Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encouraging and inspiring
This book is well written, and effectively communicates the importance of evengelism in everyday life. It offers sound advice for various situations, drawing from the scriptures at many points. It also draws frequently from the author's own experiences, and recounts her own struggles in proclaiming the gospel. These testimonies to victory for Jesus are very encouraging,...
Published on 4 July 2005 by Peter Bloomfield

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Not as engaging or as exciting as it's been hyped up to be. It hasn't helped me to evangelise and I think the '40 Days with Jesus' book does a better job.
Published 1 month ago by Samuel Barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encouraging and inspiring, 4 July 2005
By 
Peter Bloomfield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is well written, and effectively communicates the importance of evengelism in everyday life. It offers sound advice for various situations, drawing from the scriptures at many points. It also draws frequently from the author's own experiences, and recounts her own struggles in proclaiming the gospel. These testimonies to victory for Jesus are very encouraging, especially since it is so easy to relate to the challenges and difficulties which are all too common.
The style of writing is quite relaxed and easy going, so you get a genuine sense of it being truly a way of life. Importantly, it really provokes careful thought about your own ongoing witness to the gospel. The author places considerable emphasis on the character of Christ, and how we should strive to follow His example. Even though we probably read about it all the time in the Bible, the author draws out many critical points which are so easy to neglect.
One area I feel the book lacks in is that, although the Bible is referred to often, it is normally through paraphrase, and does not always give specific verse references. I would have liked to have been able to read the Biblical basis alongside the book throughout.
Despite this, however, it is still a superb book. I recommend this for anyone who struggles with understanding how and/or why we should evangelize. Notably, it does not promote one particular style of evangelism, so it is worth reading whether or not you are good at the 'conventional' methods (e.g. street-preaching, door-to-door, etc.). Just remember: this book can't provide you the motivation to be a witness, but it might help you find it in Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A down to earth guide to everyday evangelism, 8 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This book is "must have" reading for every Christian. It is written in an easy to read style and tackles all the usual excuses for not evangelising. It recognises the hang ups both Christians and non Christians have and teaches you to share with your friends and family rather than talking at them. Manley Pippert talks of evangelism as sharing your life with the people around you rather than something you must do every week. This book is truly inspirational. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mind changer and thought encourager, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly great book about evangelism that takes the roof off our stereo-typed ideas and insincere attitudes to other people. The ideas can be applied to any age group of social circle and throws out the idea of mass-evangelism and trying to reach out to others with no real commitment or care of the whole person. Evangelism the JESUS way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very practical and encouraging, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would definitely recommend this book - it contains lots of real life stories on how the author shares her faith in various situations and with a vast variety of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great practical book about mission, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great practical book about mission. It offers some useful reflections and ideas for how to share Jesus with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Christian needs this book., 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pippert explains, in a very readable style, why evangelism is important for every Christian and why it doesn't have to be scary or offensive. With every word you're given more confidence and enthusiasm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as engaging or as exciting as it's been hyped up to be. It hasn't helped me to evangelise and I think the '40 Days with Jesus' book does a better job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars possibly the best book I ever read, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THis book changed my life - it made me realise how much God loves me, and so ho much I should love other people. Liberating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was recommended for a Bible study group I attend. We study parts of it at a time in conjunction with the 'planner' or journal.
It arrived in plenty of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a present I did not read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of the Saltshaker & Into the World: Evangelism as a Way of Life
Out of the Saltshaker & Into the World: Evangelism as a Way of Life by Rebecca Manley Pippert (Paperback - July 1999)
Used & New from: 0.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews