Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete journey through the British terrorism experience
I finished reading this brilliant book in 2 days. Too much of the literature on terrorism focuses on America. Hewitt constructs on excellent account of the British 'war on terror'. He correctly places terrorism in its historical context (the fight against Irish nationalism) whilst providing the reader with a clear account of what was happening behind the scenes pre...
Published on 21 Nov. 2008 by Mr. M. Y. Almodhahkah

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The British War onTerror
I did enjoy this book, however I felt there was quite a bit of repetition.

A good starter book for someone wishing to find out more on terrorism in the UK, however for someone looking for a more in-depth study, I would not reccommend this particular book.
Published on 6 Feb. 2012 by Natalie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete journey through the British terrorism experience, 21 Nov. 2008
By 
Mr. M. Y. Almodhahkah (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The British War on Terror: Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism on the Home Front Since 9/11 (Paperback)
I finished reading this brilliant book in 2 days. Too much of the literature on terrorism focuses on America. Hewitt constructs on excellent account of the British 'war on terror'. He correctly places terrorism in its historical context (the fight against Irish nationalism) whilst providing the reader with a clear account of what was happening behind the scenes pre 9/11.

Hewitt wipes away the cobwebs of the biased media discourse and shows how foreign policy has motivated terrorists, whilst criticising the Blair government for having pandered to public opinion, rather than get to grips with the long-term structural forces that have given rise to terrorism in this country and must be rectified to reduce the threat. This is what is known as 'hearts and mind', a concept the author hits upon as the way forward in gaining valuable human intelligence, which has a central place in the arsenal of counter-terrorism responses.

All in all a very good read that is highly recommened to both the student and to anyone interested in knowing the non-tabloid story of terrorism in this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on the subject, 29 July 2009
By 
R. Sabir (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The British War on Terror: Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism on the Home Front Since 9/11 (Paperback)
Out of the many book's I have read on the subject of militant Islam and state responses, this is possibly the best one. The author provides an excellent historical account of terrorism in Britain and thoroughly explains the current threat without using academic jargon that loses the reader in a sea of complex terms and concepts. Hewitt's book is a `must read' for any person wanting to comprehend the `true' nature of the militant Islamism, a threat that is extremely misrepresented by the press and politicians, respectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The British War onTerror, 6 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The British War on Terror: Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism on the Home Front Since 9/11 (Paperback)
I did enjoy this book, however I felt there was quite a bit of repetition.

A good starter book for someone wishing to find out more on terrorism in the UK, however for someone looking for a more in-depth study, I would not reccommend this particular book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British War on Terror: Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism on the Home Front Since 9/11 (Paperback)
as starred brilliant academic book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars delivered as advertised, 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British War on Terror: Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism on the Home Front Since 9/11 (Paperback)
delivered as advertised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the point..., 2 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Pj Clarke (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The British War on Terror: Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism on the Home Front Since 9/11 (Paperback)
If you are interested in any way in the subject this book concentrates on; then buy it. An excellent, no nonsense read that fascinated me. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The British War on Terror: Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism on the Home Front Since 9/11
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews