Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRING.
First i bought 'Draw Comics The Marvel Way' which in my opinion is one of the most important books of the genre. I'm not a huge DC fan but i figured i better get the best of both worlds to stand a chance if i decide to present my work professionaly. Well, what can i say? This book delivers alot of info, not unlike the Marvel book in many respects but in a very different...
Published on 10 Jan. 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of writing
The book has lots of information in written form but not a lot in pictures, the quality is good and the information very useful.
Published 17 months ago by nm connolly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRING., 10 Jan. 2003
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
First i bought 'Draw Comics The Marvel Way' which in my opinion is one of the most important books of the genre. I'm not a huge DC fan but i figured i better get the best of both worlds to stand a chance if i decide to present my work professionaly. Well, what can i say? This book delivers alot of info, not unlike the Marvel book in many respects but in a very different way. Essentially its more advanced than the Marvel book with a more proffesional overview also with great advice on breaking into the proffesion. If your an aspiring comic artist and DC fan then buy this book. If your a Marvel man (or woman!) buy this book so you can appreciate DC,i've had a 180 turn around since buying this book - DC i officially appologise for not appreciating you sooner!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid introduction to the pencilling end of comic books, 22 Oct. 2004
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
"The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics" by Klaus Janson introduces wannabee comic book artists and fans of the art form to a more detailed appreciation of what goes into drawing pages for "Batman" than they will have picked up through osmosis or imitation to date. Janson divides the fifteen chapters in this volume into three parts focusing on Drawing, Storytelling, and Pencilling designed to provide an introduction to one of the most difficult of art forms:
Part One Drawing: (1) Materials outlines what supplies an artist needs in terms of paper, pencils, erasers, rulers and templates; (2) Shapes are presented as the foundation of the creative process of drawing, the general concept from which the artist moves to more specific ones; (3) Faces looks at both the basic geometric elements in composing a face and the artistic range available through example of faces drawn by Joe Kubert, Gil Kane, and Neal Adams; (4) Anatomy covers both the structure and design of the human body, including all the muscles, with special attention paid to the most difficult thing in the world to draw, the hands; (5) Clothing establishes the four basic dynamics that shape the folds and wrinkles of a person's clothing; and (6) Perspective, which is covered from the fundamentals to the use of vanishing points and systems of perspective. This unit is the most instructive in the book since it deals with the basic building blocks.
Part Two Storytelling: (7) Juxtaposition establishes the uniqueness of comic book art in terms of how sequential art functions in the eyes of the reader, featuring diverse examples by Eduardo Risso, Sean Phillips, and Dave Taylor; (8) How to Lay Out a Page starts with the grid approach and then moves to the free-form end of the spectrum, starting with an example by Jack Kirby and then moving on to some by Neal Adams and Walt Simonson. Janson explains the value of insert panel and breaking borders, along with the larger pictures need for covers, splash pages, and double-page spreads; (9) Storytelling is considered as being judged by the criteria of clarity and entertainment, just like telling a joke; (10) Composition takes us down to the level of individual frames, looking at how the process of combining elements together to form a united whole; (11) Shots and Angles parallels what we know about such things from cinematography; and (12) Movement examines the one inherent disadvantage of comic art, which is trying to show movement in a static image.
Part Three Pencilling: (13) Procedure lays out how most comic books are written, so you can see where the penciller comes into the process; (14) Breaking In has Janson offering advice on how to break into the business in a professional manner; and (15) Anatomy of a Story has Janson walking us through the drawing of "Good Evening, Midnight," a story he wrote and drew for "Batman Black and White" #3.
"The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics" provides exactly what it promises: a clear-cut introduction to the fundamentals of drawing comic books. As to the fact that the vast majority of illustration examples in this volume are not pencilled but inked, I would point out a couple of pragmatic facts that would explain why. First, inked examples look better than pencilled examples. Second, given that Janson is using examples from real DC Comics, these are covers and pages of art that are already inked. Still, I would agree that more examples of pencilled art would have been nice, although I certainly like what Janson does in Chapter 15, "Anatomy of a Story," where we see layouts, pencilled, and inked pages side-by-side to have a full appreciation of the transformation wrought by the inker.
The companion volume to this work, "The DC Comics Guide to Writing Comics," is authored by Dennis O'Neil. Along with Scott McCloud's "Understanding Comics" and "Reinventing Comics," as well as Will Eisner's "Comics and Sequential Art" and "Graphic Storytelling," and John Buscema's "How to Draw Comics the Marvel Way," these two DC volumes are worthy additions to the limited library that every aspiring comic book writer/artist should have next to their computer/drawing table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars advanced DC, 17 Oct. 2007
By 
K. A. De Mare - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
this asumes you already know how to draw comic book figures and goes on from there going into page layout, contrast, hidden meanings ect.
it is very good and worth it
(better than "how to draw comics the marvel way" which is outdated.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC HOW TO BOOK, 31 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
I've got "How to draw comics the Marvel way" which is so out of date and written for children. But DC Comics Guide to Penciling Comics is written for adults. Runs through the usual perspective, anatomy etc. But this goes into Story telling using the comic book medium which HTDCTMW didn't. It's the only how to book I've read from cover to cover stright through. Other reviewers may say that there was little about penciling but if you want to learn to draw, get a how to draw book. This book is for people who want to tell a story through comics.
I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this., 20 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
Ok, so I'm not naturally talented at drawing, but my god, this definitely improved me some, it explains very clearly how to manufacture the best kind of pencilled imagery with a few simple techniques and a bit of nowhere. It hasn't transformed me into an amazing artist, but I don't have the time to constantly be perfecting my techniques, however it's excellent for a rainy day or revision procrastination! Even if you're not doing it to improve your technique, it's still got really interesting text about the industry which is nice for a bit of bed time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great present!, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
I bought this book as part of a bigger present for my partner so I asked him what he thought. This is his opinion:

"Starting with what's covered in general, you will find discussion about drawing, storytelling and pencilling. The drawing section starts off very fundamental to initiate novices like myself and then moves on gradually to faces, eyes, anatomy, etc. I found them well explained but overall a little brief - about half a page average on each concept - and not as many examples and variations as something like Christopher Hart's books (although they tend to be more focused on one topic). Clothing is in here but on only 2 pages, followed by perspective. That's part one.

I wasn't as keen on moving onto part two's topic of storytelling quite yet, so I can't be as detailed about this. However, it looks as though this book's text-heavy approach will be best suited to these latter sections. The exploration of panel design, for example, looked thorough and with plenty of examples too.

In all honesty, I read through the first third of this book for the guide on drawing quickly and improved my understanding but not so much my skills. Then I moved onto other books and haven't really returned since, but I will certainly do so when I graduate from sketching to storytelling."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good not great., 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
Good as part of a collection of books on the art of drawing comics but certainly not a one stop shop. Probably unfair of me but I just get the feeling that there are better people to learn from than the author. If you're buying 5 books, make this one of them; if fewer, get something more specific to what you want to learn. This book is a bit of a jack of all trades, master of none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good but, 13 Oct. 2008
By 
S. A. Funnell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
As a stand-alone book on learning to illustrate superhero figures and comics etc it is pretty good. If you are thinking of purchasing this book then you must already be aware of the DC main characters - way cooler than the Marvel ones.
However, if you already own How to Draw Comics The Marvel Way, then I wouldn't say you need to rush out and buy this book. The Marvel effort may look a bit old fashioned by today's standards, but in my opinion it is well written and lays it all out effortlessly.

I of course bought the Marvel book first. DC Comics Guide to Pencilling is a great accompaniment, and it further helps you along your way to drawing top notch superheroes and comics alike. It has a couple of bits which give you a bit more of an insight than the Marvel book, but really if you want to learn how to draw a comic then go and get the Marvel version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dc comics guide to pencilling comics, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
Good book for beginners and the more experienced. Details how to shape,shade and outline. How to draw muscles and facial expressions. Would recommmend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of writing, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
nm connolly "Miss M" (Amsterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics (Paperback)
The book has lots of information in written form but not a lot in pictures, the quality is good and the information very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics
The DC Comics Guide to Pencilling Comics by Klaus Janson (Paperback - Mar. 2002)
£15.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews