Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and practical., 9 May 2000
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
This book is a "must have" for begginer and intermediate modellers. It's full of practical information. It explains thoroughly how to make most parts of the ship. This is its index:
1 Why we build ship models - 2 Working areas - 3 Tools - 4 Sources of kits - 5 Size and scale - 6 Ships in bottles and other containers - 7 Planning and plans - 8 Paint and painting ship models - 9 Holding it altogheter - 10 Construction of the hull - 11 Decks and above decks - 12 Making masts - 13 Proportions for rigging - 14 Running rigging - 15 Sails for sailing ships - 16 Anatomy of the gun - 17 Fittings - 18 Metal on ship models - 19 Dandyfunk - 20 Essential gadgets - 21 Research, vocabulary and conversation - 22 What kind of ship modeller are you?
There are enough photographs and drawings to understand perefectly how to do everything (note that I don't know the English jargon of ships, because I speak Spanish). And there are a lot of tricks: you'll learn how to make a ladder, how to prepare masts, how to sew the sails, what materials are available... If you're a begginer or intermediate modeller, and perhaps even if you are an advanced one, you'll discover a lot of things in this book.
Definitely, you won't regret buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stimulant to aspiring modellers, 25 Oct. 2002
By 
Tony Watson "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
I found this to be a very informative collection of hints, tips and reference information for any modeller...I only found one photo that might be classified as upside-down; the rest of the photos and diagrams are clear, concise and very helpful.
Excellent sections on tools and adhesives plus 'why didn't I think of that...' tips; there are some nice tables not seen in other books and some excellent line drawings of rigging and sail tackle.
This is not intended to be a guide to building an 'Admiralty' model, or a faithful built-up model; what it does do is fire one's enthusiasm for building a reasonably accurate scale model - other books cover the finer points of fidelity.
I would recommend this to anyone starting to build model ships, it is not too detailed to put one off, nor is it dumbed-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rigging Up, 3 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
A good book for any model boat maker. Covering from the basics of a plank on frame boat, mainly around older ships than newer ships, the techniques described can quite easily be used for moden hull building (plank on frame) with some conversion. Excellent detail helped me complete a Bilings model with the correct knot tying and false canvases, to small details.
A worth while book for any boat modeller to have on their reference shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every ship modeller should have one., 20 Nov. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
This is in no way the only book the neophyte should have, many of the other books on the subject could teach you more in depth but few if any have such a collection of common sense and practical tips gathered in one place. This is perhaps "the other book" you should have.

The author's prose is a little flamboyant (and tiresome)when he infers that you are a special kind of person or will become one if you build ship models with the hint that this will happen only if you build ship models. So skip the forewords the rest of the book is so excellent that you can return to it later when you are familiar with his style which is quite different when he gets down to practicalities.

Dr. Roth is not afraid to quote from or recommend other sources of information all of which are good even though the publication date is 1988 and there are later books on the subject (which doesn't make them better of course), most of which you can find on Amazon! He has the prerequisite of all the best practical authors, if he doesn't have the information - he knows where to get it then shares it.

Dr. Roth extolls the photography but this is the weakest part of the book, the originals were no doubt good but owing to the particularly "flat" reproduction which is quite common in a lot of American publications the detail is lacking; perhaps as suggested above a little colour might have helped but there, 'tis done. The sketches are uniformly very good and except for some plans very clear. (The plans are shown as examples not meant to be worked from here.)

I am an armchair modeller at the moment, having bought a kit, opened the lid, looked, nearly fainted then rushed out to buy everything I could read on the subject.

I'm glad I found this book I think you might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good beginner/intermediate book on ship modeling, 23 Oct. 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
I feel Dr. Roth has accomplished the majority of his objectives for this book. It's inspiring text, through discriptions, techniques and list of resources make it a must have for the beginner/intermediate level modeler in this age old art. The section titled "dandy funk" was quite helpfull in teaching the neophyte some "tricks" in making tools and gadgets. However, it falls short of the mark in the more advanced areas of model ship building such as plans development and scratchbuilding. Additionally, I would of liked to see a few more color photographs, as I would of been glad to pay the additional cost of color pictures in the book for a little inspiration. Lt Kevin Moravek
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it - you won't be disappointed!, 28 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
The book's title is most apt. It is a thorough overview of (sailing) ship modelling. It would equally well have been titled "ship modelling - from concept to completion" because Roth provides a lot of reference information that will be very helpful to the scratch builders who want to draw their own plans or optimise proportions even in the absence of good reference drawings or detailed notes. If you are a kit builder, Roth's guidance can also help one to enhance kits in those areas where most kit manufacturers cut corners by standardising items that never were standard.

Roth's approach to modelling is both skilled and congnitive. His cognition is well illustrated - the book contains a few photographs and a plethora of simple, clear drawings to clarify the text & techniques.

I particularly like the chapters "Dandyfunk" & "Essential Gadgets" where Roth shows tricks & tools to achieve the results that discerning modellers aspire to - some that I haven't seen elsewhere. He offers opinions on a selection of his preferred tools - not all of them are still on the market & some shouldn't be;-)

My only negative criticism of this book is that it was written in 1988 - sufficiently long ago that some of the cited suppliers are no longer in operation, or have changed enough to be unrecognisable - and the citations are all to physical addresses for mail correspondence (what's that? - I want URLs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good practical guide with most interesting references to the original subject., 16 May 2013
By 
Duncan Hale (Harare, Zimbabwe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative, providing a good review of relevant literature and some useful technical suggestions, Although the latter are very useful, detailed and wide-ranging, it is in this area that perhaps more could have been provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ship modelling book, 11 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
Bought this for my brother when he was in hospital. He has been making wooden ship models for years now and even had 1 on show for years for all to see. He said to me he could not put this book down with it being so detailed and having the pictures to go with it so you could look at the pictures to check you were doing it right. There is step by step tips on doing everything that you do need to know whilst building a model ship. He loves this book and says he wish there was something has good has this out there when he first started to build these models has he had to teach himself everything were has this teachs you it all so brilliantly. Recommend this book to first timers and to people who have been building models for years has it is so detailed so you can brush up on methods and could save you time on how you do things with it showing the best way to do it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide For Ship Modelling Virgins, 19 July 2013
By 
Keven Smith "Keven Smith" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
Fascinating just to look through with wonderful examples of the finished product. Full of simple, easy to understand tips and techniques, this book has inspired me to dig out a wooden ship model (Le Hussard) that has been languishing in a cupboard for several decades!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern (Paperback)
A nicely written and well illustrated book. I should give it five stars but must reserve some judgement as I'm a novice model boat builder. All in all though it seems a pretty comprehensive book for those starting out in the hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern
Ship Modeling from Stem to Stern by Milton Roth (Paperback - 1 May 2000)
£12.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews