Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration
Summary: A personal journey which challenges, informs and inspires.
While this book gives a personal account of one man's fall into the lion's den of self-destructive arrogance and media victimisation it also reveals that a greater power is at work which can, if responded to, bring true freedom and release in whatever circumstances we find ourselves. I particularly...
Published on 2 Mar. 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars long monologue about a man who thinks only of himself and is always unbelievable
This writing by Aitkin seemed to annoy me right from the start. It was difficult to believe anything he said making it a very shallow book and boring too. It is a book that is only about himself, what he said and how he responded to the inevitable repercussions of a powerful then cross man who has been found out. The characters around him obviously make such little...
Published 18 months ago by Christine Makin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful read, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pride and Perjury: An Autobiography (Paperback)
I read Aitken's book on John Henry Newton and became interested in his story. I am glad that I bought his autobiography, as it is also a great story of amazing grace. At first, I was wondering if he had really done anything wrong, but as the story continued, I have been fascinated about the underlying sin of pride that he has identified and wonder if we all have some pride that we need to repent of in our lives. Gave me pause for introspection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pride and Perjury: An Autobiography (Paperback)
Book in very good condition, delighted with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent giving us the real truth about journalists from HELL., 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pride and Perjury: An Autobiography (Paperback)
my money on newspapers. the Journalits concerned were people from HELL and they still are They have NO compassion nor do they care what they do to folk. They all should be put in prison the worst kind of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect humility, 13 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Pride and Perjury: An Autobiography (Paperback)
That Jonathan Aitken has had an interesting life is undeniable, and his biography is predictably compelling. Of course he attempts to absolve himself from the most damaging of The Guardian's and Granada's calumnies, his line being that the one lie he did tell (about the 'unethical' payment of his bill at the Paris Ritz) was only to maintain a front of umimpeachability in the face of the far more serious, and false, charges of pimping and arms dealing. How much of Aitken's explanation you want to believe is up to you, but we haven't heard his side before and it's fair to let him tell it.
*Pride and Perjury* is also about Aitken's spiritual journey from proud, arrogant old Etonian businessman to contrite, humble Christian. Or so he would like to think. The trouble is, his supposed humility before God's will is just a different kind of hubris; he surrounds himself with prayer groups of Alpha-course charismatics and other 'fallen' achievers (like Charles Colson of Watergate notoriety), who convince him that his troubles are all for a reason and that God has much bigger plans for him when he gets through them. Assured of a great future as God's exemplary prodigal son, Aitken's ego is more inflated than ever. As is typical among evangelicals, it seems that the most compelling (if subconscious) argument for God's existence is that 'nobody as wonderful as me could have come about by accident'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pride and Perjury: An Autobiography (Paperback)
This book is amazing . You learn so much how evil british people can be and how mean the press is they should makes laws to prevent such things happening. We should all learn a lesson in kindess here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pride and Perjury: An Autobiography
Pride and Perjury: An Autobiography by Jonathan Aitken (Paperback - 2 Oct. 2003)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews