Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turns Classical Guitar In The Best Companion
I am at exercise 28, the book has 150 exercises. If you have luck and can buy well made guitar, a new world of guitar music opens with this book. You will discover that guitar is one of the most thankful instruments. Unlike piano you can control every tone and you can play chords unlike violin. By careful reading the book you can teach yourselves alone. Exercises sound...
Published on 18 Dec 2011 by Borut Jurjovec

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a "solo" beginners book
I am not going to say the book is not a very complete beginner's guide to guitar playing, because it is, but clearly you need a teacher with you. In fact, the book is thought so you have a teacher's help in following the lessons (you will realize it from the text when you start reading it).

I bought it as a present for my boyfriend who is starting to learn to...
Published 20 months ago by Sai


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turns Classical Guitar In The Best Companion, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Borut Jurjovec (Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
I am at exercise 28, the book has 150 exercises. If you have luck and can buy well made guitar, a new world of guitar music opens with this book. You will discover that guitar is one of the most thankful instruments. Unlike piano you can control every tone and you can play chords unlike violin. By careful reading the book you can teach yourselves alone. Exercises sound incredible nice, so from the beginning you are rewarded with beautiful music and you can forget audio equipment and records. Pedagogic method through the book is superior. Selling books like that makes Amazon great shop, it can' t be bought in Slovenia. In short, great contribution in enjoying music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A First Class Tutor for Classical Guitar, 1 April 2010
By 
S. Johnson "sijon" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
When I received this book and opening its covers I was thrilled; just browsing through the pages I could tell this is going to be a great book and to echo the end statement in the Preface to the Fourth Edition,'...you are in for a treat'. I wanted a complete all in one book which takes you from the beginning again right through to an advanced stage and this is THE book to have. The book recommends a Lesson spread over a period of 4 weeks and there is 26 lessons! These are, as follows: basic technique; right hand technique; beginning to read music; notes on the frets; notes,rests and ties; more advanced counting; notes and review; completion of the first position; intro to chords; music in two lines; ligado technique; dotted notes; the second position; musical indications; the third position; new time signatures; the fifth position; the full bar; scales; melody and arpeggio; ornamentation; the seventh position; contrapunctal music; harmonics; advanced techniques and effects; completion of the fingerboard. In addition, there is music pieces for guitar ensemble, 18 pieces and an additional repertiore of 10 pieces. The book comes with a good quality CD containing 40 pieces.
If you are starting Classical guitar or need a refresher then this has to be the definitive book to own and use.
You will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Classical Guitar Tutor, 23 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
My guitar teacher recommended this book to me to wean me off guitar tab and onto reading musical notation. It is a great work out for your technique if you are learning classical guitar. The pieces are reasonably satisfying and enjoyable to play although to be honest not the kind of music I would choose to listen to personally.

The book is in its fourth editon which tells you lots of people are buying it so it must be doing something right.

The study notes for each piece are helpful but hardly ever give a target speed for playing which I think would be useful. Nearly all the exercises (but not the pieces) are written with a second guitar line which is pointless if you are just learning on your own - although you could practise the second guitar line as well I suppose just to get the most out of the book.

If you are beyond the complete beginner stage the first six or seven lessons may be too basic for you but there are 26 lessons in the book to keep you busy for a while - actually for two years according to the introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Guitar Player's Bible, 14 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
Whatever your style of guitar playing, this is a must have. I bought this book mainly to ween myself off tab and to improve my sight reading ability, however going through it there are other aspects of my playing that this book has helped improve, in particular technique. It is also excellent as a refresher for the basics, something that is well worthwhile doing.

I particularly like that the emphasis on each subject is 'doing', with plenty of exercises to help you build up your skills. I would also recommend the use of a metronome to help get the timing right.

The book contains 26 chapters, and the author reckons you should spend a month on to get it right. That gives you a book that will keep you going for over 2 years.... Well worth the money and the best guitar book you could ever - or will ever - buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keeps me practising, 31 Dec 2011
By 
L. Greenwood (essex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
This book has really kept my interest in the guitar alive .
The fact that it has a cd to compare your playing with a pro,is great!
The book is well assorted , would highly recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
This book is great for beginners. The author writes in a way that is clear and easy to understand, and there are enough exercises on each page to make sure that you have plenty of practise before moving onto the next chapter. My guitar teacher uses this book alongside his lessons and I am sure that it is easier to follow if you are also having lessons, rather than just teaching yourself. Having said that, this book is just as good for those who are teaching themselves, as everything is clearly explained throughout. The cd is a real bonus. Apparently this book takes about 2 years to work through, which I can understand if you are doing as much practise as is suggested, so it's good value too.

Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost great, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
I use the Noad book to teach guitar, it goes right from the very basics up to some really advanced pieces. The addition of a CD is great. The only problem with this edition is that the font of the text and chapter titles has been altered from the earlier editions and now to my eye to pages look a little more crowded and a little less elegant in their presentation. Only a minor gripe - if you're looking for a guitar tutor book for classical guitar, go for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A near perfect gateway to classical guitar..., 23 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
Back in about 1992 I proudly got distinction at grade 4 classical guitar... unfortunately that was the height of my progress as, for one reason or another, I let things slip. About 7 years ago I picked up guitar playing again, focussing on blues. I've progressed since then, but deep down I missed classical playing and last year I bought this book to try to re-find those skills.

I doubt there is a better book out there for learning classical guitar. It will take you from scratch to a very proficient level of playing. For a complete beginner, it could be a slight slog through the theory at the start, learning notes and note lengths etc. But how can you avoid this? Also on the duller side, there are lots of exercises early on and I admit I didn't give them the attention they deserved; as a beginner you probably should be more diligent in order to ensure good technique. One observation: lots of talk about rest strokes and free strokes... yes learn the difference and practise both, but playing pieces using rest strokes is harder, so you may like to balance practising that important technique with progressing through the book using mainly free strokes, otherwise it could get frustrating.

It takes a little time to work through that theory and those exercises, but once you reach the first actual pieces the satisfaction levels quickly grow. The first two tunes are spanishy, then there are some which are more baroque in flavour... I love both styles and, as the weeks go by, more and more pieces will fall into your fingers and you'll find yourself learning positions ever higher up the neck. The book leaves scales til much later... the downside of this is that you get behind with these compared to your level of playing, the good side though is that you will have classical guitar firmly in your blood by the time you reach them, so you'll be well beyond them being able to put you off.

The title is a little deceptive: many of the exercises are duets, but it's not a problem if you are teaching yourself, I just play the first guitar part, though these exercises would be more fun with two. Also there's a whole lot of music for guitar ensembles at the back of the book... but nevertheless basically the title is true, work through this book and you will be able to play solo guitar. I'm about two thirds through the actual tuition (about half way through the book) and would guess I'm back at around grade 3; by the end of the book I'd guess you've reached grade 5 or 6 and are ready to go on to book 2. So I still have a long way to go.

I've written a shed load of reviews on blues guitar tutors... and I really enjoy playing blues, both electric and finger style, and hope I always will, but I love the purity of classical guitar, its diversity and the paradox of its complex simplicity. If you also want to play, you will have to learn theory and to practise dull exercises however you choose to learn... if you can wade through those first heavier sections of this book, then you'll emerge into chapters with pieces which sound fantastic, even at the early levels, and which will keep you hooked.

For me, this is the consummate classical guitar book, polished through 4 editions and now ready to open up the classical guitar to anyone willing to put in the work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a "solo" beginners book, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
I am not going to say the book is not a very complete beginner's guide to guitar playing, because it is, but clearly you need a teacher with you. In fact, the book is thought so you have a teacher's help in following the lessons (you will realize it from the text when you start reading it).

I bought it as a present for my boyfriend who is starting to learn to play guitar on his own. I have musical education and the fist thing I thought when I opened the book and saw all the musical sheets is that you need basic musical theory to really understand it. Or make a huge effort to learn it on your own.

Long story short. Very good book, but not a basic beginners one....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frederick Noad - Solo Guitar Playing 1, 28 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Guitar Playing, Book 1: A Complete Course of Instruction in the Techniques of Guitar Performance [With CD (Audio)] (Paperback)
For both the student with a teacher and for the self-taught, this is a first class tutor. Very well structured and, combined with part 2 of the course, will enable the student to become a competent player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews