Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to learn Korean, this is a good book, 3 July 2010
By 
D. Hughes (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've tried a few books, and the Rosetta Stone software, with which to start studying Korean.
So far, this seems to be the best.

It is an updated version of an original book released about 10 years ago, incorporating much feedback from (American) students and teachers. The book isn't as dry as Yonsei University's offering. However, it is still quite technical, particularly the introduction, but is worth persevering with. Once you get to chapter 1, you'll find it is quite a user-friendly book. A particular benefit is that all of the audio files (5 for each chapter: 2 conversations, a set of vocabulary for each conversation, and a short paragraph) are downoadable free-of-charge from the publisher, which are great for listening to in the car.

I would have 2 suggestions for improvement. Firstly, it would be useful to have more audio files, particularly for pattern drills. Secondly, it uses the McCune-Reischauer system for representing the Korean alphabet in the Roman alphabet. The Korean governent did away with this in 2000, replacing it with the much more intuitive "Revised Romanisation of Korean". For some reason, however, academics persist with using the old-fashioned McCune-Reischauer system. Hence, if you go to Korea and expect to read road signs, you would be better off learning the newer system - or, even better still, learn the hangeul alphabet. In the book's next revision, I would want it to use the Revised Romanisation of Korean.

Once I have finished this book, I will buy the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and user friendly textbook, 15 Aug 2011
I bought this after listening to Pimsleurs learn Korean audio course which I would also recommend as a great introduction to the language.
The book is well paced, it doesn't throw too much at the reader at any one time which makes it easier to recall previously learned rules without tripping over yourself and mixing them up. I feel that this is especially important for a language which has such different grammar from English.
I've seen other books which seem to have mountains of information crammed into them. These books didn't appeal to me as I'd much rather a more structured and gradual approach to learning Korean (as I'm learning through self-study) and after completing this book I think that it does that job quite well. I don't mind buying a series of books that increment my knowledge slowly.
One a side note the pages are nicely designed and structured and overall the book looks well, some people obviously won't care about this but when you're studying a difficult subject it can be a welcome attribute of any textbook and makes it seem less arduous to get through.

One thing I would recommend is writing out all Questions and Answers and Narrations rather than just filling in the blanks in the book as otherwise you won't have written out the words enough to remember them properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's was quite good, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've given this product a 4/5 because of it's content, I think there should have been a bit more content for the amount of money I bought it for. But overall, this is a great book to have of you are new to learning Korean and hoping to achieve a high level of fluency :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The book is excellent, but there is no answer key, and it doesn't include a CD (though audio files are available online), 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, this is an excellent textbook, which introduces grammar points methodically and clearly. Except in the introduction, no romanisation is used, forcing you to practice reading Hangeul, and there are quite a few exercises to complete to make the learning process interactive rather than just reading a list of rules.

However, as other reviewers have mentioned, this textbook is clearly aimed at students taking courses at school or university, which is apparent in the lack of CD (the audio files are available online, but how much would it have cost them to include them on a CD), the lack of an answer key, and the fact that a good number of the end-of-chapter exercises are classroom activities. I have followed the procedure to apply for access to the answer keys on the website (including sending a copy of my id in response to an automated email which seemed a bit overzealous/weird) but have not heard anything in response.

So, for what it is it is excellent, but with a bit of tweaking with self-study customers in mind, it would be perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for self study too, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to use if you plan to pick up the basic grammar at home. The audio can be listened to or downloaded from their website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for beginners, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I strongly recommend this book for people who want to start to learn Korean from scratch.
The lessons are all clear.

Though for people who already had a beginning in Korean I wouldn't recommend it, but take the beginning 2 instead.

I went through the lessons quite easily, since I already had some basic knowledge of Korean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love love love it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Integrated Korean: Beginning Level (Klear Textbooks in Korean Language)
Integrated Korean: Beginning Level (Klear Textbooks in Korean Language) by Korean Language Education and Research Center (Paperback - 30 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: £12.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews