Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Book 5 in Jo Beverley's 'Company of Rogues' sequence.
Miles Cavanaugh is more than a little incredulous to discover himself in the position of guardian to Irish heiress Felicity Monahan - he can hardly credit than anyone in their right mind would chose to make a 25 year-old man the guardian of a 20 year-old woman. And when he meets his beautiful, headstrong, tempestuous ward sparks really begin to fly between them.
Felicity really hadn't intended to make the acquaintance of her new guardian by placing him on the receiving end of vengeance intended for a cruel local landowner, and she certainly hadn't meant for him to be kidnapped. But she could rail against the cruel fate which placed her in the wardship of a man whose kisses drove her wild, a good man and one she knew she could love... just at the moment when she had resolved to marry a man she hated in order to protect her terrible secret.
As passions between Miles and his reluctant ward rise, he finds that he is as determined to prevent his beloved from sending herself to destruction with a man she despises as Felicity is to defy him and ignore the dictates of her heart. A darkly comic game of one-upmanship ensues, with the two struggling to break their deadlock until, enlisting the aid of his fellow Rogues, Miles determines that one good abduction deserves another. If only he could bring Felicity to trust him with the truth...
Another great book from Beverley, with two explosively passionate, powerful and determined leads.
Seren
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
This series by one of my favourite authors is unbelievable every book has high drama in it. Some have danger, some horrors and all has love. Don't miss this series as you learn so much about things and Ireland ways, cats and despicably people and laws of day gone bye. A MUST read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2004
Miles is given the guardianship of Felicity for a few weeks. She is determined to marry a man she detests to protect her secret. Miles has his hands full with Felicity, getting her out of scrapes. He kidnaps her & stows away to England to keep her out of harms way. She is determined to elope with Rupert & must come up with a plan to ensure it.
I just loved this book & the series so far. I can't wait to read the rest.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2007
This book is another instalment in Jo Beverley's Rogues series and it's a reasonable read although with some faults.

Miles Cavanagh, heir to his Uncle's earldom, is an Irish horsebreeder who is one of the Company of Rogues, a group of men who forged their friendship at school. Miles is very annoyed to discover that he's been made guardian to a relative of his stepfather's who attains her majority at 21 in six weeks. Miles wants to go to Melton for the hunting but realises he must go and meet his ward, Felicity Monahan, as he's heard a rumour that she's trouble.

On the way to Felicity's home, Foy, he and another man are set upon by masked men and Miles is tied up. A woman is sent to untie him eventually and she uses her very considerable charms to deflect any anger he might have with her. She says her name is Joy, behaves very seductively, and lets him go. However Miles soon discovers that she is actually his ward and that she plans to marry Dunsmore, a recent widower with a young son but who is clearly a fortune hunter. Miles plans to keep Felicity from Dunsmore's grasp but doesn't realise the danger that this will put him in of being seduced by her charms.

There's more to Felicity's plan to marry Dunsmore than initially meets the eye and it takes all Miles's ingenuity to keep her from throwing her life away with the awful man. There are lots of arguments between hero and heroine, he kidnaps her, she tries to elope, they bicker and argue and eventually end up in bed (which is pretty appalling behaviour for her guardian!) Miles enlists the help of the Rogues to aid him in his endeavours to keep Felicity safe, to marry her, to rescue Dunsmore's son and to deal with Dunsmore.

The dialogue in this book is good with the bickering between Miles and Felicity fun to read. However a lot of the plot rests on assumptions Felicity makes about her options to do with Kieran, Dunsmore's son, and I felt that sometimes this was rather drawn out and another woman in her circumstances would have just told Miles the full story. Equally his behaviour is rather inappropriate towards his ward who behaves in such an amazingly unladylike way it's hard to believe she isn't shunned by her neighbours. There's a mini supernatural element with the cats and lots of reference to Irish historical characters which might interest some but didn't entirely work for me. Overall the book felt rather like an also-ran with some good parts but the overall experience not enjoyable enough to land this book on my keeper shelf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2007
This is the 5th book in the "Rogue" series and it was excellent. It wasn't quite up to 5 stars but it was better than some of the others. I loved reading of all the interactions between the rogues (we met more in this book) and seeing all of the wives so far and hearing the progress of the couples we have met in the previous books.
Miles and Felicity were obviously written to be made for each other, they were really good strong characters, both were very similar to each other which I think helped you believe they were meant for each other, and the other secondary characters for example the cats (lol) and the little boy as well as the other rogues were all brilliant.

Jo Beverley is an excellent writer and I will continue to read the rest of the series.
Also do not be fooled by the really dull looking book cover because the cover is actually bright pink :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
I can't get into this one at all. Some of these books start with quite a lot of rambling and this is one of them. I haven't finished it although I will, eventually

2 stars is enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Have now read the full Series. I enjoy the connection within the Company of Rogues and how the story stands alone, yet weaves the other novels into it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Enjoy very much reading about all the Rogues and understanding the relationships between them all how they inter link, makes for a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I can't say I've read one bad book by Jo Beverly. Am gradually working my way through 'The Rogues' series and loving every one of them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
Really enjoyed the story of Miles and Felicity. The adding of the Irish tales and magic were very cool indeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.