Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to molecular and cellular biology
Molecular Biology of the Cell (MBoC) (4th Ed) provides a definitive overview of a myriad of cellular and molecular techniques, encompassing a wide topic range including developmental systems, cancer and cellular construction. Alberts provides a comprehensive fundamental groundwork in the earlier chapters leading on to more advanced approaches and techniques, using clear...
Published on 15 Jan. 2006 by Nick Adams

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contains a lot of useful information
I think this book should be renamed "Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology" since it contains so much. Not a bad price for what you are getting. Mostly a good read but can get a bit "dull" at times.
Published on 22 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to molecular and cellular biology, 15 Jan. 2006
By 
Nick Adams (Hertfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Molecular Biology of the Cell (Paperback)
Molecular Biology of the Cell (MBoC) (4th Ed) provides a definitive overview of a myriad of cellular and molecular techniques, encompassing a wide topic range including developmental systems, cancer and cellular construction. Alberts provides a comprehensive fundamental groundwork in the earlier chapters leading on to more advanced approaches and techniques, using clear and concise phrasing juxtaposed with simplistic and easy-to-follow diagrams reinforcing the ideas purveyed.
The book was recommended as a core text to supplement my Molecular Biology degree and provides a significant, if in some areas slightly basic in content, scope of topics which have extended well beyond the first year. MBoC establishes a great deal of the practical application of techniques and theory in cell biology, bringing out the scientific importance of what’s taking place. The editors also provide modest historical components to topics under discussion, providing the reader with a sense of the background to cell biology discoveries.
While the text is a highly useful tool in cellular molecular biology, one of its great uses is the provision of a framework on which to review primary literature, like journal articles, which ultimately give a more up-to-the minute view of molecular cell biology.
While many topics discussed are advanced, the writing style, illustrations and supporting CD-ROM material makes MBoC easy to follow and a worthwhile investment for anyone with an interest in molecular cell biology, particularly those progressing from A-Levels to degree studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 9 Sept. 2002
By 
Mr Andrew J Gray (St. Helens, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Molecular Biology of the Cell (Paperback)
Quite simply, this book is a must for any undergraduate students of the biological sciences. The breadth and depth of subjects covered within this book is unparalleled. It's also bang-up-to-date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you really need, 6 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Molecular Biology of the Cell (Paperback)
I have just finished my BSc Biology and this is the only textbook which was consistently useful throughout all three years of my degree. Invaluable for tutorials, revision and short assignments and a great starting point for most biology/biochemistry essays. The text is clear and concise and the illustrations are amazingly helpful. Get it from Amazon though; lugging it home from the bookshop will do your back in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for biology undergraduates., 3 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
A really good textbook for all undergraduate biology and biochemistry students. One of the only books I consistently used throughout my course. I am now a teacher, and often use it to help bridge the gap for my students between A levels and university. It is very clear and the diagrams are excellent. If I were a student considering buying this book, I am not sure that I would spend the extra money on buying the latest edition. It costs enough to go to university as it is! If you do buy it used though, make sure it's in good condition as it will be well used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please write a fourth edition!!, 15 July 2001
By A Customer
This book is the most lucid and well-written account of molecular biology currently available. The first chapter introduces the reader to the components of the cell in the context of how they may have evolved from life's primordial soup, an approach which fosters an understanding of cell biology rather than just a rote presentation. This theme of placing the cellular machinery in its evolutionary context is maintained throughout the clearly written text.
I owe my entire knowledge of genetics and molecular biology to this book (and not to my often incomprehensible lecturers). However, a fourth edition is long overdue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Alberts!, 19 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Molecular Biology of the Cell (Paperback)
This book is fantastic it covers very aspect of cell biology. If you buy on book to give you a grounding in cell biology it should be Alberts. Its written clearly, the illustrations are easy to follow and very useful. As a molecular virology student it is the first book on my full book shelf that i reach to for general molecular biology .
In short its excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 3 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Molecular Biology of the Cell (Paperback)
Although using this book for studies at university, I actually found it very interesting, and read a lot of it without actually needing it for my course! highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 21 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Molecular Biology of the Cell (Paperback)
I have to admit when I first received this book, I was not very keen on using it. However after referring to the book several times I found it well written and the concepts clearly explained. Although this book is more detail then the understand required of one during first year of biomedical sciences i feel it provides a good overall picture and it is not essential to make note of everything. It is a very practical book, and a good investment if one wants to carry on to do molecular cell biology 2nd year or even to do a degree in medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars incredibly helpful groundwork, 18 Jun. 2007
By 
M. Truscott (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molecular Biology of the Cell (Paperback)
MBoC provides a really valuable grounding in the whole array of topics that might be considered under its title. Perfect for undergrad studies the early chapters really are idiot proof and cover a lot of the fundemental biochemistry - later chapters provide a really good grounding in more advanced and specific topics such as development, cancer and immunology. There are also excellent technical topics that explain the theory and uses of a range of techniques probably not familiar to the undergrad but often refered to in primary literature. I used this book throughout my undergrad years and still refer to it now during my PhD. I found it was of most use in providing a background and structure on which to build your reading of the primary literature - the huge margins someone was objecting to are perfect for jotting down references and notes. Secondly it is a perfect reference when reading literature that assumes familiarity with a topic outside of your normal research area - or that has become a bit rusty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a comprehensive and detailed book, 28 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This is an excellent text and i have found it invaluable for my medical course as well as for all round general reference use.However, it is a "heavy" read and this has put off many of my friends.... the essential cell biology (by the same author) is a welcome addition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Molecular Biology of the Cell
Molecular Biology of the Cell by Peter Walter (Paperback - 21 Mar. 2002)
Used & New from: £11.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews