Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nutty Boys...Crazy Music...Great Book
I didn't realize when i sent away for this book that it was so small.
It really is like something you can put in your pocket.
But don't let that put you off. There is a lot of detail inside.
Interviews with the band members about the making of the album One Step BeyondOne Step Beyond.... (30th anniversary deluxe edition). What the songs and lyrics were...
Published on 9 Oct 2010 by MJEH

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NUTTY BORE
Rarely have I come across a book that's so over-rated by other reviewers. The 33 1/3 series aims to produce analytic yet accessible pocket books on great albums across a range of genres (check out John Dougan's fine study of The Who's 'Sell Out' for an example of how it should be done). Sadly this fails.

The author seems like a really nice man (honest, Terry)...
Published on 21 Jan 2012 by Dr. W


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nutty Boys...Crazy Music...Great Book, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
I didn't realize when i sent away for this book that it was so small.
It really is like something you can put in your pocket.
But don't let that put you off. There is a lot of detail inside.
Interviews with the band members about the making of the album One Step BeyondOne Step Beyond.... (30th anniversary deluxe edition). What the songs and lyrics were about. Who some of the people were on the original album sleeve and inside cover.
A lot of little interesting stories and anecdotes.
All in all it is a little gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey you don't read that....read this!!, 27 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
I can't recommend this book highly enough and suggest you immediately scroll up and click the "Add To Shopping Basket" button. It really is a warts'n'all "behind the scenes" view of Madness' debut album One Step Beyond, that looks at the album not just through rose tinted glasses in a nostalgic way but also from the perspective of it's relevance today.

There are individual chapters dedicated to each song - as well as others giving an overview of the artwork, a brief background to the band etc. There's also a review of relevant B-sides and tracks that didn't quite make the album. Mr Edwards has written it from the perspective of a fan, a collaborator, a musician and much more, with input from all the key players involved, and all credit to him for getting under the skin of the album to the extent that he has.

It's an easy read that you can knock off easily in one or two sittings (took me two commutes!!) but that's not to suggest it brushes over anything or simplifies it - it truly is an in depth analysis of a much beloved album. It does at times get a little technical with it's mentions of the musical structure of different songs but then you'd expect nothing less from a musician as competent as the author. There are plenty of little bits of trivia and anecdotal stories to teach even the most ardent fan something new and it definitely doesn't gloss over any of the facts, even the contentious ones.

The biggest compliment I can pay it is that it left me wishing that Mr Edwards would now embark on a similar project for each of Madness' other albums, such was the quality of this, his first ever book.

I'll close as I started by urging you to buy it and read it if you haven't done so already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written for a book about musicians, 27 May 2014
By 
A Parrott "Polly the Wasp" (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
For people who know the album, and still have even a slight interest in the band. It explains a LOT, even to people like me who have followed Madness for thirty odd years, almost to the exclusion of having a real life. A cracking book to leave in the toilet.

Terry Edwards was the right man to write this, he knows the Mads well enough to be honest and informed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars v good, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
A must for any madness fan. Brought for hubby to read on holiday although very small book. He enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One Step Beyond, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
Bought for my husband to take on holiday and as it was quite small, very handy and not too heavy. He loved this book with it's facts,figures and funny little stories. He has every intention of reading it again, maybe on another holiday. I will be looking out for the chance of maybe another similar book by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars - - - - - cut here - - - - - -, 26 Mar 2010
By 
T. Satchwell (A Tower in the Heart of London.......) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
I have to agree with the other reviewers here...This is a great book.
I've read a few of these 33 1/3 books and this is proabably the best...in that it does the job I expected...goes through
the album track by track. It is not some great intellectual piece with references dotted everywhere..which may or may not be relevent
Read a bit...play a track and make your own mind up..then repeat the process.
Bearing in mind the authors muiscal background..this could have been a very different book...filled with technical music stuff which may have gone over the heads of the punter. But it is just written well..easy to understand..and the observations on song structure are really interesting..something that I think a lot of people would have missed...after all they are just top notch tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad review!, 10 Nov 2009
By 
K.T. (North Yorks, Eng.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
As a fan of madness since their beginnings some 30 years ago I'm updating previosly bought vinyl. The album itself is, as anyone who has it would agree, is an absolute beauty. When I saw this book I thought it would be great to hear how it was 'born'. I wasn't disappointed.... actually sometimes I was. The vast majority of the book includes some great explanations into each song & even breaks down the passport photos on the records sleeve.#I'm sure there's one of a lad who I knew years ago...# Anyway the individual explanations from the band members doesn't disappoint & seems to give you the satisfaction that you now know & could perhaps understand the actions behind the writing. The only disappointment which got frustrating was when the author started to break down some of the songs musically & if I remember rightly even admits to not wanting to bore the reader. Should have gone with his feelings. All in all though he manages to take the reader into the album making it personal & restamping the records status as , in my opinion, an absolute must in any music lovers collection. The book completes the records greatness & it would be brilliant if the author, who has played alongside the band, would lend his hand to the forthcoming reissues of the other Madness albums.
For all Madness fans old & new, this little book is a little gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NUTTY BORE, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Dr. W (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
Rarely have I come across a book that's so over-rated by other reviewers. The 33 1/3 series aims to produce analytic yet accessible pocket books on great albums across a range of genres (check out John Dougan's fine study of The Who's 'Sell Out' for an example of how it should be done). Sadly this fails.

The author seems like a really nice man (honest, Terry). And he obviously knows Madness having been on the fringes of the group after growing up in Hornchurch, Essex, among West Ham Skinheads and Ford workers (there's a nice little vignette on why, in his words, 'Two Tone confused me').

But reading this book is like running into a roadie who's got a few chirpy tales about the making of some songs and wants to tell you all of them in detail over a pint or two. There is no contextual analysis whatsoever. Right at the end we get a paragraph-long epilogue that says 'Madness caught the end of the New Wave/Punk explosion'....and then it's all over.

Addressing the knotty issue of why a Two Tone band, that was part of the biggest anti-racist movement in British pop culture, had a large following of skinhead racists (not really the Nutty Boys' fault) all we get is 'an amusing tale' from Our Terry about how 'a black guy' once auditioned for Madness; apparently he backed out, saying 'You guys play too much reggae, I don't want to join the band!'

That's that awkward issue settled then...In terms of music journalism/cultural criticism it's the equivalent of a cabbie leaning over his shoulder at you and saying 'don't get me wrong, one of my mates is black'.

If you're a big Madness fan who wants an easy read that gives you lots of footnotes to a few of their songs without troubling your brain or feeding your soul, this is for you. But Greil Marcus it ain't. Think Steve Coogan's 'Saxondale' wearing a pork pie hat and you've saved yourself a fiver and an evening of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey you! Don't read that! Read this!, 17 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) (Paperback)
A brilliant book written by occasional Madness collaborator and guest musician Terry Edwards, which gives the full inside track on Madness's brilliant début album One Step Beyond... which is about to be re-issued as a double disc deluxe edition: One Step Beyond.... (30th anniversary deluxe edition)

What Terry didn't know about the album already he discovered in interviews with all the major players. This book is an essential accessory and a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3)
Madness' One Step Beyond . . . (33 1/3) by Terry Edwards (Paperback - 12 Oct 2009)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews