Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evolution for the Digital Natives...
Having been little more than a handbook for budding marketeers interested in the methods for exploiting online communities relating to Big Commerce for most of its length, this book transforms into an intelligent analysis of the more silly claims made about the role of the internet in culture and politics once it reaches Chapter 6 (Photoshop for Democracy). It is here...
Published on 2 Mar 2011 by Dr. G. SPORTON

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book looks nice but I did not get it :/
By that I mean I haven't received the actual book yet. Packaging was faulty so I thinbk it fell out of the box.

Amazon I still trust that you fix this :)

You don't have to publish my review but please send me a book.
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by Gaute W. Skåre


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evolution for the Digital Natives..., 2 Mar 2011
By 
Dr. G. SPORTON "groggery1" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide (Paperback)
Having been little more than a handbook for budding marketeers interested in the methods for exploiting online communities relating to Big Commerce for most of its length, this book transforms into an intelligent analysis of the more silly claims made about the role of the internet in culture and politics once it reaches Chapter 6 (Photoshop for Democracy). It is here that Jenkins' real targets are seen: those overplaying the hand that says the Internet represents grassroots opinion forming, and lays bare how this opportunity to ignore those without political power or financial muscle is patronised and elided by a fear that the mob may have something uncomfortable to say. It is a jumbled thesis to be sure: does the guy saying 'F*ck you, CNN' represent the success or failure of YouTube in empowering ordinary people to take direct part in democracy? Is the Internet just another corporate medium that chucks people out of proprietary cyberspace apps, or linked to the uncontrollable possibility that a savvy public might use its freeedom to hack an application, making it usable for their needs rather than engineers' conceptions of them?

This is not to say this is anything but an informative book, best read by your web connection to check out the examples Jenkins gives(these are much better than in most books of this ilk). Those with an interest in tying in web behaviour to cultural production will find it indispensible. In the end, it is like the Internet itself, in that it is not possible to characterise the behaviours and manifestations in any way that could give us a consistent view of the value of a still evolving technology framework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good starting point for understanding media convergence, 11 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. G. Carroll (LDN | HKG | SZX) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In his book Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide MIT boffin Henry Jenkins takes us on a journey through modern culture, past the must-see television series and social networks to fan fiction, comics and internet forums. Great media properties like 24, Star Wars and the Matrix properties told told stories in a complex manner through various media. Consumers of the media got out of the property what they put in.

Jenkins then takes his book beyond the most byzantine storytelling to point out that it is as much about discovery rather than telling the story. It moves from media to experience and relies on the media property staying ahead of large groups of people who use online tools to collaborate on this discovery process with each other.

From a marketing perspective, planning rather than story creation is going to be the dominant element as brands look to architect their own experience for consumers to discover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide (Paperback)
I need this book for a module i am doing in my university and it is actually an interesting read. Delivery was also very quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good media/ad book, 1 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide (Paperback)
a good read on the convergence of various medias in today's world, useful for business, advertising etc would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to read, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide (Paperback)
I am a media student and I ordered this book for one of my classes. It is very easy to read, especially compared to some of the other books I've tried. Very informative and interesting. One downfall would be that Jenkins does not refer to other theorists much so you can only really get quotes from Jenkins himself out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide (Paperback)
Great book. Very actual. A must see for those on the communications field.
An academic antecipation of the transformations that the Digital Age will bring us with interesting business testemonies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book looks nice but I did not get it :/, 5 Dec 2011
This review is from: Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide (Paperback)
By that I mean I haven't received the actual book yet. Packaging was faulty so I thinbk it fell out of the box.

Amazon I still trust that you fix this :)

You don't have to publish my review but please send me a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide
Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide by Henry Jenkins (Paperback - 1 Sep 2008)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews