Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
80
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2013
I have always been fascinated by the Apollo era, and all they acheived, In my mind, Mans greatest adventure, ever, I was only 11 years old when "the lads landed" so reading everything I can now I'm 55 helps fill in the gaping chasms of things I didn't know, but want to know now I can understand things, This book by Michael Collins goes a long way to help fill this gap,
Michael was described once as the lonliest man alive when he orbited the moon alone while waiting for Niel and Buzz to return from the moon. and in his style of humor and honesty, touches a lot of questions I wanted to know, What were your fears, were you clausophobic, did you fear the centrifuge? and many more questions I would have asked if I could, These and many more were covered in this superb book, which was a great read throughout, I couldn't put it down.

If you loved the Apollo era, You'll love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
If you only ever read one book on the amazing story of the American space programme, read this. It is beautifully written and if I had the time I would have read it cover to cover in one go. Buy it now; you won't regret it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
A nice easy read, not too technical but full of detail of the Gemini and Apollo programmes. It is honestly written and not overly chauvinistic. This is definitely one I'll read again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
I bought this as reading material for a recent trip to the space coast including a visit to the Kennedy Space Center.

Collins provides a vivid insight into the history of America's race to the moon with a clear wonderment which is a simple delight.

He keeps the technical aspects to a minimum whilst very clearly expressing the emotions, excitement and amazement of a man involved in what was mankind's greatest adventure to date.

An absolute joy and would unreservedly recommend this to anyone with an interest in the space programme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
A must read for anyone with an interest in space or space missions. Collins tells of his time in the Air Force and his detail of time spent in nasa in a great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
This is a tremendous book. Detailed and well-written it conveys the experience of flying Gemini 10 and Apollo 11 in a way that is enthralling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Probably one of the better books telling the NASA story from its beginnings to the Moon landing, well worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
A compelling insight in to the life and works of Michael Collins. Gives a great insight in to the first moon mission
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I Loved this book and after reading it i like the author too. Funny and frank and an education on NASA of old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2016
Very good read for anyone interested in the history of nasa and the very brave men who made it possible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse