Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book deciphering the enigma of the EU, 8 July 2005
By 
Campbell Griffith (Westerham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
I found the book totally absorbing with its clear explanation of this extremely important and complex subject that is usually confused by coded Euro-speak. Such a well written and researched work leading to compelling conclusions is a pleasure to read and revisit.
The results of the recent Referendums in France and The Netherlands in conjunction with subsequent events show how sound the authors are in their analyses and arguments. Some people may be confused by the odd reactions of the political elite of the European Union to the 'No' votes. This book explains the origins and culture of the EU which makes it easier to understand the detachment of the Euro elite from the norms of democracy.
Having read university law degree modules on UK and EC constitutional law I was intrigued by a paradox. The general lack of knowledge and discussion of the development of the EU exists in spite of the fact that it increasingly controls our lives standing in place of many of the previous functions of the UK Parliament. But the British people have not been consulted in a Referendum since 1975. How can this be in a liberal democracy?
Furthermore, anyone who criticises the EU seems generally to be labelled 'Eurosceptic' which implies the critic is innately biased against European people (xenophobic even) and is incapable of forming a balanced and objective opinion. This strategy seems designed to prevent open debate and, if so, it has been extremely successful. But, why are discussion and dissent so discouraged in a liberal democracy?
'The Great Deception' fills a void in current public literature on the subject by explaining how the EU has evolved by stealth and the unswerving dedication of its original founders: Arthur Salter and Jean Monnet. Democracy was distrusted and politicians were despised. The ingenious solution was to devise a self perpetuating secretive supranational bureaucracy that would construct the United States of Europe by slowly acquiring powers from the nation states by a process of osmosis. Bureaucrats would lead the way.
Exactly what the goal is eludes definition as the 'European project' is a path to the United States of Europe which is constantly reinvented when it meets resistance and is protected by myths and metamorphosis. The "Monnet method" eschews public discussion that would inconveniently lead to seeking a democratic mandate; referendums so often go wrong.
The book explains how the façade of democracy hides the activities of the law making process in the EU. The unelected Commission has the exclusive right to initiate new laws - which is a key to development control. It is supported by the powerful bureaucratic 'high priests' of the Committee of the Permanent Representatives (Coreper) who organise the highly complex process of drafting and promoting new legislation. The proposed new laws are often little understood by others including ministers and the parliaments of nation states. Indeed, the UK House of Commons Committee that decides what EU legislation can be discussed by MPs even meets in secret.
A senior Government Minister tells us that the Constitutional Treaty is "Just a tidying up exercise". If that is the case, the result of the Referendums in France and The Netherlands can be interpreted as rejecting the current consolidated EU Treaties as they stand. But, yet the discredited and unaccountable organisation goes on regardless - business as usual. The book will assist in understanding this strange phenomenon.
The long and awkward gestation of the EU is charted with its successes and failures described in some depth and detail. The Chapter on 'Why de Gaulle Kept Britain Out' is illuminating and the Chapter on 'The Real Deceit of Edward Heath' is profoundly shocking. The trials and tribulations of Margaret Thatcher, John Major and Tony Blair are depicted in colourful detail that I found fascinating and informative. I had always been perplexed by some EU related events and this book painted in many missing parts of the picture for me.
I would recommend this book to everyone and in particular to the so called Euro-philes who may find it a blinding light on the road to a better balanced understanding. It certainly should be placed in every public library and place of learning in order to give everyone an opportunity to discover how they are governed. If there is a text which puts forward the contrary view with such cogent clarity I would like to see it on the shelf too but most Euro-philes seem oddly silent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Great deception, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. J. J. Roebuck (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
Very revealing . The aim of the European politicians from the start was the complete unification of Europe and British politicians deceived the population with lies that it was just an economic and trade group. This means ,because of the lies, the whole system is undemocratic and will collapse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and sharp look at the history of the EU, 8 April 2007
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
This is the most important book that I have read. It provides an exhaustive history of the EU combined with a coherent and cogent series of arguments that persuasively describe how and why it was established and continues to operate against our national interest.

This book has been described as polemical by some of the other reviewers; perhaps so, but that does not make the content incorrect or the analysis wrong. The text is, in places, rather hard going owing to the level of detail but this does serve to underline its intellectual rigor. The final chapter provides a wonderful summary of a book that someone needed to write and everyone in the UK should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pass the blood pressure tablets, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
A genuinely fascinating read, it provides so much background information to the current issues within the EU that no one who follows politics should miss it. It is revealing that so much that is held to be true and obvious by those who favour the EU simply turns out to be a façade once examined. The almost complete lack of control by the Council of Ministers, the failure to comply with their own laws when inconvenient etc .

If you want to find out how successive generations of UK politicians have had rings run around them by the EEC / EC / EU and often lied to both Parliament and the public you need look no further.

On the other hand if you want to ensure that your blood pressure stays within acceptable limits find something which is less likely to make you angry.

The only negative point I would make is that it ends in 2005 so misses the current crisis, if there is ever a new edition I will be at the front of the queue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Deception, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
This is a facinating history of the EU. It should be compulsary reading for every politician or those contemplating a career in politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading in schools...and Westminster, 29 Oct 2012
By 
R. I. Hicks "foxbarn" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
Mind boggling. And we all thought our politicians were clever.

Many are stupid, a proportion are treacherous...and those two groups make up the majority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Deception: a wake- up call, 30 Jan 2008
By 
B. J. Roozendaal (Amsterdam, Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
`The Great Deception' reads like a John LeCarré spy thriller. From its inception, the European project has been the biggest con game in town, its beneficiaries being the weak economies in Europe's garlic belt, led by France.
From the wholesale destruction of Britain's fishing industry and agriculture to the myriads of nauseating bureaucratic regulation killing off small businesses, the book sets out in almost irritating detail how, each step of the way, politicians who did not have a clue what they were up against, signed away, bit by bit and parcel by parcel, their national sovereignty, all the time not even pretending, but actually believing they were acting in their country's best interests.
In doing so, they wilfully destroyed people's livelihood, reminiscent of the 1930's period of collectivisation in the Soviet Union.
A salutary warning to those who think freedom and democracy can only be destroyed by a coup d'état or foreign military occupation.

B.Roozendaal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential History, 20 Sep 2013
By 
Brian S. Meredith "Brian" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
This book is essential reading for everyone, regardless of attitude to the EU, as it is probably the most detailed and comprehensive history of a long saga which has hitherto been heavily veiled in mystery and misconception. Even if you are pro-Brussels, don't be put of by the polemic sounding title. This book is no jingoistic journalistic rant, it's a meticulously researched and fully referenced work of history. But it is inescapably a story of intrigue, backroom deals, secret agendas, false assurances and broken promises. If you are even slightly interested in how Great Britain was transformed into 'the UK', you really must read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So who's kidding who, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
Our government keeps telling us that 'this is the right thing to do'. I challenge anyone to read this account of events leading up to the 'Common Market' 'EU' and all the other bureaucratic mess we have ended up in and not be very angry. We are commonly advised that Winston Churchill thought the idea of a 'United Europe' was a good idea BUT the speech he made at the end of the war goes on to say 'but this is not for the United Kingdom!' strange how so many things are misrepresented to us Brits by our own government. There are so many facts revealed in this book. Every quotation, fact, twisted or slanted truth, exaggeration or mis quotation is referenced to the speech, document or point of origin. This book will open your eyes about the OTHER TRUTH, the truth we are not expected to know about. Well worth a read just to make you angry. Excellent and factual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The information in this book should be known to every UK (and EU) citizen - its disturbing what goes on behind our backs., 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? (Paperback)
The EU was originally conceived after the first world war because of the huge carnage of men particularly Frenchmen. Some people decided that a'central' government of Europe, would be able to maintain the peace by controlling the production of war. At the time it was coal and steel mainly. Plans began to be implemented then the second world war interrupted. Not long afterwords planning began again. Eventually the planners realised that their plans must be kept secret from the populous as they would not agree their government giving away their countries power to an unelected ' super nation' we know know as the European Union.
They planned to make it appear as a trading block - The Common Market - just what the people would naively vote for.
And that's exactly whats been happening.
Very well written book. The investigation must have been enormous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ?
The Great Deception: Can the European Union Survive ? by Richard North (Paperback - 17 Mar 2005)
Used & New from: £9.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews