Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-dualism - Contemplative living
Richard Rohr is very eloquent in his call for us all to move away from the rationalistic dualistic left-brain mind of Descartes and to recover the contemplative mode of being of the Desert fathers and mothers that has been lost to Christianity.

The book calling for us to live in the naked now in the Presence is so refreshing and invigorating. Let's get out of...
Published on 18 Dec. 2011 by M. J. Robinson

versus
2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another load of Bollox!!
If this idiot really did see how the 'mystics see' he would not bother writing this load of bollox in order to, promote his ego and make money IMHO... Stick with 'The Power of Now' by Eckhart Tolle is my advice :)x
Published 20 months ago by David Nicolas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-dualism - Contemplative living, 18 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
Richard Rohr is very eloquent in his call for us all to move away from the rationalistic dualistic left-brain mind of Descartes and to recover the contemplative mode of being of the Desert fathers and mothers that has been lost to Christianity.

The book calling for us to live in the naked now in the Presence is so refreshing and invigorating. Let's get out of the mind-frame of Churchianity and get back to the real message of Jesus in living the abundant life of God everyday. How do we do this - by changing the way we look, perceive the world - through a gradual metanioa or even a sudden awakening to what underlies our being. Contemplative prayer and living in the present moment are ways to access this way of being and to discover our true humanity and to realise the non-duality of Christ as both fully divine and fully human.

I could read and reread this book and something new sinks into my consciousness every time. Rohr refers to Thomas Merton, Thomas Keating, Simon Weil, Teresa of Avila, William Blake amongst others who wrote about the mystical knowing as well as frequent mention of the words of Jesus Christ himself. Rohr is a genius at making the Gospel message fresh and universal and brings the message into the 21st Century.

The Wisdom tradition of Christianity is reemerging from its hidden depths and we are being asked to embrace it to change ourselves within - to do the inner work required rather than sticking to ritualism and the neediness of belonging. The depth of the inner life and the journey towards knowing the divine within is what Rohr is pointing at. Simple message but so hard to do with the thinking mind.

'The lamp of the body is the eye.' Matthew 6:22 There are exercises for awakening the seer who perceives the world non-dually in a series of appendices at the end of the book.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime read, 1 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
A captivating, insightful read by a highly regarded author and expert in his field. Definitely recommended if you seek to live in the present, with awareness, clarity and mindfulness. A book that truly aligns the head with the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite spiritual writer, 28 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
Richard Rohr is one of the finest speakers on Christian 'action and contemplation' I have met (on three retreats in the UK). He comes to Britain most years and to spend a few days listening to him would deepen the spiritual life of anyone, especially those who have given up on the church. The title of this book is incomprehensible until you have read it. He should have given the book a better one. The content is, of course, brilliant, but not always easy to take in. Better is his original "Everything Belongs" so read that first. Best of all google his name and find out when he is next in Britain and spend a week with him. His talks are all on CD and DVD, but he is best heard live.

If you can forgive the confusing title, get this book: it deserves four stars. His talks are worth five stars!
It would be good if Amazon stocked his CDs and DVDs, but you can track them down easily enough through "The Centre for Action and Contemplation" or through "Richard Rohr".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new way to think!, 29 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
'The Naked Now' is a very interesting book and basically describes a different - non-dualistic - way of thinking and of being spiritually 'awake'. It's not necessarily consecutive which means you can read chapters as 'stand alones'. Richard Rohr is a great, world-wide speaker and author, and a Fransiscan monk who is willing to criticise the Church where and when necessary. I am an avid fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recycled Richard, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
This is yet another of Fr Richard's books that I lend out to friends who themelves find it useful , so then of course I blithely say "well, keep it. I have another" !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking book, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend of mine, who has found it positively enlightening. She felt she had been going through a 'spiritual wilderness' and had suddenly seen a light. A thoroughly recommendable book by Richard Rohr, whose writings are much better than his talks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Naked Now by Richard Rohr, 13 Mar. 2013
By 
L. Myers "a believer" (Ringwood. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
What a fantastic read,One cannot help but be excited and challenged as one goes through this very intelligent thought provoking book.
I recommend it to every Christian who is serious in their walk with the Lord Jesus Christ.
Read it with serious intent, allowing the Holy Spirit to teach, encourage and convict. Be blessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spiritually helpful book, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
I am an avid reader of Rohr's books.

This is yet another of his inspiring and insightful books.

His words are deep but his ability to make difficult ideas simple is his greatest strenght.

A book to treasure and contemplate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
Rohr is always worth reading and digesting. This book is no exception. Creative chapters, varied lengths, much food for thought and prayer. Slow reading recommended.....it is one of those books one can return to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See (Paperback)
Richard Rohr's books never disappoint me. This book was prayerful with wonderful insights. Great for anyone interested in spiritual life. Great service and prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See
The Naked Now: Learning to See as the Mystics See by Richard Rohr (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2009)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews