Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For beginner and master
This book starts by explaining the basics of art. Shapes, perspective, light, ,etc. Then gradually builds up to most complex subjects. All the while Chris explains and teaches in an eady, readable manner.

You will draw along with him, and then by the end of a chapter you are given a drawing task which calls upon your newly learned skills.

This book...
Published on 19 Dec. 2012 by A. Coyle

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars It is full of nice pictures of games
What it is, is a book about videogame art and pointers on basic drawing lessons. Not a book to LEARN HOW TO do videogame art.

My hubbie bought it to me thinking that it will help me learn how to create art for the game we are doing. Well, nope. It is full of nice pictures of games, that's true, but other than showing you different concepts from different games...
Published 1 month ago by Reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For beginner and master, 19 Dec. 2012
By 
A. Coyle "Coyley" (Sunny Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
This book starts by explaining the basics of art. Shapes, perspective, light, ,etc. Then gradually builds up to most complex subjects. All the while Chris explains and teaches in an eady, readable manner.

You will draw along with him, and then by the end of a chapter you are given a drawing task which calls upon your newly learned skills.

This book isn't just for those who want to make art for video games, its also for those who just want to be good at art.

Superb book. Gloriously printed, high quality and full colour. A must for the artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, makes drawing fun and easy., 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
I am an art teacher and I bought this book for my nephew, but I think I will need to pick up a second copy for the classroom. It covers all the basic drawing skills required for a pre-university Art and/or Design course touching on tone, colour foreshortening, scale and perspective....except it does so in a manner that is cool for teenagers, a label my age and apearance prohibits me from earning. Great as a teaching aid and for any avid young artists. My nephew loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners and professionals alike., 28 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
This book is a treasure trove of useful tips. We're shown how the theory behind classical art is translated to moving, interactive environments in a way that is both very easy to understand and useful, and the author doesn't waste a page. I've learned more from this book about art than I did throughout my entire GCSE/A Level education (that might just say more about our education system though). It goes through the fundamentals, teaches you how to communicate with your audience and effect their emotions through the composition of their environment or even in the way the character moves around.

It also includes tutorials/exercises on drawing each part of the human body, using value, etc. Even if you're not interested in the games aspect, you can learn a lot from it. I'm buying it for someone who's starting to take up painting as a hobby (and has never touched a video game) because it covers so much.

You'll become both a better artist and a better game designer with this book. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It is full of nice pictures of games, 2 April 2015
What it is, is a book about videogame art and pointers on basic drawing lessons. Not a book to LEARN HOW TO do videogame art.

My hubbie bought it to me thinking that it will help me learn how to create art for the game we are doing. Well, nope. It is full of nice pictures of games, that's true, but other than showing you different concepts from different games (not really explained), truth is that is not helpful at all.

The basics are really basics that can be found in plenty of other books on how to draw perspective, and anatomy. It just uses the videogames as a catch for people to grab it. If at least this part was brilliant, then I would have given it more stars. It is lacking and spends several pages showing you videogame characters without even explaining the concepts on them.

Also, it spends a grand total of 4 pages on digital art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift for teen boy, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
My son thought this book was a great gift because it introduced him to art (which he loves) by capturing his attention by the scenes inside related to video games that he was familiar with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
The book is put into 'levels' so you can work your way through it. I love the many references to my favorite games and how to draw depending on what you want to convey.

For e.g he explains how they move the horizon up or down depending on how you want the viewer to feel, like in Assassins creed they move the horizon high up when you are on ground level to make you feel very vulnerable.

I love this book especially teh section on showing you how to start concept drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great work, Excellent reference, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
This book is a really intuitive introduction in to creative thinking behind art and design in video games. I have really enjoyed the authors take to take example and analyse "classic" paintings and visual art elements and try to impose the same thinking in to the art in current video games. It has personally inspired me to develop my work further. This book would also be very useful for tutors and people teaching digital and game art as reference for students and start ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Improved my skills greatly, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
This book is what really taught me how to draw. I wasn't massively intrigued by the video game details, i was however surprised to see the effort put into the drawing basics and anatomy sections - it teaches almost everything needed to know. I am so thankful for picking this up as it has improved my skills greatly. I recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good beginning book for future concept artists., 6 Mar. 2014
This book is an interesting amalgam of past and future as it shows the basics of drawing alongside how these relate to drawing for videogames. It gives practical lessons to follow and the way it uses techniques from a traditional drawing perspective forces the reader/learner to follow each step. As a videogame concept art tutor this is a book which will be invaluable for learners to continue working on their art practice while not in lesson. Recommended for those studying a concept art course or even those who want a new slant on drawing traditionally. If your son or daughter finds the idea of a drawing book boring but cant stop looking at videogames, this would be a good book to capture their interest. It also sneaks a number of artworks in there so they may end up more knowledgeable than you! This is a book about drawing concept art not about others work and so don't expect to simply look at pictures of games. It is a book to use- so remember: paper and pencil are a necessity not an option!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The art novice's dream to video game art, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Basics and Video Game Art (Paperback)
Really detailed practices and exercises inside with good amount of information, ideal book to read for novices who want to be better at art and / or be video game artists :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing Basics and Video Game Art
Drawing Basics and Video Game Art by Chris Solarski (Paperback - 7 Oct. 2012)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews