Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful and inspiring
This is a great book from one of the most prestigious portrait photographers in the US. Strange in a way for someone in such a position to be revealing so many trade secrets but the most interesting tips are the ones unsaid, you look at the pictures and think about your own concepts. Each section of the book focuses on a different area and includes a finished piece - such...
Published on 14 July 2007 by M. Wilkinson

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor recommendation
I ordered this book on the recommendation of Amazon and the above favourable reviews.

If I had seen the book in a proper retail store I would never have bought it.

Grecco is a mediocre photographer whose style I would not want to emulate. The shots are often different - but not in a positive way.

He may have shared his secrets in the way...
Published on 9 Mar 2008 by Anthony C. Gamble


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful and inspiring, 14 July 2007
By 
M. Wilkinson (Portsmouth, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity Editorial Photography (Paperback)
This is a great book from one of the most prestigious portrait photographers in the US. Strange in a way for someone in such a position to be revealing so many trade secrets but the most interesting tips are the ones unsaid, you look at the pictures and think about your own concepts. Each section of the book focuses on a different area and includes a finished piece - such as the iconic cross processed picture of Mulder & Scully for the X-Files, and on the opposite page, an explanation for how it was achieved - where the lights were etc, he also talks about the kinds of cameras he uses but don't look to have the debate between film and digital cleared up here, Grecco obviously still enjoys both. Unless you already have a studio where you can experiment quite a lot - some of the set-ups are expensive in terms of room they'd require to create the most valuable part of the book is simply examples of his portraiture and then after seeing one you like, browsing his recipe for achieving that look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He must be mad!, 19 Jun 2007
By 
N. S. Long (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity Editorial Photography (Paperback)
To give away such indepth and usable knowledge. This book is one of the best photographic technique books I've ever read (and I've read a few!!!) it's given me a whole new outlook on my art. I'm really looking forward to my next shoot.

If you just can't figure out how a shot was taken, you're bound to find the answer in this book. I can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most useful, 5 Sep 2007
By 
Csaba Farkas (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity Editorial Photography (Paperback)
Excellent book, really the best photog manual I've ever bought. Makes you want to go out and start shooting whatever the weather and gear you have in the kit bag. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Godalming, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity Editorial Photography (Paperback)
Im a pro photographer, big fan of Michael's work. Nicely laid out book, with explanations and diagrams. An essential book to have for inspiration and technique. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor recommendation, 9 Mar 2008
By 
Anthony C. Gamble (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity Editorial Photography (Paperback)
I ordered this book on the recommendation of Amazon and the above favourable reviews.

If I had seen the book in a proper retail store I would never have bought it.

Grecco is a mediocre photographer whose style I would not want to emulate. The shots are often different - but not in a positive way.

He may have shared his secrets in the way the previous posters have suggested - but the secrets of someone not very good at his craft are hardly worth sharing.

A bad buy. Look at a copy first before clicking on your Amazon buy button.

Tony Gamble
Photographer SW6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Technical., 16 Feb 2008
This review is from: Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity Editorial Photography (Paperback)
This book is aimed at those photographers who probably have no need for it i.e. High end professionals. The equipment needed would cost a fortune. Outdoor portrait lighting can be simplified with the use of a few strobes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures, 22 April 2010
This review is from: Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity Editorial Photography (Paperback)
Well - this is a very beautifull book, in the sense that the photos in it is so awesome beautifull. I'm not that good at english so have a bit difficulties reading it, because of the much photorelated language/terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lighting and the Dramatic Portrait: The Art of Celebrity Editorial Photography
£20.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews