Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2011
Richard Rohr is very eloquent in his call for us all to move away from the rationalistic dualistic left-brain mind of Descartes and to recover the contemplative mode of being of the Desert fathers and mothers that has been lost to Christianity.

The book calling for us to live in the naked now in the Presence is so refreshing and invigorating. Let's get out of the mind-frame of Churchianity and get back to the real message of Jesus in living the abundant life of God everyday. How do we do this - by changing the way we look, perceive the world - through a gradual metanioa or even a sudden awakening to what underlies our being. Contemplative prayer and living in the present moment are ways to access this way of being and to discover our true humanity and to realise the non-duality of Christ as both fully divine and fully human.

I could read and reread this book and something new sinks into my consciousness every time. Rohr refers to Thomas Merton, Thomas Keating, Simon Weil, Teresa of Avila, William Blake amongst others who wrote about the mystical knowing as well as frequent mention of the words of Jesus Christ himself. Rohr is a genius at making the Gospel message fresh and universal and brings the message into the 21st Century.

The Wisdom tradition of Christianity is reemerging from its hidden depths and we are being asked to embrace it to change ourselves within - to do the inner work required rather than sticking to ritualism and the neediness of belonging. The depth of the inner life and the journey towards knowing the divine within is what Rohr is pointing at. Simple message but so hard to do with the thinking mind.

'The lamp of the body is the eye.' Matthew 6:22 There are exercises for awakening the seer who perceives the world non-dually in a series of appendices at the end of the book.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
A captivating, insightful read by a highly regarded author and expert in his field. Definitely recommended if you seek to live in the present, with awareness, clarity and mindfulness. A book that truly aligns the head with the heart.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2009
Richard Rohr is one of the finest speakers on Christian 'action and contemplation' I have met (on three retreats in the UK). He comes to Britain most years and to spend a few days listening to him would deepen the spiritual life of anyone, especially those who have given up on the church. The title of this book is incomprehensible until you have read it. He should have given the book a better one. The content is, of course, brilliant, but not always easy to take in. Better is his original "Everything Belongs" so read that first. Best of all google his name and find out when he is next in Britain and spend a week with him. His talks are all on CD and DVD, but he is best heard live.

If you can forgive the confusing title, get this book: it deserves four stars. His talks are worth five stars!
It would be good if Amazon stocked his CDs and DVDs, but you can track them down easily enough through "The Centre for Action and Contemplation" or through "Richard Rohr".
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
'The Naked Now' is a very interesting book and basically describes a different - non-dualistic - way of thinking and of being spiritually 'awake'. It's not necessarily consecutive which means you can read chapters as 'stand alones'. Richard Rohr is a great, world-wide speaker and author, and a Fransiscan monk who is willing to criticise the Church where and when necessary. I am an avid fan.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I bought this for a friend of mine, who has found it positively enlightening. She felt she had been going through a 'spiritual wilderness' and had suddenly seen a light. A thoroughly recommendable book by Richard Rohr, whose writings are much better than his talks.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
I went on retreat to read and grapple with this book. It has changed the way I look at things and my daily rhythm as I seek to rest in God's embrace in the naked now. I have been an active follower of Christ for over 45 years and this has widened my horizons and depend my journey even further.
A good read but one not just to be read, but lived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
I am an avid reader of Rohr's books.

This is yet another of his inspiring and insightful books.

His words are deep but his ability to make difficult ideas simple is his greatest strenght.

A book to treasure and contemplate
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
This is yet another of Fr Richard's books that I lend out to friends who themelves find it useful , so then of course I blithely say "well, keep it. I have another" !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
What a fantastic read,One cannot help but be excited and challenged as one goes through this very intelligent thought provoking book.
I recommend it to every Christian who is serious in their walk with the Lord Jesus Christ.
Read it with serious intent, allowing the Holy Spirit to teach, encourage and convict. Be blessed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Rohr is always worth reading and digesting. This book is no exception. Creative chapters, varied lengths, much food for thought and prayer. Slow reading recommended.....it is one of those books one can return to again and again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)