Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars had to put the book down halfway
I had to put the book down halfway as I had gotten so invested in the happiness of our two main characters that when things were going too wrong for them; I couldn't see a way out for them, and so I had to leave for a cuppa tea... But then I got right back into the thick of things and thoroughly enjoyed how the inevitable happy ending came about. Clearly the genius of...
Published 7 months ago by Inge

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great
I bought this book on the strength of the 5 star review above and really regretted it. Neither of the main characters are particularly likeable, and the only reason they don't get together straight away is the heroine's snobbery. However the real problem with the book is the pace, you read for ages and ages yet nothing in particular happens and we just get given...
Published on 23 Dec 2011 by xyz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars had to put the book down halfway, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had to put the book down halfway as I had gotten so invested in the happiness of our two main characters that when things were going too wrong for them; I couldn't see a way out for them, and so I had to leave for a cuppa tea... But then I got right back into the thick of things and thoroughly enjoyed how the inevitable happy ending came about. Clearly the genius of Cheryl Bolen that can transport a reader so completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bride wore blue, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, it had romance and intrigue enough to keep you reading until the last page, which I certainly did.

Ms Bolen writes a good story, my one criticism is that her editing is not the best and her story has quite a few editing mistakes which would be eliminated with proof reading, because of this I have given 4 stars, for what could of been a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on the strength of the 5 star review above and really regretted it. Neither of the main characters are particularly likeable, and the only reason they don't get together straight away is the heroine's snobbery. However the real problem with the book is the pace, you read for ages and ages yet nothing in particular happens and we just get given detailed descriptions of balls and clothes which are just boring. The author obviously gets bored too and begins to invent random events (an elopement, an evil villain) that have nothing much to do with the romance between the lead characters.

The writing could also use some work, it's full of long winded different ways to describe the same character such as the raven haired beauty did this and then the dark-eyed vixen did that, or some such.

I've read loads of historical romance and there are many much better stories out there where the authors take time to craft believable characters with a touching romance. Suggest you give this one a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 30 Dec 2013
This book is an easy read if a little silly that a man would fall madly in love with a women he meet once when he was young injured and in a lot of pain but sometimes easy reads are good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the story both relaxing and intriguing. The conel got his just desserts and am glad that Thomas was rewarded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bride wore blue, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this is an excellent book and I loved Thomas I fell in love with him as well. More please cheryl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holiday read., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An ok holiday book, but very much on the Barbara Cartland mode. If you like that sort of book. Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent read overall., 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although a fairly obvious plot, this moves at a good place and contemporary details are convincing, the dialogue is a bit lumpen and the emotional life of the heroine is really tiresome! That said, this is worth reading and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bride wore blue, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book plenty of love and romance.the kind of book you don't want to put down but you don't want to end it had me hooked from the first page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching romance, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With a hero you could die for a beautiful romance. Will be getting more of cheryl 's books.Loved the way the story developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bride Wore Blue (Zebra Ballad Historical Romance: The Brides of Bath)
The Bride Wore Blue (Zebra Ballad Historical Romance: The Brides of Bath) by Cheryl Bolen (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Jan 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews