Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book
This is a brilliant book. I had been looking at some kanzashi tutorials online but the how-to pages in this book are better than all of them. Very clear photos of each stage make it so easy to get going. Plus there is a special section on what to do if a petal goes wonky or your flower is floppy (no sniggering - this is serious stuff!). I made my first one in about half...
Published on 12 Jan. 2010 by Ms Lixie

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lacking in vairation
Lovely book, but a little lacking in substance. Many ideas all very good but basically one style of flower with two minor variations. Still an good one to thumb through and get inspired by.
Published on 26 Mar. 2010 by J. Hales


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Ms Lixie (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book. I had been looking at some kanzashi tutorials online but the how-to pages in this book are better than all of them. Very clear photos of each stage make it so easy to get going. Plus there is a special section on what to do if a petal goes wonky or your flower is floppy (no sniggering - this is serious stuff!). I made my first one in about half an hour and it might not be perfect but it's pretty adorable and perfectly presentable.

One thing to note - you don;t need to be able to sew to make these. Although they are fabric most of the putting together is done with glue. You do need needle and thread at one point but it is only one small step.

There is also a website and a Flickr Group of what other readers have made to lots of additional inspiration is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lacking in vairation, 26 Mar. 2010
By 
J. Hales (W Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
Lovely book, but a little lacking in substance. Many ideas all very good but basically one style of flower with two minor variations. Still an good one to thumb through and get inspired by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 July 2010
By 
Joyce Cranford "Glad" (Knutsford, Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
This is a great book. It is choc a block full of ideas to try and also inspires you to try different things. Good craft book to make things for the home, jewellery, hair ornaments, and bazaars or fetes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kanzashi review, 11 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
To be honest this book is not very inspiring every page is pretty much the same flower only attached to a different item of clothing. It was not a good buy in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful flowers, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
As the 'look inside' function was not available for this book, I thought I would take a chance on it after viewing a 'how to' video clip on you tube and and very glad that I did. Really beautiful flowers using endless combinations of only 3 simple folding techniques can be made to adorn yourself and your home. A very nice book with attractive photos and clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Kanzashi, 16 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
This book arrived this morning and I have already made several flowers. Not perfect, but certainly more than acceptable. I had read through/watched a number of tutorials on-line, but this book has excellent instructions and step-by-step photographs that provide close-ups, so you can see EXACTLY where you have to fold, insert pins, stitch, etc. What's more, the author provides invaluable advice on what kinds of glues, fabrics and embellishments to use for various types of flowers. In short, all the "tricks" gleaned from actually making these flowers. If you are just looking for projects to copy, you could be disappointed because as another reviewer noted, the projects are repetitive and use "just" three folding techniques. But for my money, the real value of this book is as a starting point for your own creativity. Full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kanzashi in Bloom, 9 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
I was so excited to get this book and I wasn't disappointed! Diane Gillilands passion for making flowers comes across in this beautifully laid out book. She has put a lot of thought into the various projects and her step by step instructions are so easy to follow with lots of diagrams and photographs. This book caters for all abilities, from the novice sewer to the more experienced and she encourages you to adapt her ideas and create your own style. Within 2 hours of receiving my copy, I had made my first flower!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 29 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
This book is good for beginners to kanzashi, it shows 3 basic flowers and what you can do with them. I can now make them, so it's sucessful!!! Although I can only make simple ones using this book, it's giving you enough info to go on to more elaborate designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reasonably priced, 30 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
Nice book but lacking in flower variations. The step by step instructions are easy to follow but the designs are very basic. This is a good book to start with but like I said lacks variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give (Paperback)
A very interesting book with techniques I've not seen anywhere else. The flowers are easy to make and you start with squares so it's not complicated to prepare either. Flowers can be made any size with lots of variations and can be used to decorate anything! Recommend as a very good induction to this technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give
Kanzashi in Bloom: 20 Simple Fold-And-Sew Projects to Wear and Give by Diane Gilleland (Paperback - 21 July 2009)
£14.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews