Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 'How-to' book!
I rate this book extremely highly. It contains tons, and I mean tons, of useful info. It really does help you to get a grip on drawing superhero figures with correct anatomy and proportions.
There are shedloads of useful drawings that will help you draw specific parts of the superhero bodies.
But it's not just limited to drawing bodies. Andy Smith explains,...
Published on 3 Dec. 2002

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in Theory
Ok first i'll say how great the artwork is because well, its amazing. However you can't actually copy any of it unless you were one of the artists who worked on it. I bought this hoping it would help me to draw comics. It didn't. It gives the most amazing theory behind drawing comics, or anything to be honest, it shouldn't really be a 'how to draw comics' book because it...
Published on 5 Oct. 2010 by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 'How-to' book!, 3 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
I rate this book extremely highly. It contains tons, and I mean tons, of useful info. It really does help you to get a grip on drawing superhero figures with correct anatomy and proportions.
There are shedloads of useful drawings that will help you draw specific parts of the superhero bodies.
But it's not just limited to drawing bodies. Andy Smith explains, almost effortlessly. how to put figures, objects and buildings in perspective. On top of this you are shown how to use photographs as reference for scenes, how to use lighting and shading in order to make your drawings look more realistic.
The book then delves into actually drawing comic book pages, using a writer's script to work from, including pacing the story, using camera angles correctly, and getting the maximum output from your pencilled artwork.
AND! then the book goes onto the art of inking comic book art, including how several well known inkers go about inking artwork.
After you've read this book, you'll want to get cracking with a pencil and paper. I really cannot rate this book highly enough. It is absolutely fantastic and one of the best 'how-to' books on sale today. I recommend it wholeheartedly. 5 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great help for the beginer, 30 Oct. 2000
By 
lomed@mweb.co.za (Cape Town South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
The book for myself is really a great help. I am totally into this book, I am sitting and reading this book cover to cover and enjoying drawing figures from my book.I Think every kid who wants to draw dynamic comics should get one. The illustrations are great and help a lot of them help me to keep going. The book instead of being filled of long boring text has short but to the point paragraphs and added jokes which should keep the reader entertained. The demonstrations of drawing small but important parts of the figure such as ears and noses have being set out in such a way that what I once found hard is now easy. Nicholas lomax
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 18 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
Unlike so many "how to draw comics" books, this one explains _why_ you are doing something as well as what to do. Consequently it does a much better job. No "4 step" processes here (complete with a huge gap between two of the steps). This explains all the aspects of drawing dynamic comic art. Like many of the others though it won't turn you into an artist - you will need some raw talent as well. But it doesn't have those "anyone can draw" claims on the cover either. This will allow anyone who has _some_ talent and has tried and failed to draw comic art to enhance their skills and understand how to draw, rather than copy comic-book heroes and heroines.

Excellent stuff. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Super(hero) book!, 1 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
A great book by an obviously accomplished comic book artist. To begin this is a book on drawing comics and this is what is does. It doesn't pretend to be a general art course and it isn't. It does however sneak in some nice lessons such as perspective that can get students thinking without realising they're following drawing 'rules'. A good book for students and as a lecturer I'd say a pretty good book for us as well. My only niggle is the text - I'm not sure why (perhaps it is the font). However the old adage of you can't please everyone is true and it deserves the highest grade and I'd say a good one for the comic book artist shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Smith Rox!, 26 April 2003
By 
Tex (Hyde nr. Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
Drawing Dynamic Comics is one of those very rare animals; a reference book which is also a great read. This is packed full of step-by-step instruction, illustrated examples, and valuable industry tips. Everything you could ever need to be a comic book illustrator, be you beginner, intermediate, or advanced.
It teaches you how to do what it says on the cover!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great (what else?!), 29 Nov. 2004
By 
Mr. B. Greenhalgh (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
ive been drawing for around 3-4 years now and im an experienced cartoonist and manga artist.However when i bought this book i found that the way i had learned anatomy was realy slow!! i picked up on the easy to follow stages and examples and i am now..even though ive never done comic book art before well on my way to a more realistic look for my characters! GREAT BOOK!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect and rich with information, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
Howard (Frome, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
A thorough and inspiring read - suitable for dipping into or a more studied approach. This is beautifully presented, gorgeously illustrated (as you'd expect really!) and useful, I would say, for pretty much any experience or age range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb!, 2 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
This book is absolutely superb! It explains everything from drawing objects in 3d to explaining the process of drawing comic book pages.Well written and with tons of helpful drawings. Buy this book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helped me learn well easy,, 10 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
this is a great book for the begginners and even for experts, it explains nearly every feature of cartoon drawing, and christopher harts drawings are really good to. It took me a day to learn about the muscles, and the rest cxame in a month, easy,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback)) (Paperback)
Drawing dynamic Comics by Andy Smith is a must own for any artist interest in Comics.The emphasis is on practice ,understanding and experimenting with form.A knowledge of perspective,anatomy is a must so not recommended for beginners.I cannot praise Andy Smith enough for sharing such knowledge in a clear,concise and enjoyable way;my work feels alive and dynamic as opposed to stifled and rigid ,as most anatomy book are useless for drawing comics.Don't take my work for it,try it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing Dynamic Comics (Cutting Edge (Watson-Guptill Paperback))
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews