Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Non-technical starter guide
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:43 Mins
Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics is a starter guide to drawing comics aimed at beginners.

It introduces the world of comics and what you need to create them. It covers the basic topics like drawing, storytelling, finding work, etc. There are lots of useful comic creation tips discussed, complimented by examples from popular artists like...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by Parka

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'How to draw comics the marvel way'
Stan Lee states in his introduction, in his inimitable style, that he only writes a 'how to draw comics book' every 30 years. He is of course a writer not an artist but thats not important right now. And it is those additional elements, 30 years worth of development in comics creation, that make this book interesting. 'How to draw comics the marvel way' has excellent...
Published on 13 Dec 2011 by mr cga shipton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Non-technical starter guide, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics (Paperback)
Length:: 0:43 Mins

Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics is a starter guide to drawing comics aimed at beginners.

It introduces the world of comics and what you need to create them. It covers the basic topics like drawing, storytelling, finding work, etc. There are lots of useful comic creation tips discussed, complimented by examples from popular artists like Jack Kirby, Neal Adams, Frank Cho and the likes.

This isn't a technical book so there aren't any how-to or step-by-step tutorials. When you finish the book, you'll know what it takes to create comics but you'll have to get other comic drawing books to learn the technical skills. Most of the chapters introduced in this book are actually subjects that already have whole books devoted to them.

This book is recommended to beginners who have absolutely no prior knowledge on creating comics. That said, if you're past that stage, you should skip this and get books devoted to specific subjects.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 'How to draw comics the marvel way', 13 Dec 2011
This review is from: Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics (Paperback)
Stan Lee states in his introduction, in his inimitable style, that he only writes a 'how to draw comics book' every 30 years. He is of course a writer not an artist but thats not important right now. And it is those additional elements, 30 years worth of development in comics creation, that make this book interesting. 'How to draw comics the marvel way' has excellent chapters on drawing faces, anatomy and perspective. All these are the crucial elements of comics drawing. This book skirts over drawing faces, hands, and anatomy. Which is pretty disappointing, it doesn't add anything. Similarly its chapters on lettering and colouring are pretty weak - see the DC Comics guides for far more concise and relevant info.

The really interesting parts of this book, and I write as someone who has an ever growing pile of 'how to draw' books, are the parts on fore shortening and perspective in panels. Clear and interesting points. It's also notable for showing how to use 'Google sketch up' to plan panels, which is very nice too. The other strong point to this books are the examples of how NOT to do it. There are some lovely examples of comic art in varying styles. There are also some quite ropey ones too, which I suppose gives hope to the budding comic artist in a funny way.

I would say a worthwhile addition to the collector of these books. And also a great introduction. There is an extensive reading list included which covers all the great works in this field. It just seems like there are few missed opportunities to add to the great foundation 'How to draw comics the marvel way' provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Tool for Illustrators BUT....., 20 Feb 2013
By 
garfy dee (ireland - sligo) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics (Paperback)
This is a great book. I got this as i gave away my older "How to draw the Marvel way". I had hoped that this book would be a suitable replacement. It is not!. This book is great if you already have some talent but if you are just starting out i would advise getting "How to draw the Marvel way" first as there are more practical lessons on drawing and anatomy! Put the two books together and you are sorted! ;]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my son, 20 Nov 2012
This review is from: Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics (Paperback)
Bought for my son. He liked it and has used some of the drawings to help draw his own. Very satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal gift, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics (Paperback)
I bought this book for my boyfriends 11 year old brother, who loves Marvel comic characters, for Christmas. I wanted to get him a gift that would allow him to be creative rather than him playing video games all the time. He absolutely loved the book however I was hoping it would have a lot more step by step guides to drawing some of his favourite characters, but instead only had basic drawing techniques and mostly just talked about how marvel characters were designed and created. Maybe ideal for 12yrs +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great deconstruction of how to draw comics, 5 Sep 2013
By 
D. Loftus "Dave Loftus" (London uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ive been trying to improve my drawing for years , i dont have time for lessons due to work, most people who write books on "how to" aren't necessarily good writers or teachers, alot of books on drawing tend to over clutter with the text rather than the how to.

stan lee has proven him self a great writer and His skill glides you through the stages you need to master, however it is up to you to recognise which parts of your drawing you need to work on, and that might mean you'll have do your own research out side of the book as the detail is adequate but kept simple in order to get you drawing rather than keep you reading

, but that's really what will make you a better artist and this book helps you identify the stages of becoming a good comic book artist, its up to you to work on each stage and revisit them until your happy with them. Classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics (Paperback)
A great book for my Granson's Christmas stocking filler. He was delighted on the morning and has had many happy hours drawing from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usefull, 15 April 2012
This review is from: Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics (Paperback)
It was excellent It is an usefull book And I would like to get another bOok just like it. Jordan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5e2b5f4)

This product

Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics
Stan Lee's How to Draw Comics by Inc. (Paperback - 7 Nov 2010)
12.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews