Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent self-teaching book for classical guitar
This book is suitable to learn side by side with classical guitar lessons, or as a stand alone for self teaching. It offers a wonderful introduction to the best of classical guitar with none of the usual corny tunes that guitar lessons inevitably impose on a beginner. Tablature combined with standard music notation help the student to learn to read both systems, something...
Published on 6 May 2002

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as others in the series
I have both Mr Willard's `Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos' and `Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Pieces' Both books have very similar pieces but `Pieces' is far better balanced to me, far more rewarding overall.... With one exception the Tarrega piece in `Solos', for a beginner it's what it's all about, so tuneful and yet so simple! Just wish it was longer and progressed. So...
Published on 3 Jun 2006 by Harrym


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent self-teaching book for classical guitar, 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
This book is suitable to learn side by side with classical guitar lessons, or as a stand alone for self teaching. It offers a wonderful introduction to the best of classical guitar with none of the usual corny tunes that guitar lessons inevitably impose on a beginner. Tablature combined with standard music notation help the student to learn to read both systems, something not always encouraged by classical purists. The accompanying CD gives considerable help in improving quality of play, and is achievable with practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' for all lovers of guitar, 27 Oct 2003
By 
A. Kerensky "FRSA" (Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
A truly wonderful collection of classical guitar music. The pieces get increasingly dificult as you progress through the book, this is however not a method for classical guitar but would work great with any of the standard methods out their such as Noad. The last 10 or so tunes are approximately grade 3 to 5 standard. I think this is a book you would expect to find in any classical guitarists library espiacally new/1st year students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as others in the series, 3 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
I have both Mr Willard's `Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos' and `Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Pieces' Both books have very similar pieces but `Pieces' is far better balanced to me, far more rewarding overall.... With one exception the Tarrega piece in `Solos', for a beginner it's what it's all about, so tuneful and yet so simple! Just wish it was longer and progressed. So I've been hunting for more beginners Tarrega pieces ever since, can anyone help.....

The quality of recording on the `Solos' CD isn't as good as that of `Pieces' either.

All in all if like me you are just starting out you just can't go wrong with either of these books but `Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Pieces' is the better of the two and the one to buy first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent addition to the beginners repertoire, 28 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
The first few pieces are a little understimulating, but good practice for the beginner, but the majority of pieces are nice and are set at a level that will definitely test the majority of new players (I think "easy" is a relative term here). If you are only familiar with tablature then it is a nice introduction to proper musical notation, however, the benefit of the audio cd is so that people who only know tablature can also get to grips with timing and speed, which tab just doesn't do on its own (sorry tab readers, but tab really only works when you know the tune you are learning).
All in all a good addition that a beginner will find useful in addition to a proper method of study - there is no tuition here, just pieces of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from Jerry, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
This is the third guitar book I have purchased from Jerry Willard (I've got the Renaissance one and the Fifty Easy one).
I am self teaching and find all three books very good.
For the price, you get a lot of playing entertainment and knowledge for your money.
Starts off simple and gradually steps up the pace.
CD quality doesn't sound great, but it doesn't really matter as you can hear the timing.
There are also five or six 'repeats' of songs in his other books, but again, doesn't really matter as it's all good practice.
I personally am using the tab to play by, but standard notation is there.
There aren't a huge number of easy classical guitar books out there with tab and a CD, so well done Jerry, keep up the good work.
Even when you think you have mastered the song, go back again and look at the fingering and get those fingers in the right place. Also, peek at the classical notation and you'll find certain notes can be left to ring longer etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learner's paradise., 15 Jun 2010
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
This is heaven for a beginner or intermediate guitarist. For me, the best thing is that every piece has both standard musical notation AND tab. Therefore, if you get stuck, you can switch between the two.The musician whose book it is, has done his best to create do-able classical solo's for us. Then, when you have the hang of a piece, you can play along with him on the CD which comes as part of the package. Bliss. Incidentally, if you can only read tab, the CD will give the timings to you once you've familiarised yourself with the notes. Job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Solos, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
I think that this is an excellent product. The pieces are in both guitar tablature and standard music notation and the CD makes it even easier to work out how a piece goes if there is any doubt.
All the tunes are easy to play so this would suit a beginner. However I think the pieces are a good selection and very rewarding to play even for an intermediate player. (Just because they are easy to play does not make them any less satisfying).
Overall I am glad that I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so i bought this book because it had good reviews. i have found the music interesting and ..., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
i have been learning to play for about 4 months and wanted to begin to learn to play some solos. so i bought this book because it had good reviews . i have found the music interesting and just right for a beginner the cd is an added bonus as it helps to hear the pice i am playing to get the timing and rhythm. all round a good book so i have given it 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Jun 2014
By 
W. Holburn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
this has been a very good buy,the compact disc lets you hear how it should be played and the tab makes it easy to replicate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, good selection of tunes of varying complexity, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos (Paperback)
This is good book, good selection of tunes for a beginner like myself. Only gripe is that the CD audio quality is a bit poor, sounds like it was recorded in a public lavatory, but good enough for the purpose though. In short this is worth the money and I would recommend it as a decent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos
Fifty Easy Classical Guitar Solos by Jerry Willard (Paperback - 12 Mar 1999)
10.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews