Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2000
Erich Fromm is more 'fully human' than any other author I know of. He considers ideas introduced from many great people of the past (Spinoza, Marx, Eckhardt, Buddha) and identifies a common thread between them. He then uses this common theme in order to state that man has two options in deciding how to relate to this world - one based on selfishness and greed, the other based on love, solidarity, creativity. Anybody who has been influenced by books written by Buddhist authors (eg Dalai Lama, Hanh) will particularly benefit from reading this, although it is probably a more difficult read than these. Fromm raises aspects about the effects our society has on us that we generally don't realise. These effects are very damaging to us as people. The book should help people become aware of their inner nature - the true motives behind their actions.
0Comment| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2009
Words of wisdom, as relevant today as when the book was written, though marred slightly for me by a somewhat dated and naive humanist perspective. Also I found the writing style to be rather dry and heavy going at times. All in all though this was an inspiring read - but it is also depressing when you consider how much worse things have got since the book was written (over 30 years ago). As civilisation goes down the pan, humans are more possesive and materialistic than ever. In this world having has certainly triumphed over being. But we can always work on ourselves as individuals...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I read quite some of Fromm's books over the past few years. They are all fabulous, not only because of his signature sharp and crisp writing style, but also because of his relentless insights into the nature of humanity, our contemporary society and his radical love for man and our true greatness of being....if we should allow it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Thought provoking, as Fromm always is! This work is liberating, pointing to the shallowness of so-called consumerism and it's part in our enslavement and alienation under the reins of capitalism.

I think this book should be read in conjunction with Jean Baudrillard's 'Consumer Society: Myths an Structures'
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
This book set me on a path to better understand the world and maybe just maybe help improve it. Absolute must read!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
Excellent - written a while ago but still fresh and relevant - the best book that I have read this year so far (April 2009)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
This is a wonderful read, only 4 stars instead of 5 because some of it is dated but as most of the ideas are timeless much to learn from this book in any way. How depressing to think how much worse the world got since this was written. But maybe, just maybe after the crash we can built up a society more keen on being?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
Came on time and as described. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
One of the best books ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)