Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended.
Jezebel the succubus has run away from hell. Taking a job as an exotic dancer, she thinks she's made a fresh start. But it's not that easy to put her past behind her.

It's so refreshing to read about a heroine who is completely comfortable in her own skin. Jezebel/Jesse has a sharp wit and a deliciously wicked sense of humour. She's an incredibly sexual...
Published on 4 Mar 2007 by Lesley70

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hell on Earth book 1
Jezebel is a succubus who has spent thousands of years collecting men's souls and taking them to hell but now she is on the run. It's not easy to go AWOL from Hell though and her only chance of escaping the demons who are after her is to hide amongst mortals. Finding a job as a stripper in New York Jesse tries desperately to remain hidden but how long will it be before...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by Sarah (Feeling Fictional)


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 4 Mar 2007
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Paperback)
Jezebel the succubus has run away from hell. Taking a job as an exotic dancer, she thinks she's made a fresh start. But it's not that easy to put her past behind her.

It's so refreshing to read about a heroine who is completely comfortable in her own skin. Jezebel/Jesse has a sharp wit and a deliciously wicked sense of humour. She's an incredibly sexual creature and revels in being a succubus, so her new career choice of stripping is a natural one for her to make.

Initially it's hard to work out how we can have sympathy for her, she's such a selfish creature of instinct and need. However, once she takes human form, her newfound mortality begins to change her and she begins a slow almost unnoticeable transition from amoral demon to something else. The first experiences Jesse has as a human are incredibly well written and make you realise how strange it must be to see the world for the first time.

There are really two stories being told here; the first is Jesse's flight from hell and how she copes with being a mortal; the second is about the events leading up to her decision to flee hell (told in flashback). Unfortunately the flashbacks (of which there are several) are intercut with the main story and aren't signposted that well (the first happens in Chapter 6). Leaving the reader confused about what is happening, until you get used to the style.

For people who like to know: - this is written in first person, and there is some strong swearing, but this is in context and is something the person who said it would say.

I think it's slightly misleading that this has been marketed as a romance, I believe it's much more of an urban fantasy. The romantic subplot definitely takes second place to Jesse's story. But this shouldn't put readers off - Jezebel is such a rare outspoken heroine, it's worth taking the time to get to know her. (And kudos to Ms. Kessler for using a Ghostbusters reference. :) )

The Road to Hell (Book 2) is released in November 2007.

Looking for other Succubus stories, check out Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead for a different take on succubi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soulless demon finds love, 22 Aug 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Paperback)
Jezebel is a 4,000 year old succubus (a demon) whose job is to entice people into hell through horizontal means. However when she goes AWOL from Hell, tricks a witch into making her human (and stealing that witch's form and credit cards/ID) she sets out on life as a newly born human in New York. The author writes her first experiences of being human, drinking coffee, eating muffins, being in public spaces etc excellently - these were really enjoyable parts of the book.

Jezebel, or Jessie, isn't at all a sympathetic character to start with. She steals the witch's identity, doesn't care about other people and seems largely amoral. However her new human nature is clearly changing that part of her character and she starts to care for people and to change. She gets a job as a stripper in a club, Hell's Belles, which suits her skills from her former career admirably. However she's already bumped into Paul and he is about to cause another big change in her life. On the run from other demons who are trying to drag her back to hell, protected merely by her humanity and with the amulet she wears round her neck, can Jessie keep herself safe and out of hell? And what is it that caused her to leave Hell in the first place?

Rather confusingly a few chapters into this book Jessie seemed to be back working as a succubus and leading a man to hell. It became clear eventually that this was a flashback and there were other examples of this in the book - it might have been helpful for the fact this was backstory to be more clear. However these sections, where Jessie is in Hell, were fascinating; somehow the author has written her description of the different levels in Hell and some of the characters in a lighthearted and yet scary way with definite overtones of Dante.

This is a fairly earthy book with fairly explicit descriptions and a woman who is certainly at home with her feminine side. However there is more to this story than just sex as there's an interesting plot and some significant characterisation of Jessie. Paul, the hero, is rather more of a cipher and we almost learn more about the Satyr Daunuan but there are many good side characters in this story which lift it above the average paranormal romance and made it an easy and fun read.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book, [...] Helen Hancox 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic debut novel, 18 Feb 2007
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Paperback)
For over 4000 years Jezebel has thoroughly enjoyed her role as a Succubus; after all seducing men, sucking out their souls and escorting them to Hell was what she was created for and she's pretty good at her job. Yet since King Lucifer made His Announcement to all denizens of Hell Jezebel (aka Jesse) has a sizeable bounty on her head and plenty of demons happy to collect. Unable to escape evil's radar, she does the only thing possible and convinces a human witch to turn her into a soulless mortal.

Now wearing a human body and a shield against evil, Jezebel decides to hide herself in New York City, supporting herself as an exotic dancer. Working for Belles strip club is easy money, her human body positively reeking of sex appeal despite her renounced Succubus status; however even a human body and a powerful charm is not enough to keep Jezebel hidden form the legions of Hell.

I cannot believe that "Hell's Belles" is a debut novel; from the first page Ms Kessler draws the reader into a wonderfully dark world in which the deadly sins are personified (what else would Jezebel be but a creature of Lust), with quotas to be met and souls to be properly judged for punishment. JK has created a wonderful character in Jezebel; a morally corrupt ex-demon you can't help but like (try figure?). Even without a soul, Jezebel discovers that it is possible to fall in love within her human body; however when said paramour refuses her advances due to her emotional state; she finds herself seriously tempted to whip of her protective ward and embrace her old powers; all in the name of revenge.

I now eagerly await this book's sequel; "The Road to Hell" due for pub. Nov 07 and have nothing left to add but buy "Hell's Belles" and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing, witty & highly entertaining!! 5 stars*, 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Mass Market Paperback)
this is the first book in jackie kesslers 'hell on earth' series and the first book i have read by this author. this book has been on my shelf for quite some time, as i kept bypassing it in favour of reading something else. i am soooooo glad i finally got around to reading it!! it is one of the most refreshing and entertaing books i have read in a long time (& i read a lot!).
the book is fast paced with a totally entertaining story. it is written in the first person, but it was easy to get to know other characters, which in other books written in this style has often been a let down for me. the lead character is totally brilliant. full of witt & a heavy dose of sarcasm, she takes you on a journey into the highly imaginative world this author has created.
this book is far better than i expected. the only thing i would say is its probably not as romantic as some would like, and there is the fact that whilst she has just started seeing the love interest in this book, she has a romp with one of her fellow demon pals. i thought it was fitting with her being a succubus and all & new to living as a mortal, but some people may not.
in addition, even though the lead is a succubus and works at a strip club, i felt the balance between sex in the book and actual story was perfect. whilst i love a bit of sex in my books, i do still want a story to go with it. this book had both, as well as good humour, great characters and an imaginative story. i would highly recommend this book!! give it a try, i'm glad i finally did! i have already ordered the next book!!
series order:
1. Hell's Belles (2007)
2. The Road to Hell (2007)
3. Hotter Than Hell (2008)
4. Hell To Pay (2011) (this seems only to be available in kindle,i hope book format will come out soon, i'm a paperback gal!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 30 Dec 2012
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Hell's Belles tells the story of a demon - a succubus - who has run away from Hell due to changes in administration and management. She can't cope with the new way of doing things, so she leaves. Terrified of being caught, she finds someone to help her become a mortal, and therefore undetectable by Hell. The book deals with what happens next, and it's a good fun romp from beginning to end.

The only thing I didn't like much is how the chapters jumped back and forth in time, it could be a little confusing at times. But otherwise, this is a good paranormal read with some sex and laughs thrown in for good measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Naughty but Nice, 28 Aug 2012
This is a well written and characterised novel that just happens to be about adult themes. The (frequent) provocative and salacious scenes are integral to the plot, and the character arcs, and they make for very stimulating reading as well. This is a fresh (in every sense of the term) and very different read which I would highly recommend. After all how often do you find yourself rooting for a protagonist who is demonstrateably a 'good' person, with her own code and morals, and yet is a sex mad stripper at the same time ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hell on Earth book 1, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Jezebel is a succubus who has spent thousands of years collecting men's souls and taking them to hell but now she is on the run. It's not easy to go AWOL from Hell though and her only chance of escaping the demons who are after her is to hide amongst mortals. Finding a job as a stripper in New York Jesse tries desperately to remain hidden but how long will it be before Hell is on her heels?

When we are first introduced to Jezebel (or Jesse for short) she isn't an easy character to like, she is selfish, bitchy and does some really unpleasant things to someone that was trying to help her. I did start to wonder if I wanted to continue reading but I'm glad I stuck it out because as she starts to settle into her new life we do get to see a nicer side to Jesse. It was quite funny watching her settle into her new life as a human, she may have spent the last 4,000 years seducing men but she obviously hasn't spent much time in the human world and is easily confused by things that we wouldn't even have to think about.

I did have a few issues with the book though, the first of which was the use of flashbacks. I don't actually mind flashbacks in general and I was very interested in the glimpses of hell that we got through them but I found the way they were inserted into the story was jarring. The first time it happened I was completely thrown out of the story and had to flick back a few pages to see if I'd missed something and try to figure out what was going on. You do get used to this as you continue reading though so it's just a case of getting used to a different writing style.

I didn't feel the romance between Jesse and Paul, we don't know enough about Paul for me to care much about him and I didn't really think there was much of a connection between the two of them. It was obvious that they had the hots for each other but it didn't seem like anything more than that for me. I was also about ready to throw the book across the room if Jesse used the words "sweetie" or "bless me" one more time. I just couldn't get my head around a succubus saying "bless me" - what self-respecting demon would want to be blessed? It didn't sit right with a character as crude as Jesse could be and really bugged me while I was reading.

Although this wasn't the strongest start to a series compared to others I have read I'm still curious enough about the revelations at the end to want to find out what happens next. I also really want to find out more about Meg and Daun (2 of Jesse's friends from hell) and hope we see a lot more of them in the next installment. Considering this was a debut novel I think the series has potential and I'll be interested to see how Jackie Kessler's writing style has developed over time. If you enjoy an erotic paranormal story it might be worth giving this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars book review, 27 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hell's Belles (Mass Market Paperback)
IT'S THE FIRST TIME I HAVE READ kessler and it was not to bad,so i shall try another,as something new it was not bad
to what i often read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for Urban Fantasy lovers, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The first of Jackie's Succubus titles and one that launches as the series means to go on. Whilst many urban fantasy titles that feature succubi tend to have them being just members of Hell's circle, Jackie takes a novel approach and has one that tries to break away and succeeds in becoming something unique. It's definitely a story that will appeal to fans of the erotic urban fantasy as well as to fans who love a good story. Back it up with a lead character who stands out on her own, has some real kick ass friends who all know some killer one liners and it's a title that will satisfy in more ways than one.

A real gem of an opener and one that we hope will set the tone and continue to impress as the tale unfolds in further outings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hell's Belles
Hell's Belles by Jackie Kessler (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Oct 2008)
4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews