Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discrete, but it's all there if you read between the lines!
Grace Coddington was born in 1941, and raised in Wales, and she has worked in fashion all her professional life. Did some readers think this would be a "heart on sleeve " tell all of her private life? Did they expect a "bitch fest" on the business she is still deeply involved in?
The truth of the matter is everything is there in this book if you take time to listen...
Published 21 months ago by A. M. Glenville

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grace: A Memoir
British-born Grace Coddington, creative director of American 'Vogue' became a celebrity almost by accident when she appeared in RJ Cutler's film entitled 'The September Issue', a documentary which was intended to be about the making of the 2007 September edition of 'Vogue', but when the film was released, was more about the dynamics between the legendary and rather...
Published 4 months ago by Susie B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Grace, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace (Kindle Edition)
After I watch The September Issue I fell in love in love with Grace Coddington passion for her job and so I decide to read her amazing biography and I love her draw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grace ?, 4 Jan 2014
By 
the bench (earls colne essex uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
well this wasn't for me but a Christmas present for my niece who was excited about the book before l got it for her and very excited when she got it as a present, l think its about a woman, probably Grace who was a model for vogue and ended up running it in the USA, wonderful, what a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grace, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Love the pictures, love the way it's written, love the little sketches, love Grace! An interesting life which takes you around many great personalities, but most of all around Grace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful fashion biography, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Grace (Kindle Edition)
Grace Coddington has, until the release of the film 'The September Issue' been a fascinating anomaly. With the publication of her biography those interested in fashion and its glamorous world can finally know more about the woman who works so closely with Anna Wintour and has created some of the most iconic photos in fashion today.

The illustrations throughout the book are a touching addition from the Welsh girl that went all the way to the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Icon, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Lynda Blundell (Surrey uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I purchased this book of an icon as a birthday present for a friend in the fashion industry, she was thrilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grace ..., 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book but probably because I remember Grace in her modelling days. If you don't know who she is it probably wouldn't mean anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Great quality, great read! The book was in great shape even though it was preowned in fact it looked brand new. Would definitely recommend the seller and use them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE READ!, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
So well written, could not put it down! What a colourful and charming life. As brilliant as she is at what she does, she is so incredibly humble. I'm a huge fan! What a woman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic insight to the fashion world, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
A fantastic first hand account of the developing fashion world. Graces life has been full of amazing experiences, places and people. although Coffee book size, this book did not leave my bag!! A good read for anyone in the industry or thinking of Joining it. Fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quirky British bird, 4 July 2013
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I love Luella Bartley's book on 'British birds' and I consider Grace Coddington one of the greatest exponents for this rather special kind of species. Her memoirs are written in a chatty style. Reading it is like overhearing a really interesting talk by the next table at a nice café. Grace Coddington is a decent person, but with a tongue-in-cheek wittiness and quite acerbic reflections on the fashion world and the strange people inhabiting it. Even if her life has been filled with ups and downs and many sad moments Grace Coddington comes through as a sturdy British land girl (albeit very romantic), both feet happily planted deep in whatever piece of earth she decides to stand in, as long as it is fashionable earth of course!

Having lived all my teenage years in a dreary little Swedish town, Vogue was my saviour, and I can relate to Grace's fascination with the world in between the glossy pages. However she has manage to keep herself as a whole and unique person whilst working in this hectic and commercial world. Her sense of fashion and style is her own. Her memoirs reflects this and much more. Even if all is not available in the text that meets your eyes when you're reading this book, it seeps out between the lines. The graciousness and personality of Grace herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grace: A Memoir
Grace: A Memoir by Grace Coddington (Hardcover - 20 Nov 2012)
Used & New from: £8.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews