Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough account of the life of the Angel of Death
The introduction describes Josef Mengele as the ‘personification of evil’ and after reading accounts of the atrocities he committed as a doctor in Auschwitz I couldn’t agree more. As the most famous doctor at Auschwitz, Mengele has been branded ‘The Angel of Death’ because of his power in deciding who lived and who died. Survivors of...
Published on 11 Feb 2006 by O. Doyle

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but lacking enough background
I bought this book because I wanted to find out more about Mengele's wartime activities and the efforts to locate him after the war. This book succeeds perfectly in the latter but fails in the former. We are given a lightening fast summary of Mengele's wartime activies, with very little examples or witness statements or indeed much in the way of exploration of the man's...
Published on 31 May 2008 by ChinaDoc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough account of the life of the Angel of Death, 11 Feb 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mengele: The Complete Story (Paperback)
The introduction describes Josef Mengele as the ‘personification of evil’ and after reading accounts of the atrocities he committed as a doctor in Auschwitz I couldn’t agree more. As the most famous doctor at Auschwitz, Mengele has been branded ‘The Angel of Death’ because of his power in deciding who lived and who died. Survivors of Auschwitz have commented how other doctors at Auschwitz used to turn up to selections at the railroads drunk to help them get through the trauma of deciding who would live and who would die. Mengele was never one who had to get drunk beforehand…..he seemed to enjoy the process. So much so that he used to bribe others to let him go to selections if he was off-duty! This is a truly sick individual.
I came away from this book angry that more wasn’t done to co-ordinate the capture of one of the most infamous men of the Holocaust. He died a lonely and angry man totally devoid of guilt for what he had done and in his wake left a son who was relieved when he heard of his death.
The authors of this book have done extensive research into Josef Mengele and his life at Auschwitz and escape to South America where he lived until his death. I can’t imagine there could possibly exist a more comprehensive study of the life and death of Josef Mengele. This is a fascinating and at times deeply disturbing account of the life of one of the most evil men ever to have walked the earth and is a must for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An expert dissction of Mengele the man and his final years in South America., 4 Dec 2006
By 
M. Warburton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mengele: The Complete Story (Paperback)
This expertly researched and well written book takes one through Menegle's life from birth in the town of Gunzburg to a well-to-do industrial family, through his years studying medicine, his years as a Nazi, his time in Auschwitz and also his years on the run in South America. No other book has followed both how Mengele escaped from Germany and managed to remain uncaptured despite numerous opportunities to capture 'The Angel Of Death' in such extraordinary detail. If you want to know the truth as to what happened to Mengele right up to the point of his undramatic death in Brazil, this is the book for you. Dispel with the myth and find out about the factual life of Mengele and then decide which is the more extraordinary. Highyl recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but lacking enough background, 31 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Mengele: The Complete Story (Paperback)
I bought this book because I wanted to find out more about Mengele's wartime activities and the efforts to locate him after the war. This book succeeds perfectly in the latter but fails in the former. We are given a lightening fast summary of Mengele's wartime activies, with very little examples or witness statements or indeed much in the way of exploration of the man's psyche. Then we have a beautifully researched and well-written account of his every movement postwar. This book feels unbalanced. For this reason alone only 3 stars. Surely developing the character of Mengele the Auschwitz doctor would only have strengthened our interest in the hunt for Mengele the war criminal fugitive?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant piece of research, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: Mengele: The Complete Story (Paperback)
I must confess, it did take a couple of days for me to get into this book, but bang, once I did it was a "no sleep till it's finished" affair. One other user comments there's not enough about his wartime activities - I couldn't agree more; I also think the ending is a little abrupt - more on the subsequent fallout would have been great, as well as maybe an updated epilogue on what happened next to the many characters involved - rolf mengele, for instance.

Even so, the authors make up for this with a completely thrilling account of his post-war existence, one that is superbly written and immaculately researched. There are so many points of interest and controversy that it's impossible not to be sucked into the intrigue. For instance, I thought the debunking of the Wiesenthal 'myth' was particularly interesting - like many not expertly schooled on the subject, i've always regarded the man as something of a noble crusader. To find him slammed for his constant hot air and fantasy was a surprise, but an educating one. As well, I've been a victim of common misconception - that Mengele was some sort of 'bionic' super villain, always one step ahead of the game, and not unlike the character portrayed in Boys from Brazil etc. (yes, more fool me). To find the opposite held true, and that he was in fact a broken, bitter man is a crumb of comfort for those who would love nothing more than to have seen his head on a stick.

How I hope this book is updated with a detailed epilogue, as well as a little more on his early life and his time at auschwitz. Yet even without this, this historical masterclass sits comfortably among my all time favourite historical books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting!, 8 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mengele: The Complete Story (Paperback)
Mengele: The Complete Story is an insight into the mind of one of the most evil men that ever lived! Josef Mengele was a doctor at Auschwitz and this book graphically describes how Mengele tortured and murdered adults and little children alike! Even more disturbing is it to hear how he managed to escape justice after his deeds at Auschwitz and how he fled to South America where he died without any feelings of guilt! Beautifully researched by the authors with private letters from his diaries and interviews with Mengele's surviving son! If you are interested in the Holocaust/Auschwitz this book should be a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 34 years in hell., 26 Mar 2007
By 
Peter H. Kistemaker (Helmond, Noord Brabant Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mengele: The Complete Story (Paperback)
First of all: A damned good book! Bonechilling material!! Furthermore:

What kind of punishment do you give a man like Mengele?

Deathpenalty? Life in prison? The first one is over too quick and the second one is too easy. No, I think Mengele has got the best punishment he could have. He was 34 years on the run. Never had a moment of peace in his entire life after the ending of WW2. The stress it brought him, even gave him a shorter span of life. He developed a lot of stress related sickness. Always had to look over his shoulder. Did they recognize him? Was this his last day of "freedom"? If he had been sentenced for life in prison he could have reached, like Hess, a respectable age well over 80 years old. Now he died 68 years of age. Alone and forgotten in some Godforsaken place in Brazil. He sticked, untill his dead, to his beliefs about the Nazi's and the Jews. A rigid and untolereant character of a man.

He never got the chance to fullfill a job on his intelectuel level, always lowpaid workman's labour. Never could socialise with people of his intelect. That hurt him like hell. So, in fact, life in "freedom" was in fact life in hell. Never the hell he created for the people who died through his hands or command. But even we, as normal people, couldn't give him, if he had be captured, the torments he gave all those other innocent people. For that, we are to civilised. No, I think it has been for the best that he stayed on the run. He punished himself with it. More then we ever could give to him. I feel sorry for his son Rolf. You only get one biological father in your life and he got this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful -with a few reservations., 5 Nov 2013
By 
S. Ramsey-Hardy (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a surprise to find that most of this book concentrates on the fugitive existence of Josef Mengele after the collapse of Nazi Germany, and after he had fled Europe. It is less about Mengele himself and his notorious career as a doctor at Auschwitz, than the later attempts to bring him to justice, all of which in the end proved futile.

False leads and political manoeuvres during the South American hunt for Mengele by Mossad, Simon Wiesenthal, the German government and others, are described at length. This is interesting, but it doesn't add greatly to our understanding of how Mengele came to do what he did, which is probably the most important question about him.

The Kindle Edition includes some interesting and important 'family photos' of Josef Mengele and his relations. (Their location in the Kindle Edition isn't given and they were hard to find, I discovered them by accident in the chapter "The Man in the Watchtower".)

The authors also make use of Mengele's personal journal from some of his later years in S.America. Mengele's thoughts are obviously of importance for a view of his state of mind, and it would have been interesting to read more than the excerpts we are given here.

The authors suggest several times that the fugitive Mengele wanted to disguise his "prominent forehead". This is actually difficult to understand, because the photos here don't appear to indicate a very unusual feature.

Early in the book the authors outline the dreadful activities of Mengele at Auschwitz, the facts and details of which have been well substantiated. It is regrettable that the authors also include stories about Mengele which may be true, but which remain unverifiable, and are sometimes hearsay. For the sake of historical accuracy there should be a clear distinction between what is eye-witness evidence, and what is hearsay. The testified evidence of Mengele's terrible crimes at Auschwitz stands sufficient on its own, and in the interests of accuracy hearsay reports should preferably be avoided.

(Posner and Ware mention the "soap" made by the Nazis from dead Jewish bodies. It must be pointed out that most experts on the Jewish Holocaust, including Raul Hilberg and Yehuda Bauer, regard this notorious idea as an inflammatory myth. This myth actually appears to have originated with anti-German propaganda during the First World War.)

The book is entitled "The Complete Story", but with regard to Mengele the man, and his motives, this book is more of a sketch than an analysis. He remains an enigma. Unless fresh research offers more, it may be as much as we can know (or understand) about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, insightful and full of journalistic discoveries., 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mengele: The Complete Story (Paperback)
Posner is one of the most thorough and compelling writers of modern journalism. He combines assiduous research, intelligent scepticism and psychological insight to build a robust portrait of a 20th Century monster. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mengele: The Complete Story (Paperback)
I have always had a great interest in the Haulocaust so this was a good book to find and read.Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy reading stories about the Germans & the Nazi's but this one is not as good as some other books read on Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13af3f0)

This product

Mengele: The Complete Story
Mengele: The Complete Story by John Ware (Paperback - 1 Aug 2000)
11.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews