Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for both amateurs and professionals
This book is essential for anybody interested in serious landscape designing. It not only takes you through the stages of the design process, but also gives details of the style and quality of graphics required at each stage. It is suitable for all ability levels, from proffesional to amateur, and is probably one of the best technical landscape books that you can...
Published on 13 Nov 1998

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More suited to a Landscape Architect than a garden designer
Not a suitable book for a kindle, the illustrations are too small to be of any use, even when zoomed-in. Also, cannot be viewed in colour. My own fault, I guess I should have looked at a preview before buying it!
Published 13 months ago by Nick Bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for both amateurs and professionals, 13 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
This book is essential for anybody interested in serious landscape designing. It not only takes you through the stages of the design process, but also gives details of the style and quality of graphics required at each stage. It is suitable for all ability levels, from proffesional to amateur, and is probably one of the best technical landscape books that you can buy.
Everything is highlighted by the use of case studies, which make the the book extremely easy to use and to get the most out of. A really supurb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as having an experienced designer sitting next to you!, 8 July 2008
By 
Graham Booth (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
Despite being six years since the second revised edition was published in 2002, this book is still a cracker. Normally I am a little wary of US publications for use in the UK but this excellent work rises above any minor international differences.

As a newcomer to garden and landscape design, Grant Reid's book will be an invaluable help until I have enough experience to carry out "on auto pilot" the skills he explains. And even then the book will be a useful reference. The subject is comprehensively covered and presented in an easy-to-follow, superbly illustrated style.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to both the enthusiatic beginner and to the experienced landscape designer as a handy reference. The next best thing to having an experienced designer sitting next to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book on landscape sketch and graphic, 22 Nov 2007
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
This book covers almost every aspect of landscape sketch and graphic. It is good for you if you want to learn hand sketch, it is also good for you if you want to create nice CAD drawings. Many of the tree /shrub symbols in both plan views and elevation views are nicely done, they can inspire you to create nice computer blocks for trees and shrubs for plans and sections and elevations.

It covers graphic language and design process, basic drafting, lettering (nowadays almost everyone can do nice hand lettering fonts with computer, but this book is still good for assisting you to select lettering fonts or create your custom fonts in computer), freehand drawings and conceptual diagrams, presentation plans, section-elevations, graphic symbols files for elevations and perspectives.

All the sketches, plans, sections, elevations and perspectives are nicely done. They can be good samples for landscape architecture students, garden design students, architects, landscape architects, urban planners, and seasoned designers.

Gang Chen, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Author of "Planting Design Illustrated," "LEED GA Exam Guide," "Architectural Practice Simplified," and other books on various LEED exams, architecture, and landscape architecture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garden Design Students, 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
This has to be one of the best textbooks on the market. It starts with the basics - how to hold your pencil and pen correctly, and how to use drawing equipment - right through the whole design process to creating perspectives using a digital camera. Chapter 5 on presentation plans is invaluable. I did not think I could draw until I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for Landscape architecture students, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
Ver helpful on how to get to grips with plan drawings and get a good basis for progressing into to developing your own style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
It's a very good book for starting the study landscape architecture. It has tons of graphics that every landscape architect should know and it's a great reference book. I don't know any other book that has this quantity of graphic information on the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!!!!!, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
I simply love this book, it is so detailed and descriptive, it does what it says. I bought this book as a reference guide for a project that i am doing, it covers all areas of landscape design that you can imagine. The author has though this through really well. It is very specific and can be used by all designers for work purposes. I cant see that anyone will find it a problem to understand or read. I love this book and would recommend it to all of those who are looking to translate their ideas onto paper.
well written :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More suited to a Landscape Architect than a garden designer, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a suitable book for a kindle, the illustrations are too small to be of any use, even when zoomed-in. Also, cannot be viewed in colour. My own fault, I guess I should have looked at a preview before buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Landscape Graphics, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
I consider this book a good workand it is indeed a reference for any landscape architect.
Any student of landscape architecture should buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Graphics (Paperback)
brilliant book for anybody learning garden design as it shows the processes and helps with creating graphics, an essential book for any garden designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Landscape Graphics
Landscape Graphics by Grant W. Reid (Paperback - 28 Oct 2002)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews