Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For beginner and master
This book starts by explaining the basics of art. Shapes, perspective, light, ,etc. Then gradually builds up to most complex subjects. All the while Chris explains and teaches in an eady, readable manner.

You will draw along with him, and then by the end of a chapter you are given a drawing task which calls upon your newly learned skills.

This book...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. A. Coyle

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great!
This is not the book you think you are buying. It didn't really help me understand more on video game art as it is full of screenshots from video games and also photos from famous pieces of art. It might be pretty but its not useful for sure.
Published 5 months ago by Dimitris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For beginner and master, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. A. Coyle "Lord Midas" (Sunny Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
This book starts by explaining the basics of art. Shapes, perspective, light, ,etc. Then gradually builds up to most complex subjects. All the while Chris explains and teaches in an eady, readable manner.

You will draw along with him, and then by the end of a chapter you are given a drawing task which calls upon your newly learned skills.

This book isn't just for those who want to make art for video games, its also for those who just want to be good at art.

Superb book. Gloriously printed, high quality and full colour. A must for the artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, makes drawing fun and easy., 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
I am an art teacher and I bought this book for my nephew, but I think I will need to pick up a second copy for the classroom. It covers all the basic drawing skills required for a pre-university Art and/or Design course touching on tone, colour foreshortening, scale and perspective....except it does so in a manner that is cool for teenagers, a label my age and apearance prohibits me from earning. Great as a teaching aid and for any avid young artists. My nephew loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift for teen boy, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
My son thought this book was a great gift because it introduced him to art (which he loves) by capturing his attention by the scenes inside related to video games that he was familiar with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great work, Excellent reference, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
This book is a really intuitive introduction in to creative thinking behind art and design in video games. I have really enjoyed the authors take to take example and analyse "classic" paintings and visual art elements and try to impose the same thinking in to the art in current video games. It has personally inspired me to develop my work further. This book would also be very useful for tutors and people teaching digital and game art as reference for students and start ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good beginning book for future concept artists., 6 Mar 2014
This book is an interesting amalgam of past and future as it shows the basics of drawing alongside how these relate to drawing for videogames. It gives practical lessons to follow and the way it uses techniques from a traditional drawing perspective forces the reader/learner to follow each step. As a videogame concept art tutor this is a book which will be invaluable for learners to continue working on their art practice while not in lesson. Recommended for those studying a concept art course or even those who want a new slant on drawing traditionally. If your son or daughter finds the idea of a drawing book boring but cant stop looking at videogames, this would be a good book to capture their interest. It also sneaks a number of artworks in there so they may end up more knowledgeable than you! This is a book about drawing concept art not about others work and so don't expect to simply look at pictures of games. It is a book to use- so remember: paper and pencil are a necessity not an option!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
The book is put into 'levels' so you can work your way through it. I love the many references to my favorite games and how to draw depending on what you want to convey.

For e.g he explains how they move the horizon up or down depending on how you want the viewer to feel, like in Assassins creed they move the horizon high up when you are on ground level to make you feel very vulnerable.

I love this book especially teh section on showing you how to start concept drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for a complete novice like me. When I draw it looks likes babies ..., 21 July 2014
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
Ideal for a complete novice like me. When I draw it looks likes babies first picture.. now I have a bit of hope...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing Basics and Video Game Art, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
I bought this for my son. He loves it and I love it too. It is comprehensive yet easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great!, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Dimitris (Andover, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
This is not the book you think you are buying. It didn't really help me understand more on video game art as it is full of screenshots from video games and also photos from famous pieces of art. It might be pretty but its not useful for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing Basics and Video Game Art
Drawing Basics and Video Game Art by Chris Solarski (Paperback - 7 Oct 2012)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews