Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted to discover this author.
Fascinating characters and brilliant descriptions of the era. Immediately had to buy the whole series. Dear Alice, Keep writing PLEASE!
Published 9 months ago by Yvonne Baggott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly entertaining
Okay but a bit silly, not tempted to read any more but it passed a pleasant hour or two for me.
Published 7 months ago by Mary Plain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted to discover this author., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating characters and brilliant descriptions of the era. Immediately had to buy the whole series. Dear Alice, Keep writing PLEASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an unusual plot very inventive, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Wendy (stratford upon avon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book, I liked the characters, the author didn't spend time on over describing scenes etc. which Iliked and the plot was unexpected, just enough romance in my opinion though I am not into romances. If there had been too much I wouldn't have finished the book at all. I would read another book by this author. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty Fine book., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great find. Daisy Gumm has all the gumption a girl needs.
Using her mystic charms to put food on the table, as her poor husband was invalided out of the forces with ill health. Daisy uses all of her no nonsense skills to help those who can't help themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars light hearted, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daisy Gumm continues to entertain in this easy to read "cozy". If you want something to while away a wet Sunday afternoon this will definitely do exactly that.Not Tolstoy or Dickens but who chooses to read those for lifting the spirits ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly entertaining, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay but a bit silly, not tempted to read any more but it passed a pleasant hour or two for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Duncan creates a likeable personality, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked the heroin Daisy Gum Majesty her difficult life caring for a disabled ex serviceman husband I loved the humour of her private thoughts about her client her struggle to keep the missing girl hidden her exasperation when she wont be careful enough to take advice to stay out of sight I really felt sorry when I came to the end of the book I really must get round to reading more Daisy Gum Majesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars slightly tongue in cheek, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a gentle little book , dealing with the characters' problems with a light but sympathetic hand .It certainly isn't 'edge of the seat ' supernatural writing but is engaging and heartwarming -if it's your kind of book you'll put it down with a smile on your face.
I recommend it for those nights when your over active brain keeps you awake , or when you just want something enjoyable instead of bloody or scary .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another mystery solved, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As Daisy cracks the case within the first few chapters I find I skim a lot of further chapters and can predict the ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
second visit to pasadena well recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fine Spirits (Zebra Historical Romance)
Fine Spirits (Zebra Historical Romance) by Alice Duncan (Mass Market Paperback - 25 July 2003)
£5.53
Usually dispatched within 6 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews