Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for airbrush virgins
This book is great if you have never touched an airbrush. I had no previous experience or knowledge of this artform and this book talked me through which tool to choose according to what I wanted to use it for, how to practice masking, shading, types of paints and how to deal with them as well as care and clean up of the tool. Talked through simple projects to get the...
Published on 15 Aug. 2005 by T. Grey

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but too complicated
I don't want to be too critical as I don't think its easy to teach or inspire airbrush in a book. I think a dvd is a much easier medium to demonstrate techniques and a better way too learn. Its a shame there aren't more dvd's available and the ones that are seem overpriced.

The book does cover all aspects of airbrushing but seems far too complicated and is not...
Published on 3 Feb. 2010 by A. J. Charman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for airbrush virgins, 15 Aug. 2005
By 
T. Grey "tanok8" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
This book is great if you have never touched an airbrush. I had no previous experience or knowledge of this artform and this book talked me through which tool to choose according to what I wanted to use it for, how to practice masking, shading, types of paints and how to deal with them as well as care and clean up of the tool. Talked through simple projects to get the 'feel'of the airbrush as well as all the technical stuff to satisfy purists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best airbrush book available, and I've seen them all!, 22 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
Mr. Vero is an artist/philosopher. He'll start you off using gouache (opaque watercolor) and take you step by step to advanced techniques.
His chapter on "the shield" alone is worth the money. Others have now ripped his idea off to sell these shields, but save your money. Buy a piece of acetate and use the templates in this book. I rely heavily on his shield for my own work.
This man is an altruist, he is more concerned with teaching than with getting rich. Otherwise he could have marketed the shield himself instead of teaching you how to make it yourself.
This book is what did it for me and is a big reason why I stuck with it and worked hard to learn all I could.
As far as I'm concerned, this is the only airbrushing book you'll ever need. For the rest, study the art of the Old Masters, but with the insights that Radu Vero will give to you. Then you are on your way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In depth and philosophical, 23 Feb. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
This is a great book. Dealing with the basics of airbrushing and use of various mediums and supports. The author is passionate about his craft, and it comes through in the content. There is a deep philosophical message in here as well, he sheds light on the approach, the attitude of a prospective artist, not just the finished work, but the process and the creation. Particularly deals with the world of graphic art, and commercial airbrushing techniques, with some lovely full colour plates of examples from different artists from around the world. I liked the presentation involving what actually occurs down at the base level of putting the paint on to various papers boards etc. The way the molecules arrange themselves to projects specific colour effects, a good amount of text discusses the use of Gouaches and their wonderful charecteristics, and how best to utilise this to the advantage of the artist. Consideration is given to the all important light source, the use of shields and masks, and the preparation of various papers, mounting them, and selecting for the right medium.
All in all a very worthy addition to the airbrush library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The contents of this book are definetely in the Title., 29 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook is the backbone of my airbrush library, And my library is small. It is perfect for all. What do you want to know about airbrushing? I would suggest your search start here.
Brandyn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but too complicated, 3 Feb. 2010
By 
A. J. Charman (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
I don't want to be too critical as I don't think its easy to teach or inspire airbrush in a book. I think a dvd is a much easier medium to demonstrate techniques and a better way too learn. Its a shame there aren't more dvd's available and the ones that are seem overpriced.

The book does cover all aspects of airbrushing but seems far too complicated and is not an easy or pleasant read. Most of the book, except the nice gallery at the end of the book, is in black and white.
It refers a lot to illustration board as being a good surface on which to paint, but this is not readily available in England.

Not bad but not as good as I'd hoped.

Great service from Amazon as usual though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much shield work, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
Wim Nelis "Wim" (Geel, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
I've had the pleasure to follow a 1-year airbrush course and my teacher was not a shield fan (A shield is a plastic tool you use to draw sharp lines with your airbrush). So the use was never encouraged and in fact after several months I began to see why my teacher wasn't a huge fan; the lines are just too sharp for portraits or whole body art (go to [...] and look up my name, you'll find a torso done freehand). Of course there are times when a shield is a must, but not for an entire work.
So for my personal taste, this book is max. 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
Very good introduction to the rather difficult art of airbrushing.

Well set out and easy to follow it perhaps has too many finished works and not enough instructions on how to achieve the end result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airbrush Complete Book, 6 Jan. 2012
By 
Mrs. J. Wilcox (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic instructive book, if you are starting out with airbrush this is the book to buy, so much involved though, might scare you a bit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Studio Handbook, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
Although getting a bit tired through age and equipment now available, this is a very good reference for a novice. It has good grounding and examples of technique and methods. Certainly worth having for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good book to learn from., 20 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books) (Paperback)
While the author may have extensive knowledge and experience with an airbrush, his teachings
dont come across very well in this book and I would have to blame the publishing company for this.
i would also have to blame anyone that tried to help him portray his message to new students.

You see, at the beginning of this book, he thanks those very people that screwed this book up
for him. i have no idea why he just didnt write it on his own as he is obvivously very talented.
but maybe he felt that he could not express his teachings in words and needed help. pity really.

the main golden rule for me, is that if you are an expert in something, you should write the
book yourself and have control over what content goes into it and which does not.
plain black and white / two tone images and hand drawn diagrams are just not the right material
to learn from and this book is full of said diagrams and in-depth boring ramblings about why you should
hold the gun at a certain angle.

look, this stuff is not rocket science and any human knows that to paint anything, regardless of implement or tool used,
that you obviously have to move in certain directions to draw a picture / portrait / landscape etc etc.
but spending 2 pages on why you should move your arm in a certain direction is just not teaching anyone anything.

if you want to learn how to use an airbrush, i suggest you go to youtube and look at the vast amount of video's
that are dedicated to this art. i would reccomend looking at anything shot by ed hubbs.

with airbrushing, i guess its just an art that cannot be learned by reading about it in a book.
it must be learned by watching someone else with experience or you must get your own hands dirty.
i do not reccomend this book, in any way shape or form, for a beginner or a novice. even people with minimum
experience of a year would not gain anything usefull from this book.

i suggest that people have a look for dvd's relating to the art , instead of sitting on a couch reading a book that
fills your head with idea's that wont make you any good at painting / drawing etc.
reading this book is wasted time and you'd be better off practicing on your own with colouring books and gaining some dexterity instead.

i have no idea how it achieved a rating of 4 and 5 stars here on amazon ,
but we're all entitled to our opinions i suppose.
one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airbrush: The Complete Studio Handbook: Bk. 1 (Practical Art Books)
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews