Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's my review?
I have already written a glowing review of this inspirational book, which I have owned and used for ten years. I don't know what has happened to the review, but I repeat here that this is the best book I have seen for the serious collage artist, bar none. My copy is so well used and battered that I am considering buying a new one - and tearing the other one up for collage!
Published on 23 Feb 2005 by lynsey adams

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good illustrations, poor textual content
The illustrations in this book are good, varied and inspiring. Unfortunately the descriptions of collage methods are very general, repetitive and common sense. The overall message is be creative and experiment in ever different words. A bit more reference to design elements and how to achieve depth and incorporate a message into collages would have made this book a lot...
Published on 22 July 2012 by z


Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's my review?, 23 Feb 2005
By 
lynsey adams "Kanga" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
I have already written a glowing review of this inspirational book, which I have owned and used for ten years. I don't know what has happened to the review, but I repeat here that this is the best book I have seen for the serious collage artist, bar none. My copy is so well used and battered that I am considering buying a new one - and tearing the other one up for collage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational..., 4 Feb 2009
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
I looked at a lot of collage books before settling on this one. It covers all the technique stuff, together with several 'demonstrations' but I really liked the artists work included in the books - I found these inspirational. Although I have always believed that there are no rules in collage, this book demonstrates that there are areas to be considered and discusses these well. My only regret was that being a US book, it lists only one paper manufacturer in the UK and only shows US artists (I think). I have had the book two weeks and it is already well thumbed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good illustrations, poor textual content, 22 July 2012
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
The illustrations in this book are good, varied and inspiring. Unfortunately the descriptions of collage methods are very general, repetitive and common sense. The overall message is be creative and experiment in ever different words. A bit more reference to design elements and how to achieve depth and incorporate a message into collages would have made this book a lot more valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collaging, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
Great book - fantastic instructional guide with lots of ideas. Excellent, colourful pictures and explanations making practical trials easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
Never tried collage with watercolour and other media before so needed a really good, easy to follow guide. This is it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable source book, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
I have consulted this book over and over again in the short time I have had it. It will be one of my essential source books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fpr lovers of collage, 18 April 2013
By 
S. D. Pickett "Sylvia pickett 'book maven" (Steyning Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
A very clear informative book. Good to refer to again and again.Very well put together. I particularly like the way that Gerald compares collage with collage on pages 104/105.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
Some sections are a bit predictable and prescriptive but the book does cover the subject pretty comprehensively. I have liked other books on the subject better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing - not very informative, 27 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators (Paperback)
I had expected more explanations on techniques an materials, but mainly it consists of phrases like "and of course, it s important to find a clear composition that you can use to express yourself". I think that says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators
Collage Techniques: A Guide for Artists and Illustrators by Gerald Brommer (Paperback - 18 Aug 1994)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews