Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Complex yet accessible, it tells what some might assume to be a dry story in a compelling, compulsive manner. For those of you who want to see behind the headlines and get the truth behind officialdom's lies, this is your book. It should be in every home in the country. It's just a pity that sloppy proof-reading let several...
Published on 1 Mar. 2004 by Charles

versus
33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Secret History of the European Union
This is a superbly researched and detailed account of Britain's political relationship with Europe. Columnist Christopher Booker and former Brussels researcher Dr. Richard North, are uniquely qualified to reveal a remarkable story of nothing less than lies about the European Union from Britain's own leaders. To many this is not exactly a new conclusion, but the authors...
Published on 6 Feb. 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 1 Mar. 2004
By 
Charles "mrfreedom" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union (Hardcover)
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Complex yet accessible, it tells what some might assume to be a dry story in a compelling, compulsive manner. For those of you who want to see behind the headlines and get the truth behind officialdom's lies, this is your book. It should be in every home in the country. It's just a pity that sloppy proof-reading let several minor literal and punctuation errors through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Secret History of the European Union, 6 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union (Hardcover)
This is a superbly researched and detailed account of Britain's political relationship with Europe. Columnist Christopher Booker and former Brussels researcher Dr. Richard North, are uniquely qualified to reveal a remarkable story of nothing less than lies about the European Union from Britain's own leaders. To many this is not exactly a new conclusion, but the authors have provided convincing evidence with a thorough and fascinating description of the major players and the crucial events.
The book's most important theme is that the European Union has been from its inception, a politically motivated project aimed at integration. Europe has been a construction of remote, idealist technocrats, aware that their project could only succeed by deception since the people would not accept the gradual elimination of the nation state. As a necessity this creation was profoundly and irreversibly undemocratic and even corruption has not been allowed to obstruct progress towards uniting Europe. The European Commission has acted as a successful engine of integration using every crisis as an excuse to advance integration from a purely trading area to introducing a single currency, common foreign policy and defence, and harmonised criminal justice. The extent of collusion by British politicians is amazing. Not only have they failed to protect Britain's interests, but have often deceived the people as to the effect of their decisions. Thus "The Great Deception" is scathing when it finds examples of one of them deliberately and blatantly lying.
A major contribution comes from the book's description of the real damage which has been done to Britain by the otherwise academic "loss of sovereignty". Laws written to benefit usually France and Germany have been strictly enforced in Britain at the expense of our industry and our traditional trading advantages. Increased trade has benefited Europe, but not Britain, and economic growth has never matched that of the US.
Despite its conclusions "The Great Deception" does not simply repeat euro-sceptic assertions. It is a comprehensive and authoritative history of the EU built up from numerous original sources and supported with extensive references. Although very detailed it remains very readable and must be highly recommended for anyone interested in really understanding Britain and the European Union.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched and convincing, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Nicholas R. Hill "Nick H." (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union (Hardcover)
A powerful insight into the who's whys and wherefores of the EU. It can be very heavy going; very little detail of any obscure treaty is left out.
But it shows the depths of deception practiced on the British people from the start of our involvement with the European "project"; deception which still continues to this day.
It explains why so few people in the UK know much about the EU, and why our political class is keen that they should go on knowing so little.
Because the truth about the EU, and the truth about how our politicans have behaved over the last fifty years is far from pleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most important book I have ever read., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union (Hardcover)
This book should be required reading for every university student to understand just what the implications are for being part of the monstrous and bureaucratic tyranny which has, by stealth, collusion, and self deception, overtaken sovereign nations and the liberty of their citizens and subjects to create a pan-European empire headed by an unaccountable political elite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grateful American, 13 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union (Hardcover)
It took awhile but we in America have finally discovered The Great Deception. We have been battling our own Western Hemisphere Unionists for fifteen years, so to be able to read 'how it was accomplished'in Europe has given us a blueprint of the steps that will be taken to bring about a supra-national government on this side of the Atlantic.
Every U.S. president, beginning with Ronald Reagan, has signed so-called free trade agreements, the instrument we have come to realize is the tool for establishing a future Common Market of our three continents. The Unionists here write books and say that the European Union is their model for what is coming to the American continents.
The old joke about One World Government conspiracy theorists seems not as funny as it once was, as we watch regional blocks of countries uniting around the world. The Canadians have joined the battle with us and we fight together through that miracle God gave us, the internet.
Our own first 'coal and steel treaty'was NAFTA, The North American Free Trade Agreement. The second FTA, signed by President George W. Bush and voted through Congress this year by a very slim majority, was CAFTA, the Central American Free Trade Agreement.
Waiting in the wings is the FTAA, the Free Trade Agreement of the Americas. Only Chevez of Venezuela is holding up the works. Once he is gone there will nothing to stop the "economic" union of all the Hemisphere. What will follow this, we are sure, is our own Maastricht Treaty.
Sound familiar, dear British cousins? And this is why we are eternally grateful to the two authors of this magnificent masterwork. It has helped us understand more clearly how the dreadful scheme is unfolding here in America. Whether we can stop it or not is yet to be determined. We love our country with a great passion, as you love your's. Our brave men have fought for our country and for your's, and our past heroes and your past heroes are tied together by patriotic heart strings and by indelible memories. Believe me when I say that many more of us than you'll ever know mourn for you and for England. We watch in horror as with each step you lose more of your Kingdom's precious sovereignty to the dictatorship in Brussels.
But there is hope. And if we win, you too can throw off your chains, and then The Great Deception will be only a momentary nightmare in the long history of our two gteat nations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched, pragmatic and must be read, 7 Nov. 2007
This review is from: The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union (Hardcover)
I am currently re-reading this book 3 years on. It still reads well although the immense shock of the first read has obviously gone.

In my opinion, it is useful to see the EU simplistically - for the purposes of projecting its behaviours - as a club run by bullies/ a gang whose rules are those you have to sign up to in order to join - you don't get to make any changes to the rules and can't look for any charity from bullies. How do bullies act? Well, one key area is: What's yours is theirs and what's theirs is theirs - and as you do more of their bidding, the lies and deceit make it difficult for you to get out. But all along your resources are being drained until you have to find more money from those who can least afford it - in the case of the EU it's us the poor citizens!

If you can see it as a people-focused organisation with it's ground-rules based on bullying, then you quickly realise that whatever the well-meaning of the original idea for European union (although the form of supranationalism is unattractive), the project is a monster that will bring into law even more draconian measures against the population. Soon the already scripted law of treason will be set up as a regulation in law if you speak (or 'think) against the EU.

We are all criminals now because we will all fall foul of at least one of the hundreds of thousands of new laws that have alreday been accepted without debate onto our statute books. The law is set up purely to part us from any money we might have left - not to punish criminals - and to set us all up as criminals so that the state can shackle us. Without the shackles and the armed police how will they be able to quell an up-rising against the impending crack-down on us all.

Political and monetary union? What is the politics of the EU? Do we know? Are we allowed to know? What about the religion of the EU? What is the EU - it's not a democracy - so what is the term for the structure we live with now? It has no tolerance as it imposes its will on everyone so what religion, politics, salary, housing etc will I be allowed to have before I become an enemy of the state?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and well researched - BUY IT NOW!, 3 Aug. 2004
This review is from: The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union (Hardcover)
I have followed Christopher Booker's column in the Sunday Telegraph on and off for some time and so I thought I would be prepared to some extent as to the Machiavellian tactics of our dear masters presiding over us in Brussels and the initial architects of the EU. But no, this is far worse than I ever imagined possible.
This is an intriguing, maddening, and a highly revealing account of how this now gigantic organisation has virtually rendered the UK parliament impotent to the diktats and whims of an unelected elite. What is most absorbing is the account of how successive UK governments have deceived and sold out it's electorate without themselves having a real clue as to how to play Britain's hand in the EU. Excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, courageous, enlightened book, 3 July 2014
This review is from: The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union (Hardcover)
One of the most important book i have ever read, to echo another reviewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union
The Great Deception: The Secret History of the European Union by Richard North (Hardcover - 13 Nov. 2003)
Used & New from: £11.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews