Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2011
This book is a classic, I've loved it ever since i first read it several years ago. Tuan has a very gentle and engaging way of explaining how we perceive space and place and the importance of experience in our understanding of the places we move through. It's a great read not only for academics but for anyone who is interested in how we place ourselves in the world.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Accessible information written in great style. One of those books which in theory should be a "dip in read" but was actually "addictive", can't put it down!
Now a source to return to again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Tuan does well to break down the many elements constituting our relationship to the world around us. I'm making a study on the human relationship to place, in particular the home. This book resonated well with what I hoped to read and raised some key points which have greatly developed my understanding of place.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
Good book but a little bit outdated. Time passed since the 1970's and perception of Space an Place changed in a way that does not always confirm the analyses of Yi-Fu Tuan. At the same time, it remains a must-read because so many people refer to it without knowing what is written inside... : Very good concepts but sometimes not very well used by Tuan himself.
Personally, it does get on my nerves when Yi-Fu Tuan repeatedly notices a difference between "animals" and humans. It is not pertinent enough I think. It almost feels like humans would have a superiority.
I also disagree when Yi-Fu Tuan says that "Wilderness" is only a "space" and not yet a "place". On the contrary, "Wilderness" is one of the most meaningful "places" in the Anglo-saxon World !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Excellent writing. My suggestion is to recommend this to those first year postgraduate candidates in an architectural/urban program.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Together with Basso and Brody, this trio are invaluable to Anthropology
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
Very nice. A very good book to read, inspire me and my friend a lot. I will recommend to friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
good book top service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)