Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you WANT to draw, this book will teach you how.
I bought this book when it was not long published. It starts with the most basic of concepts, and illustrates them in a way any reasonably competent person can grasp. You are taken through a gradual process, which is fully explained and illustrated. Just as it says on the cover, you will learn how to see, and how to draw what you see. I can't recommend it enough. If you...
Published on 3 April 2011 by Serpicon

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How many views of a box can you draw.
Probably a good instruction book, but just how many views of a box can you draw? I brought it knowing I had a saturday to waste and thought I'd test the theory you can become competant at anything in 5 hours, I got an 1/8th of the way into the book in about 2 hours and gave up. Had I read more of the book first I would have realised that a cafe over looking a lake wasn't...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you WANT to draw, this book will teach you how., 3 April 2011
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
I bought this book when it was not long published. It starts with the most basic of concepts, and illustrates them in a way any reasonably competent person can grasp. You are taken through a gradual process, which is fully explained and illustrated. Just as it says on the cover, you will learn how to see, and how to draw what you see. I can't recommend it enough. If you WANT to learn how to draw well, you should have this book on your shelves. You'll be doing yourself a real favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
Fantastic book; I saw it in the Tate Gallery shop but saved £5 by purchasing it here instead. It's a real classic. I teach drawing skills to children and already used many of the methods that this book teaches, but it has helped me refine my explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and clear, 27 May 2013
By 
Doc Barbara (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
I bought this book to try to improve my drawing, a hobby I have taken up late in life, It is very thorough and goes from drawing boxes (and other basic shapes), with emphasis on the vital need to check whether the box is above or below eye level, through perspective, light and shade, composition, still life, outdoors, figures, children and some of the media to use. I embarked on it with trepidation because of the effort required but am enjoying sketching the various shapes and doing the exercises. There is a refreshing lack of padding and the writer goes straight to the point with plenty of drawings to copy or to inspire my own and I am gaining in confidence and soon, I hope, in skill!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My tip is this is a great book for drawing, 17 Jun. 2014
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
This is a book that nicely goes through the fundamentals and gives tips that can be used everyday with your drawing. As a concept art lecturer I was looking for books to support the learners with their drawings and this book stood out for me. It is helpful and goes through the concepts without being overly complicated. The learners who have used a copy of this have found it helpful and really that says it all. This book covers a lot and if there is anything I would say it was missing it would be possibly digitally versions of the images so the pages would be less worn and some of the images in colour. A book for your bookshelf (though it may not stay there long).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make it this one!, 4 Mar. 2015
I've always loved drawing. I've always been able to draw...a bit. What I've lacked was technique; limbs too short/long, facial features not quite in the right place. This superb book will address those issues for you; just a few weeks after purchasing it, I can almost draw likenesses (just a little more practice). Work through all the examples. They provide the necessary practice, help bring on your skill levels. Don't rush and don't be impatient. The rewards will come. When they do, you'll feel such a rush!
Ten stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG this is so helpful. im twelve years old ..., 31 Jan. 2015
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
OMG
this is so helpful.
im twelve years old and am in the top 5 drawers in the class but now im the first in the school !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
Just what my partner wanted for her art classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great drawing book, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
The book is very well written and very easy to understand. It's easy to learn about drawing as different aspects (i.e. perspective, people, landscapes etc..) are split up into projects, allowing you to learn and enhance your skills within a certain area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
Really the most instruction book helpful since the artist cobers every thing not just his speciality and obviously he is very good at his profesion.
Not just a penchant for various womens features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books)
How to Draw What You See (Practical Art Books) by Rudy De Reyna (Paperback - 30 Nov. 1996)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews