Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much goes into it.
I have a few How to Draw books and this is one of my favourites.I thought the Retro Style would mean less work on the drawing front. While that seems true Christopher Hart shows there so much more in creating figures in that style. Straight lines instead of curves, necks vs no necks etc... even down to hair styles. Also covers how specific poses look in retro-style...
Published on 25 Sept. 2009 by TG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good But Lacks Imagination
It's a good book. Easy to follow and some good tips but it doesn't really help you expand your imagination in terms of how to draw these characters freshly. I did expect better but there's only so much you can learn from a small book.
Published 9 months ago by Cormac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much goes into it., 25 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
I have a few How to Draw books and this is one of my favourites.I thought the Retro Style would mean less work on the drawing front. While that seems true Christopher Hart shows there so much more in creating figures in that style. Straight lines instead of curves, necks vs no necks etc... even down to hair styles. Also covers how specific poses look in retro-style.
As always there is some overlap in the books: How to Draw Anime/Manage, Cartooning for the Beginner etc but this seems to have most covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Become the Coolest Cartoonist, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
Absolutely amazing book. My daughter has been obsessed with creating cartoons of friends and family and they're all fab.
Packed full of hints and tips, this book really brings out the cartoonist in anyone interested in caricatures or cartoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great tutorials and references for cartoonists looking for a new direction, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
I've always loved this quirky art style so Chris Hart's excellent retro-style character book is a fantastic introduction to nailing that style. If you love cartoons like The Powerpuff Girls or Dexter's Lab, and want to know how to draw characters like those, this book will certainly head you in the right direction.

Clear tutorials from start to finish, nicely written accompaniments and some great examples in the gallery to draw on. Very satisfied with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what I call cooool, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
If you're a fan of say, the Jetsons, or any retro sci-fi cartoons, then this book is for you. Chris's drawings are simply superb, and are surprisingly easy to follow - I was amazed at how quickly I could achieve satisfactory results following his techniques - and I wouldn't even class myself as a very good artist! Like all his books, this is jam packed full of useful tips and examples. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cartoon cool, 5 Aug. 2011
By 
T. Cogan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
I bought one of these as it seemed an easy introduction to drawing simple charaters. I can confirm it is a great start and i'm always picking it up for inspiration. My neices kid picked it up and loved it too so i bought her one as a present and she's been copying stuff from it, i mean using it as reference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good But Lacks Imagination, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
It's a good book. Easy to follow and some good tips but it doesn't really help you expand your imagination in terms of how to draw these characters freshly. I did expect better but there's only so much you can learn from a small book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great help, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
I bought this to help my son with a project he was doing, it has been brilliant, it has good sketches with a step by step guide, lots of tips and covers all the parts of the body and face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great gift, 24 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
Bought this book for nephew who is studying art. It was a lovely little Christmas gift. He has already made use of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool, my kids love the inspiration to make their own artwork, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
George Pamplemousse (Beckenham, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
My 10 and 12 year girls love these retro-style cartoons on telly, now they spend hours drawing their own, result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Retro Cartoons, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters (Paperback)
My oldest grandson likes drawing cartoons, but I was disappointed in this book, also he was not interested in drawing from it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters
Cartoon Cool: How to Draw TV's Retro Style Characters by Chris Hart (Paperback - 28 Jun. 2004)
£10.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews