Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not tracing!
Simply put, this is the best book on inking I've read. Don't waste your money on other books, buy Jansen's and Miller's and learn everything you need to know.
The book doesn't stop with instruction on techniques, tools, and materials, but gives you some great tips such as why you should keep your ink bottle in an ashtray!
Anyone who has ever laboured under the...
Published on 10 Mar 2004 by Tex

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor guide
Whilst I wouldn't go as far as the other reviewer here who has given this book 1 star, I would say that I am disappointed in Klaus Janson's guide to comic book inking. For a start, although Mr Janson is an accomplished inker, his style is now somewhat old fashioned, and even for his time, he was somewhat unorthodox. This means that he doesn't have the house style of a...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by M. Duncan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not tracing!, 10 Mar 2004
By 
Tex (Hyde nr. Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics (Paperback)
Simply put, this is the best book on inking I've read. Don't waste your money on other books, buy Jansen's and Miller's and learn everything you need to know.
The book doesn't stop with instruction on techniques, tools, and materials, but gives you some great tips such as why you should keep your ink bottle in an ashtray!
Anyone who has ever laboured under the misapprehension that comic book inking is just 'going over a proper artists drawing with a pen' is finally shown the error of their ways as Jansen and Miller demonstrate what a fine art inking is when practiced correctly. Moreover, this is a DC guide to inking, not a guide to inking DC characters. Once you've read this and got some practice in, you'll be able to ink everything from cartoons to the most cutting-edge comic book characters.
Great text, great illustrations, what's stopping you?
Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor guide, 1 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics (Paperback)
Whilst I wouldn't go as far as the other reviewer here who has given this book 1 star, I would say that I am disappointed in Klaus Janson's guide to comic book inking. For a start, although Mr Janson is an accomplished inker, his style is now somewhat old fashioned, and even for his time, he was somewhat unorthodox. This means that he doesn't have the house style of a Buscema or Neal Adams that would provide the best model for a beginner (I'm also amazed that DC have chosen him for their pencilling guide as well. Janson has virtually no reputation as a penciller). Also, this isn't a very good instruction book. It gives advice on the tips of the trade, and some of the `don'ts' to avoid when inking a page. But it doesn't give very detailed advice on feathering techniques or working out shadow or actually thinking about how to ink a page. What would have been really useful would be exercises in how to do inking, but this book does not have any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didnt teach me much, 22 Sep 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics (Paperback)
This book has all the tips for what materials to use, and the importance of inking. But it reads rather more like an argument for why inkers should get more respect. The pictures that accompanied it were all ancient panels from comics of the fifties and things.

I (and most likely everyone else who selected this) bought this book to learn about inking superhero comic books, and therefore I wanted to learn how to give the impression of depth and realism to muscletone and facial features. I didnt want to learn the thirty ways of making grass standout from brick or study the scratchy pen work of a black and white western. This book I'm afraid, didnt make any considerations for the fact that after inking will come colour. Klaus made mention of one panel where a turban looked like the rocks in the background behind it, and therefore it was not well inked, though he understood that colour after would make it standout and separate it from the rocks. But that was it - not for the rest of the 130 pages of rambling about the inker working to enhance and give clarity to the penciller, did Klaus even touch on how much detail should be given to musculature, or how to give the impression of creases compared to folds in clothing. I learnt more about figure inking in the ten page section in "Drawing Dynamic Comics" by Andy Smith than I did here. I'm just about to move onto the DC guide to Colouring (bought both to bring the total up to free delivery with the hopes of the inking book teaching me how to make my pencils look less flat for scanning to colour, and less like they're part of the background without having to spend £250 on a graphics tablet to ink after I've scanned the pencils in) and it had better not be 100 pages of how to colour with a brush - I dont know an aspiring artist out there who doesnt want to learn how to colour with a computer. You can erase a colour mistake then, but you screw up with a brush, and you're gonna have a page covered in white out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A history lesson in inking, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics (Paperback)
If you're looking for a history lesson on inking styles from the 50's to the 80's then this book is for you
if you are looking for tricks of the trade examples of refined modern inking styles then forget it.
I don't like this book, it failed the first rule of a how to guides, I wasn't inspired to go forth and ink, it made
me angry, buy Wizards how draw the best of basic training, there are lost of examples by a number of
inkers, showing you how to ink in different textures. I'm holding on to this book as a guide on how not to
write a guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics (Paperback)
superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics (Paperback)
I wanted a book that would show me how to create comic heros / draw modern characters. Thsi is not the book for you if that is also what you want. I returned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics
The DC Comics Guide to Inking Comics by Klaus Janson (Paperback - Aug 2003)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews