Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for children in grief or just before
a lovely story. I lost my wife [34] to cancer Oct 13 '00, We have 3 children, 2, 8 amd 13. The middle one loves the book, as the younger will too, I am sure. It is also available in soft cover for under £2. It may be hard it you are affected personally - but DO find a copy and but it for the children, for now or later. Robert rjh39@yahoo.com
Published on 30 Nov. 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice story
i bought this to help my 7 year old understand what happens after death of a family member and to explain why they cant come back. which the book does , it is a lovley story , however a bit religious near the back of the book, and dissapointing that for a childrens book the pictures are black and white.
Published on 7 July 2010 by a


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars For this reason I would recommend this little book, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Water Bugs and Dragon flies
Explaining Death to Young Child.
Death has taken the place of sex as a taboo subject and at a huge cost to the wellbeing of children. Children are not immune from the experience of death either from an older relative or sadly occasionally from someone closer to their age.
From teaching I have not only been aware how the subject is avoided but also how when it is discussed sensitively and age appropriate children respond with relief, yes and often tears, as at last they are given space to express their fears, misplaced guilt, pain.
If only the subject was approached before they face these issues, they would at least have some language to express themselves and permission to do so.
For this reason I would recommend this little book.
There are other books, both for children and parents but this is a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One big flaw..., 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to help explain death to my three year old. I guess part of the problem is that I don't have Christian beliefs about heaven and didn't realise that this book is more about that than death. It is a story about waterbugs who leave the water and don't come back and it turns out they are actually becoming dragonflies... the main flaw here I think is that there isn't actually any death involved which is a flaw in a book about explaining death. I guess if you believe you don't really die and simply fly up to heaven its spot on, but if you don't it doesn't help at all... something to bear in mind if you're thinking of buying it. On a more practical level, this book is aimed specifically at younger children, but it has very plain line drawing illustrations, no colour and big chunks of text on each page so not ideal. If you want a book about metamorphosis or indeed surface tension of water this is okay, but if you want one about death - you won't find it in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterbugs and Dragonflies, 20 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Waterbugs and Dragonflies (Paperback)
Although this booklet is written to help explain death to children I have found it a very good resource for all ages. It offers hope and comfort and the explanations of how to use this book are a wonderful guide to anyone supporting the recently bereaved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent analogy, and easy to understand!, 23 May 2010
By 
Mrs. M. E. A. Young (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book, although small, is perfect for the job it sets out to do - explain death to children. It doesn't bring religion into any arguments, but explains death in a way that can accomodate either religion or non belief. I have been very impressed by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful resource, 8 Dec. 2009
A very useful book to explain death and dying to children up to 12 or so (depending on the child). It can be read to the child or the story told from memory. It's also possible to include the Christian message contained at the back or to leave it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loss, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Waterbugs and Dragonflies (Paperback)
Fantastic little book! My grandchildren, age 3 to 9 were enthralled by the story. Having experienced the death of a pet dog and some members of their family, they read the prayer at the end a few times, inserting the names of their lost loved ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor analogy, 31 Aug. 2010
The story is an oversimplification of a dragonfly's life cycle. The comparison with religious notions of an afterlife doesn't work for me and some of the notes at the back of the book horrified me with their bizarre assumptions. There are many much better books dealing with the same theme e.g. Frog and the Birdsong by Max Velthuijs, Gentle Willow... by Joyce Mills.Frog and the BirdsongGentle Willow: A Story for Children about Dying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant book for difficult times, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
Katherine A. Garner "KittyK" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterbugs and Dragonflies (Paperback)
This book helped me explain to a beautiful 3 year old young girl where her mummy went. It helped her get to grips with the fact she will never see her again, but gave her hope that Mummy is ok, she is still looking down on her, she still loves her and can still hear her wishes. Children need some solid understanding of how things are, and as death is so difficult to describe because we don't know ourselves, this book just gives adults some solid basis to try to explain what even they do not understand, at a time when everyone is looking for answers and trying to make sense of the senseless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this to read to my 3 year old boy after my Dad passed away. He was very close to his Papa and didn't understand at all why he couldn't visit him anymore or why his Papa was no longer visiting him and went through quite an angry phase. This book was recommended to me by the Hospice and has greatly helped my little boy understand and 6 months on he still asks for me to read this to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very simple and sensitive, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This very simple and very gentle book is ideal to introduce the idea of loss and someone/something going to another place.ht eonly negative is the black and white illustrations,wish they had been in colour,but it is to keep costs down i suspect.otherwise it is a perfect short story for children using waterbugs and dragonflies as a lovely metaphor for the change and loss of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waterbugs and Dragonflies
Waterbugs and Dragonflies by Stickney Doris (Paperback - Dec. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews