Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tHE BEST NUTS AND BOLTS GUIDE TO FILM MAKING AVAILABLE.
Anyone even considering making a feature film or short film should read this book before going any further.
Brutaly honest, informative and at times funny, this book gives you a blow by blow account of how to take that initial spark of an idea all the way through to the premiere screening.
It dispenses with overly wordy industry speak and gives plain English...
Published on 12 Sep 2000 by nrgorton@aol.com

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Irrelevant
Meh, look the simple truth is I bought this thinking it would be helpful.

The problem is the information is 10 years out of date and a lot changes in 10 years, especially the movie industry.

By the most recent copy, not this one.
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by The_Animator


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tHE BEST NUTS AND BOLTS GUIDE TO FILM MAKING AVAILABLE., 12 Sep 2000
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
Anyone even considering making a feature film or short film should read this book before going any further.
Brutaly honest, informative and at times funny, this book gives you a blow by blow account of how to take that initial spark of an idea all the way through to the premiere screening.
It dispenses with overly wordy industry speak and gives plain English advice that is indespensible to the low and medium budget film maker. Come to think of it there's probably a few big budget film makers who should take notice of a few of the writers pearls of wisdom(e.g. Putting aside a little money to spend on treating the crew with beer and chocolate at the end of a long day). It's also very frank about the realities of film making including, in one chapter, discussing the painfull facts about insolvency and bankruptcy. Something that is all too often the end to many low budget film makers dreams of celluloid success.
Because this book is writen by people who have made the mistakes and are not afraid to admit it this makes it worth it's weight in gold to anyone considering following in their footsteps.
Rather than being a series of lectures by the writers on the various areas of production this book, for the large part, uses interviews with industry specialist as their tool to illuminate the reader. They ask all the right questions including getting their subjects to translate technical jargon into laymans terms whenever it looks like things are getting too confusing.
I've worked in the film industry for 15 years and this book still opened my eyes to a lot of aspects of the movie making process I wasn't fully aware of.
In a word "brilliant!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
Being entirely new to film-making, I really needed a book that would sit me down and tell me everything I needed to know. Though not a tutorial on the technical and creative aspects of film-making, it makes you aware of the issues involved in the complete life cycle of film-making and offers sound advice on how to deal with them.
There are also facinating insights into prominent British film-makers: their successes and their failures. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in films or film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Just Keeps Getting Better, 2 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
An excellent guide to independent no-budget film making. I carry my copy round with me! It's one of those books you just keep going back to time and time again.
One of it's best features are the case studies, and attention paid to selling and marketing a film once it's finished - an oft neglected subject, and one which can mean the difference between your film being released and gathering dust on a shelf!
I'm looking forward to the Digital Video update!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Irrelevant, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
Meh, look the simple truth is I bought this thinking it would be helpful.

The problem is the information is 10 years out of date and a lot changes in 10 years, especially the movie industry.

By the most recent copy, not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six stars, 23 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
Great book. Short chapter from different experts in the film business. Great reference, easy to read. Anyone who has any interest in film making will find this book an interesting read. Covers just about every aspect of film making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Guerilla Film makers Handbook, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
A bit more comprehensive than I expected. I bought it for home/ holiday video editing. This book is about film producing on a more complicated scale. I passed it on to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so helpful!, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
I'm doing a media course, and this really is useful!! I am also making films and other things, so this is so helpful as a general guidance to go from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only guide to low-budget filmmaking you'll ever need, 6 July 2005
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
This is, in a word, brilliant. Indie filmmakers Chris Jones and Genevieve Jolliffe are quite remarkable, not only for their achievements in the film industry but also for this wonderful compendium of how-tos and how-not-tos relating to the world of low-budget filmmaking.
Everything is covered in this terrific book from film stock and processing to drawing up contracts and even the perils of casting your mates as actors ! Anything you could possibly want to know about the filmmaking process is included and I was particularly impressed by the relevance of the stories from Jones and Jolliffe's various shoots. You always feel as though the information imparted is intended to teach aspiring filmmakers a few useful lessons rather than to simply brag. There are so many useful tips that I can't begin to put them down here but I do think it's worth mentioning the amount of detail given to contracts and accountants, in other words the business side of the business. When starting out, paperwork can be easily ignored and the authors pay close attention to this, as well as making the subject genuinely intriguing.
I can say absolutely that this book is a necessary buy for anyone serious about making a movie and, from someone who's studied film, it'll teach you more than you'll ever learn at uni and possibly film school. Forget any other publication on the subject-this really is the Holy Grail us hopeless hopefuls have been searching for. I dropped out of a film degree but reading this book has inspired me to return to what I love so there's no better recommendation than that !
The only book that could possibly better this one is the next in the series, the Guerilla Filmmaker's Blueprint. This actually takes you through the process of making a film on a shoestring, holding your hand through every step. So excuse me, I'm just nipping off to buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Item not as described, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
This item should have a CD with it, which supports the book and provides all the vital forms etc for film making. The item was described as being complete and in clean condition, there was no mention of the CD being missing. The book was clean and in good condition and was received promptly, but the integral part of the book, the CD was missing. I have been in touch with Bloomsbury and a replacement CD will cost £18, so unfortunately the book does not represent good value without the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Feb 2004
By 
A. Et Arnold (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook (Paperback)
I am a photographer and my son is a Media Student:we will soon be making epicc films. This book is a perfect starting point for us both. As a pro photographer I can tell that it is written by pros and it is full of useful and inspiring material. A must at any level. It has specifics on lighting, sound etec etc and leaves little room for any improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook
The Guerilla Film Makers Handbook by Genevieve Jolliffe (Paperback - 3 Aug 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews