Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Creative destruction" to achieve personal transformation
I have read and reviewed most of Brian Tracy's previously published books and hold him high regard because he has helped so many people to overcome the barriers to their personal as well as professional development, especially when many (if not most) of the limits are self-imposed. Tracy agrees with what Henry Ford observed long ago: "Whether you think you can or think...
Published on 22 Jan. 2009 by Robert Morris

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring
On the whole I enjoy Brian Tracy's material and can say that I never fail to get something out of whatever he creates and this is no exception. There are some real gems in this presentation and a few items that really cause you to stop in your tracks and re-assess what you are doing. In that sense you could say that the presentation is worth whatever it costs and perhaps...
Published on 26 Feb. 2010 by rjj


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Creative destruction" to achieve personal transformation, 22 Jan. 2009
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reinvention: How to Make the Rest of Your Life the Best of Your Life (Hardcover)
I have read and reviewed most of Brian Tracy's previously published books and hold him high regard because he has helped so many people to overcome the barriers to their personal as well as professional development, especially when many (if not most) of the limits are self-imposed. Tracy agrees with what Henry Ford observed long ago: "Whether you think you can or think you can't, you're right." When climbing mountains, ladders, whatever, attitude usually does determine altitude. But he also realizes that many people feel overwhelmed by their circumstances, have no self-confidence, and need help in the form of sound, practical, step-by-step advice. Tracy positions himself as a counselor, not as a cheerleader. In this book, he shares his thoughts about a process of reinvention that can enable almost anyone to achieve whatever goals they may have.

In Chapter Two, the reader is asked to begin a series of exercises (many of which are completed within the book) and continue until the last chapter. Tracy realizes that, more often than not, "haste makes waste" and certainly advises against impulsive behavior, especially when making decisions, but he does urge his reader to "move fast when an opportunity or need presents itself. Pick up the pace. Take action of some kind. Get on it with it!" Completion of the various exercises helps to expedite the process of personal reinvention while reinforcing Tracy's key points. I also recommend use of a notebook or journal in which to record thoughts and feelings, express concerns, document key developments, etc. Personal reinvention consists of both a journey and destination. Those embarked on that process should be results-driven.

Tracy recommends a basic five-step formula for high productivity: "First, decide exactly what you want, in terms of your goals and objectives. [Word of caution: They should be few in number, challenging but do-able, and frequently modified as needed.] Second, make a list of everything that you have to do today to move you toward the achievement of those goals and objectives. Third, organize your list by priority and select you're A-1, the most important single task you could complete right now. Fourth, begin immediately on your number-one task and discipline yourself to work at it single-mindedly until it is 100 percent complete. Finally, keep repeating, over and over to yourself, the wonderful words `Do it now! Do it now! Do it now!" To these I presume to add one more suggestion: Do not announce to anyone that you are embarked on a self-improvement program and will accomplish goals A-1, A-2, and A-3. Perhaps Tracy would not object if the words to be repeated (to one's self) are "Just do it and do it now! Just do it and do it now! Just do it and do it now!" Over the years, I have encountered people who are world-class list maskers. One in particular compiled so many "to do" lists that he had to make a list of the lists he had accumulated. Unfortunately for him, he was so busy compiling lists that he never got around to getting much done. Thomas Edison was correct: "Vision without execution is hallucination."

This book is essentially worthless unless and until various exercises are completed and then appropriate and expeditious action is taken. Sometimes progress is best achieved incrementally. (As an ancient aphorism suggests, "The best way to eat a whale is one bite at a time.") There will be delays, mistakes, and even a few setbacks. Keep in mind that they are probably inevitable but only temporary. Long ago, Joseph Schumpeter introduced the concept of "creative destruction" when explaining how to strengthen an organization. Like the large crepe myrtle tree my wife and I have in our backyard, every organization needs to be "pruned" on a regular basis in order to thrive. In some respects, Tracy's concept of reinvention is a variation on Schumpeter's concept of creative destruction: Both require "lean thinking" that eliminates whatever is not essential to success, however it may be defined and measured.

Brian Tracy is the author of this book and it can certainly serve as an excellent "guide" but those who read it must understand that they, not he, will determine whether or not they achieve any success in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring, 26 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the whole I enjoy Brian Tracy's material and can say that I never fail to get something out of whatever he creates and this is no exception. There are some real gems in this presentation and a few items that really cause you to stop in your tracks and re-assess what you are doing. In that sense you could say that the presentation is worth whatever it costs and perhaps more besides. However, I am struggling in this case to say that I find anything that is unique within this effort and as such it fails to inspire.

Having purchased the CD version I hoped to be energised and vitalised by a more personal style of communication but it ended up being the wrong choice. First of all Brian Tracy is frankly not the most charismatic individual and is borderline monotone. That would be bad enough if it were not for what I would describe as a fixation with lists - lots and lots of lists and some of them with up to 16 points which, once delivered, are then followed by more lists of how to evaluate the effectiveness of the preceding lists. Honestly, I found myself screaming at the CD player and telling him to be quiet.

I regard Brian Tracy as a gifted man with a lot to offer - a great deal to offer in fact - but this droning presentation should be skipped, especially in CD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reinvention Audio CD, 27 Sept. 2010
By 
Louise Wightman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a fan of Brian Tracy so was looking forward to receiving this CD. It is great, he continues with his words of wisdom, clear talking, he does relate to various things you may have heard him talk about before but it is all relevant. I was really pleased lots of new tips and especially useful re reinvention in this economy. Overall I think it is worth purchasing if you are a fan of his work and can dedicate time each day to listen to it, whether it is half an hour or an hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Reinvention: How to Make the Rest of Your Life the Best of Your Life (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book but like any self-help book, you have to be prepared to put in the work and do the exercises, otherwise they are useless. And to reinvent yourself, you can imagine how much work you need to put in. I like Brian Tracy's voice in his audio CDs and they are a very good accompaniment to the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mind Changeing!, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book just changes your way of thinking. I could not put this book down. If you want make a change in your life I suggest read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really works, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Ideas are so simple, and yet so important.
Just reading can change you, but if you put it in to action it will change your LIFE.
Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. If you've seen his videos it helps, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. If you've seen his videos it helps. There seems to be overlaps from his other works but he shares some helpful ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilluiant, usefull tool to play over and over for ..., 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilluiant , usefull tool to play over and over for example on way to work / other instead of mindless radio !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!!, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
again Fab as all ways
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reinvention: How to Make the Rest of Your Life the Best of Your Life (Hardcover)
Brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reinvention: How to Make the Rest of Your Life the Best of Your Life
£12.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews