Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST book for basic B&W for Beginners or digital converts
This book taught me EVERYTHING I needed to know to be able to visualise B&W, tones, tonal relationships, themes, developing B&W Film (inc Films and Developers), and especially Printing.
Everything is brilliantly laid out, explained, illustrated and presented.

This is the book to start off with, and you can then branch out.

The information is all...
Published on 12 Oct. 2012 by Ibraar 'Le Saracen'

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great tips: if you are a film photographer...
It is probably my own fault but I did not appreciate that this book was written pre-digital. There are some great photos in here and some good tips on composition and what makes for a good black and white subject as opposed to a colour one, but overall the book is focussed on film choice and development/printing techniques for film photographers and is therefore of...
Published on 22 Nov. 2009 by bella


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST book for basic B&W for Beginners or digital converts, 12 Oct. 2012
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book taught me EVERYTHING I needed to know to be able to visualise B&W, tones, tonal relationships, themes, developing B&W Film (inc Films and Developers), and especially Printing.
Everything is brilliantly laid out, explained, illustrated and presented.

This is the book to start off with, and you can then branch out.

The information is all appropriate, even in this Digital age we live in/

Bottom line is, that you may be interested in Film photography, in developing B&W, come from a Digital background and want to take the film route into Art - and are a bit wary, or unsure about where to start or what to do - well this book explains EVERYTHING in easy ways you can understand - even if it's just shooting film rather than Developing, this is a brilliant book, the photography is excellent too and its worth buying just for that - and this is The perfect book to buy and to start with!

He also includes a LOT of his excellent photographs as examples of Film, composition, themes, developer and tones etc.

brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 28 May 2008
By 
R. Stirling (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I picked this up in a second hand bookshop, it was so good I bought a copy for a friend at the full price.

This is hands down one of the best photography books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for black and white photographers, 6 Dec. 2014
By 
S. P. Leighton "Medic" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By far and away the best book on black and white film photography available. I absolutely love how it takes you through how each of the high quality photos in the book were taken, developed and processed. The man is a genious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great tips: if you are a film photographer..., 22 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is probably my own fault but I did not appreciate that this book was written pre-digital. There are some great photos in here and some good tips on composition and what makes for a good black and white subject as opposed to a colour one, but overall the book is focussed on film choice and development/printing techniques for film photographers and is therefore of limited use to a digital photographer such as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MOST EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!!!!!!, 22 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Black and White Photography (Paperback)
OUT OF ALL OF THE PHOTOGRAPHY BOOKS I HAVE READ, JOHN GARRET DOES AN EXCELLENT JOB IN THIS BOOK. THEIR IS NOT ONE DETAIL HE MISSES IN INFORMING THE READER OF HOW HE CREATED THE PHOTGRAPH. HE ELABORATLY GOES INTO DETAIL FROM THE LIGHTING ALL THE WAY TO THE DEVELOPING PROCESS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks for posting my photography book. I love doing black and white photography with negatives. It is a shame that it has become digital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 27 Jan. 2004
By 
Michael Scott "www.nowillpowerrequired.co.uk" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Great pictures.
Great advice.
Good value for money.
Make a nice present and is generally a great read.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Black and White Photography
The Art of Black and White Photography by John Garrett (Paperback - Oct. 1990)
Used & New from: £1.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews