Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gold mine of information
This is a real gold mine of information for anyone interested in food and drink matching. Most of the book consists of two sections, the first indexed by food giving suggested matching drinks, and the second indexed by drinks giving suggested matching food. Unlike most books on the subject, it also considers drinks other than wine, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. These...
Published on 13 Sep 2008 by E. L. Wisty

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy but oriented mainly to the north-american market
I like the book and the way it is organized, it can be used as a quick reference for any ocasion. I gave 3 stars though as for an european reader many of the types of drinks presented (mainly when talking about wines) are difficult to find or would need an european alternative.

Anyway I recommend having it to use as a reference when organizing meals.
Published 14 months ago by J. Cuevas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gold mine of information, 13 Sep 2008
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Drink with What You Eat: The Definitive Guide to Pairing Food with Wine, Beer, Spirits, Coffee, Tea - Even Water - Based on Expert Advice from (Hardcover)
This is a real gold mine of information for anyone interested in food and drink matching. Most of the book consists of two sections, the first indexed by food giving suggested matching drinks, and the second indexed by drinks giving suggested matching food. Unlike most books on the subject, it also considers drinks other than wine, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. These sections are farly comprehensive - there's even suggestions for what wines to drink with KFC or McDonalds, should you have the inclination. Sometimes there is a certain lack of symmetry between the two sections - you may find that although drink A references food B, food B may not necessarily reference drink A and vice versa. This occasional sloppy editing does not detract from the usefulness of this book too much. Because the authors have enlisted a large panel of experts (I counted over 70 names in the appendix) in compiling the lists, this avoids any narrow bias of personal preferences and gives a wider choice of suggestions than if it was compiled by a single individual. Each suggestion given in the list for each food/drink is given a grading (1-4 scale indicated by normal font, bold, bold capitals or starred) according to how many of the experts suggested it.

There is an introductory section discussing the principles of food and drink matching, but this is relatively concise (there is also an end section with some of the experts giving their dozen "desert island wines" along with the food they would eat with it; this section is about as much use as a chocolate teapot to you and I however as they all tend to choose some ridiculously expensive vintage wines from Chateau Somewhere-You've-Never-Heard-Of). This book would best be used therefore in conjunction with some other book teaching you more detail about the principles of food and wine matching (for example Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference, but not exhaustive, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: What to Drink with What You Eat: The Definitive Guide to Pairing Food with Wine, Beer, Spirits, Coffee, Tea - Even Water - Based on Expert Advice from (Hardcover)
Very useful book with a wealth of information on wine and food pairing. Helpfully categorised in two sections, one listed by food and the other listed by wine. My main reservation is that it is directed towards rather American tastes with lots of omissions, which is understandable given the scope of the subject. What to drink with KFC isn't really of interest to me personally, but on the other hand I like the fact that there is no snobbery here, just a straightforward guide to making the most of your pairing. You also have to remember to look up eggplant rather than aubergine, and whole European cuisines are lumped into a single line (Greek cuisine, or German cuisine).

The introduction makes for an interesting read, although there is an odd section at the end which is a collection of restaurant menus, the unstructured ramblings of various sommeliers and their biographies, and a small handful of very random recipes. All in all, a more than worthwhile investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately Difinitive, 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Drink with What You Eat: The Definitive Guide to Pairing Food with Wine, Beer, Spirits, Coffee, Tea - Even Water - Based on Expert Advice from (Hardcover)
I bought this book to share with my students studying a Diploma in Hospitality, it has proved to be a great source of reference and opened a whole new world of taste sensations for them. I would recommend this book for someone who wants to know more about matching food and drink, without being "snobbish" asbout it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every professional chef must have!, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: What to Drink with What You Eat: The Definitive Guide to Pairing Food with Wine, Beer, Spirits, Coffee, Tea - Even Water - Based on Expert Advice from (Hardcover)
This is not just about what you drink. It's about the pleasure in consuming. If you're a creative mind seeking for more, this would be a good feed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good & informative book., 5 Jan 2013
By 
Margaret (Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Drink with What You Eat: The Definitive Guide to Pairing Food with Wine, Beer, Spirits, Coffee, Tea - Even Water - Based on Expert Advice from (Hardcover)
This is a very useful book for anyone wanting to make the most of a special meal, or simply to learn more about how food & drinks can ( & should!) complement each other. My only criticism would be that there are some notable omissions, but this is most likely because it is an American book, and so the availability of certain foods / wines would be different for the U.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've been doing my WSET exams and this is a great book., 27 Aug 2011
By 
M. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Drink with What You Eat: The Definitive Guide to Pairing Food with Wine, Beer, Spirits, Coffee, Tea - Even Water - Based on Expert Advice from (Hardcover)
If you love to cook and struggle with wine or you love wine and want a better idea of how to make the most of what you have, novice or someone in the trade, this is a great book. It's really helped me at work and I'm definitely buying copies for my family for Christmas. It really is one of those books, that if you're a foodie will move in to your kitchen and never move out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent gift, 1 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: What to Drink with What You Eat: The Definitive Guide to Pairing Food with Wine, Beer, Spirits, Coffee, Tea - Even Water - Based on Expert Advice from (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift and the recipient could not put it down so I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy but oriented mainly to the north-american market, 6 Feb 2013
By 
J. Cuevas (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Drink with What You Eat: The Definitive Guide to Pairing Food with Wine, Beer, Spirits, Coffee, Tea - Even Water - Based on Expert Advice from (Hardcover)
I like the book and the way it is organized, it can be used as a quick reference for any ocasion. I gave 3 stars though as for an european reader many of the types of drinks presented (mainly when talking about wines) are difficult to find or would need an european alternative.

Anyway I recommend having it to use as a reference when organizing meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa11f5aec)

This product

Only search this product's reviews