a heavy emphasis on Christianity, even allowing that he is often talking about pseudo-Christianity rather than the genuine article, the author gives the impression that Gnosticism was little more than Christianity's "poor relation" which pretty much faded away when the Christian religion became institutionalized and its leaders cast Gnosticism in the role of "heretic."

In short, a pretty mediocre book, poorly organized for its apparent audience, competently written but with little or no flare, poorly researched, and far too pre-occupied with Carl Jung and Christianity to give a worthwhile account of Gnosticism itself.
I started out giving the book 3 stars, but by the time I'd finished this review I couldn't see it being worth even that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing
Gnosticism: New Light on the Ancient Tradition of Inner Knowing by Stephan A. Hoeller (Paperback - 29 July 2002)
16.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews