Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Third in series - a cross-cultural imprinting
This story follows very much the style and form of the previous two in the series, "Jacob" and "Gideon". It focuses on the Demons, one of the groups of Nightwalkers (various creatures that go Bump In The Night like Vampires, Lycanthropes and the Demons, powerful supernatural beings) and in this story on the chief Warrior demon, Elijah, whose history includes being the...
Published on 2 Jan. 2008 by Helen Hancox

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Same format but it works!
Iv'e now read Jacob, Adam and Elijah , but i think i'll be giving the rest of the guys a miss. This series is very enjoyable but the storylines are too similar ( hunky demon meets stroppy non- demonic female for much mind blowing hot passion). They face a few dangers on the way but survive into the next book. But defiantely worth a read .
Published on 27 Aug. 2012 by Gilly f


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Third in series - a cross-cultural imprinting, 2 Jan. 2008
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elijah (Nightwalkers) (Mass Market Paperback)
This story follows very much the style and form of the previous two in the series, "Jacob" and "Gideon". It focuses on the Demons, one of the groups of Nightwalkers (various creatures that go Bump In The Night like Vampires, Lycanthropes and the Demons, powerful supernatural beings) and in this story on the chief Warrior demon, Elijah, whose history includes being the warrior who killed the King of the Lycanthropes fourteen years ago.

Unfortunately as the story starts Elijah has been cornered by his enemies and seriously wounded. Just before he's finished off by Ruth and Mary, the former Demons who have now turned evil, those attacking him are frightened away by the call of a wild cat - a Cougar. That animal is the Queen of the Lycanthropes, Siena, whose rule for the last fourteen years since the death of her father has done a great deal to build bridges of peace with the Demons and the Vampires. Siena herself, rather in the manner of Queen Elizabeth I, has decided to stay a virgin so that she doesn't have to share her throne with a man who might drag the Pride back into war. The nature of being a Lycanthrope Queen means that if she mates with anyone that mating bond is for life.

Siena hasn't realised, however, the powerful pull of attraction she will feel when taking care of an almost-dead Elijah. She takes him to safey in a cave but they are trapped there for several days and despite the fact that they are from different species and the Demon Lore forbids any relationships between Demon and Lycanthrope, rather inevitably they find themselves unable to hold back their lusts. When they separate to go back to their individual lives there is clear evidence that there was more to this 'one off' mating than either of them imagined.

Their attempts to stay apart or to find a way of dissolving the Imprinting bond take their attention away from the fight against Mary and Ruth but soon all the Demons, as well as some of the other Nightwalkers, find themselves fighting for their lives.

As with the other books this is written in a lush style which is easy to read. However, also like the other books, the actual plot is rather thin and it seems that the characters spend quite a lot of time thinking or talking or faffing amongst themselves rather than doing anything (and the stuff they're doing doesn't really add to the sense of character for them, either). I was also a little disappointed that more wasn't made of the cross-cultural problem; for Elijah his mating with Siena breaks thousand year taboos (maybe like humans mating with chimps?) and for Siena to ally herself with a race that had been at war with hers for 300 years, not least that her mate is the man who killed her father, is a huge step and yet this all seems swept under the carpet remarkably easily. I had hoped for far more exploration of what this might mean to the individuals involved, the hostility they might face, and yet there was almost none.

Still this is a reasonable enough read in the genre with lots of input from the heroes and heroines of the previous novels as well as some likely new plot lines for future books. Those who enjoyed the others should like this one, others starting with this book should enjoy it but with some reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Third in the series and the best so far...., 27 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Elijah (Nightwalkers) (Mass Market Paperback)
Jacquelyn Frank has really made he mark with this the third in the Nightwalkers series. It is by far my favourite so far. The characters is this book are Elijah and Sienna, the Captain of the Demon army and the Queen of the Lycanthropes. While they make an unlikely pairing to begin with (seeing how he's responsible for her fathers' death) they work very well together. The trend set in the first two books in this series, to break all the Nightwalker laws and taboos, is continued in 'Elijah' with the first interspecies "Imprinting".

My favourite thing about this series is the baddies. They're not some souless species to be hated, they are Nightwalkers-gone-bad, who are acting out of twisted revenge against people they feel have wronged them. It makes for interesting battles, and engaging plot twists. The romance between Elijah and Sienna is a lot more gripping than the previous books in the series, they are more passionate, independant, and free spirited. It makes for some lengthy and fabulously hot scenes between them.

I look forward to continuing with this series and learning more about the myths and history it creates. What's different about the world of Nightwalkers to other paranormal books, is that they have lost a large portion of knowledge relating to their history, and each book brings them closer to rediscovering hidden truths about all Nightwalkers races.

For any para-mance readers looking for a new series to engage them and keep them ever ready for the next book to be released I would recommend 'Jacob', 'Gideon' and 'Elijah'. Out of the all the para-mance series' I am reading currently I would place this one at number 5, behind The Black Dagger Brotherhood (JR Ward), The Immortals After Dark (Kresley Cole), Midnight Breed (Lara Adrian), The Dark Hunters (Sherrilyn Kenyon).

After the exciting end to 'Elijah' I will be ordering 'Damien' as soon as I have finished this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Third time lucky!, 19 Jun. 2011
By 
E. L. Joseph (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elijah (Nightwalkers) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third in Jacquelyn Frank's Nightwalker series and is by far the best!
It surrounds warrior captain of the demons Elijah and Siena the Queen of the lycanthropes who are breaking age old laws when they find themselves imprinted.

This story was brilliant and i read it in a few days. Unlike the first two it was not weighed down by endless passages of description and feelings etc. (don't despair those fans who liked this - it is still present; just in a way where it is integrated with the story and not as jerky - massive boring bit - action - back to massive boring bit!)

The plot is obviously about the forbidden relationship of the main characters - which could have caused more havoc by the way (as always it was accepted quite easily by the other characters considering how monumental it was supposed to be!) but this is forgiven in this book because there was plenty of action in battles and showdowns with the demon traitors which keeps you interested. Also the appearance of new characters which are definitely promising for future books namely Syreena. (Also i really loved Windsong and hope she will appear in another book!)

I must comment on one aspect though (trying to be vague so as not to spoil it) there was a really huge shock moment ...and then everything got fixed my magic pretty quick which took away from it. I don't think i actually wanted this thing to happen but at the same time i wished it hadn't been so easily resolved (considering how monumental it was - you will understand when you read it and perhaps disagree with me but it would have had a greater impact had it been final or at least lasted longer.)

I really enjoyed this book and hope that the next one "Damien" is just as good (and doesn't go back to the point where i was skipping pages to find interesting bits).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fat paced,exciting read, 18 Feb. 2012
By 
fudggie girl (wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elijah (Nightwalkers) (Mass Market Paperback)
The third book of this series is Elijahs'story.Part of the Nightwalker race,he is a warrior captain,a master of every kind.Elijah has won every battle he's taken on-until now.He is ambused by necromancers and left for dead but found by the one woman who could well deliver the final blow-Sienna,the Lycanthrope queen.
With three centuries of war between the two races and hardly any peace Elijah is consumed with a different battle-winning Siennas' heart.What starts as attraction and arousal soon burns into passion with consequences that will echo through the ages for both their people.
This is my favourite book in the series,it is fast and exciting and dosn't let go till the very end.Where the first two books of the series can slow down in parts this just keeps on going and going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and action oriented, 1 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Elijah (Nightwalkers) (Mass Market Paperback)
There are many Nightwalker races, who can pass themselves off as humans including Demons, Lycanthropes, vampires, & nightwalkers. Demons only look like the monsters portrayed in books and movies. It is when they are summoned by a necromancer into a pentagram they look like the evi1 creatures of legend and are no longer capable of reasoning. For centuries the Demon and Lycanthrope races have been at war but after her father died, Siena, the Lycanthrope Queen has made peace with the demons and hopes one day lingering hatrd will fade away. Elijah, the captain of the demon warriors is in lycanthrope territory when he is attacked by hunters and necromancers led by two rogue demon women Ruth an her daughter Mary who want to destroy the demon race. He is near deth when Siena finds him and brings him into a nearby cave where she saves his life. During their time alone they Imprint, mated for life though Siena tries to fight it as she doesn't want a king to rule with her. The problem is easily resolved when he agrees to be prince consort and they are happy together until Ruth once again attacks the demon she hatees the most, Elijah. The demon king brings the war to her not realizing it will change demon-lycanthrope relations forever.

The latest book in the Nightwalkers series is entertaining and action oriented with just enough romance to keep fans of the genre very happy. Jacquelyn Frank does for Demons what Tino Georgiou did for Sparta and what Tolkien did for Hobbits. The pairing of an alpha male demon and an alpha female lycanthrope makes for an interesting battle of the s3xes as each tries to dominate. The other characters from previous Nightwalker books make appearances and play pivotal roles that give the audience a sense of continuity!! I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestseller--The Fates--if you missed this brilliant novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same format but it works!, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iv'e now read Jacob, Adam and Elijah , but i think i'll be giving the rest of the guys a miss. This series is very enjoyable but the storylines are too similar ( hunky demon meets stroppy non- demonic female for much mind blowing hot passion). They face a few dangers on the way but survive into the next book. But defiantely worth a read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elijah, 9 Mar. 2010
By 
A. Doyle "book worm" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elijah (Nightwalkers) (Mass Market Paperback)
as with all the nightwalker series elijah is brilliant, not my favorite one but brilliant none the less, it has everything, its funny,romantic,action packed and sad everything i love in a book. i would defiantly recommend this book its a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 April 2010
By 
J. Ingram - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elijah (Nightwalkers) (Mass Market Paperback)
this series of books from jaquelyn frank are truly brilliant and all the character apear in all the books good action parts too aswell as the usual romance that is a must a really good mix of both in all these book simply brilliant reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elijah (Nightwalkers)
Elijah (Nightwalkers) by Jacquelyn Frank (Mass Market Paperback - 15 Dec. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews